We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing all round.”
Review of Daish's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Daish's Hotel
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2014

My Husband and I stayed at this Hotel as we had seen it on a previous Holiday to the Isle of Wight and thought it would be a good place to stay. Unfortunately we picked a week when unknown to us the Builders were in. At the time of our arrival carpets were still being laid! We were first given a room that was too small to be called a Double and were moved on request to a larger room. It was very shabby with marks on the wallpaper but at least it was larger. We had asked for a quiet room and were horrified on our first night to hear extremely loud music coming through the floor to the point where we could feel the reverberations under the soles of our shoes. The Dining Room Staff were under extreme pressure as the new Dining Room which had been due for completion was behind so the occupants of the new rooms and our party were crammed in. The Fire Exit was blocked by tables and chairs and a waiter, unable to get through people seated on chairs fell over the back of one, hurling plates, cutlery, etc. all over the floor. The food was ok but lukewarm. Our Polish waiter was unfriendly, surly and at times downright rude. Having stayed with Daish's on 2 previous occasions, at Eastbourne and Bournemouth and both times had extremely good friendly service, accommodation and professionalism we were both very disappointed that this Hotel, although looking good did not live up to expectations. We witnessed many people complain to the Manageress about conditions but she chose to do nothing except when my Friend pointed out the fire doors were blocked and there was a safety issue she moved 2 tables out......this still left 2 tables in front of the Fire Exit!

Room Tip: AVOID Rooms 35 and 37 at all costs as these are the Rooms where the noise from the Entertainment pen...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank linda l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoandDebs, Manager at Daish's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel based on your experience.

Although carpets were being laid throughout our newly refurbished building this did not in any way affect you as your room was the other side of the building!

The first room you were allocated was a standard double size, upon you coming to Reception to ask for a larger room we were more than happy to oblige you with a room change to a triple room.

With regard to the entertainment, you say that you have been on a few Daish's Holidays, therefore you know the 'package' we provide, entertainment every evening being one of them. This finishes every evening at 11.30pm. I would just like to add to this reply the attitude and rudeness that you conducted to one of our bar staff, so much so that she was in tears after dealing with you. A number of guests came to us after this incident with concern for the staff member as they felt your treatment of her was appalling. After this incident on your first night the music was turned down and was finished by 11.15pm to accommodate you for the remainder of your stay.

The Restaurant was under immense strain as we knew and appreciated. The waiters dealt with the situation brilliantly as the new dining room was not completed for your tour. Our guests and staff's safety is paramount, after one of the waiters fell 2 of the tables were removed from the Restaurant to allow more room.

What you witnessed, 'guests complaining' was a discussion regarding their concerns regarding their rooms, the issue was dealt with accordingly with both parties returning home happy.

We felt the need to reply to this review as your comments are very unjust.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (732)
There are newer reviews for Daish's Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

615 - 621 of 732 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

Just had a four night break at Daish's Hotel in Shanklin. Stayed in one of their new rooms recently added to the main Hotel. Very nice room with comfortable beds and all mod cons. Deal was bed breakfast and evening meal. Food pretty good, vegetables sometimes overcooked. Drink prices reasonable and evening entertainment quite good. This place has a very friendly atmosphere and all the staff were excellent and most attentive to your every need. Excellent value for money. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Try and get one of the newer rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PhilRugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The coach journey was extremely relaxing with a couple of comfort stops and not as long and tedious as we expected it to be...well done to the driver. We missed the ferry by 5 minutes but that's just one of those things..the driver did try to persuade the authorities to let us on but with no luck. The hotel was ideally situated in the middle of a very pretty village. Everything was on the doorstep and it had a lovely garden if you wanted to just sit and watch the world go by. The Manageress & staff were extremely welcoming and continued to be so throughout our stay. Our room was basic but clean with nice bedding and was serviced every day. Only thing was being girlies we felt the bathroom lacked a full length mirror and shelving for our toiletries! The restaurant was very pleasant. There was a good choice of dishes & the service was very efficient. There was entertainment every night...quiz, bingo & various acts which you could take or leave! It was a lovely holiday helped with the fact that it was carnival week and we were lucky with the weather :-) Fabulous value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank SuePerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We recently stayed at Daishs hotel in Shanklin for ONLY six days. I wish it was much longer as we had such a smashing time. Our room, the food, the staff, in fact everything about a Daish holiday is wonderful. We can't wait to go back next year. We also love their hotel in Bournemouth and are going back there again later in the year. Food there is also wonderful. I would not hesitate to go on a Daish holiday.

Room Tip: We have never had a bad room at this or any other Daish hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Margaret N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Not up to its usual standard. First our driver was not very friendly, hardly spoke to any of us and not helpful. He didnt help people off the coach at comfort stops-he was more bothered in getting a cigarette. We even missed the ferry by 5 minutes because he stopped to smoke! Then when we got to the hotel, my sister and I were given room 23. We opened the door and the heat hit us big time! You could hardly breathe it was that bad. It was obvious other people had had problems wih the room because there was a ice cooler and fan in the room resulting in taking up room in an all too small room as it was. I am convinced the room was only for a single person but because of the renovations going on, another bed was put in there. We complained right away only to be told there were no other rooms. We never slept for 3 nights the heat was that bad, despite complaining n several times. In the end we unvited the manageress up to the room and she had to agree. Our holiday was spoilt then. If only the staff acknowled our complaints seriously but we were more or less told we cant (or wont) help you.

Room Tip: Dont go in room 23!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Glenys57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We have just spent 6 days at daishs I O W & didn't want to come home. My husband & I went with our family having rooms 12 & 38. Very comfortable spotless clean & as it was hot whilst we were there a fan was provided for both rooms. Meals were very good with plenty of choice.Our waitress (who is now our friend) was so lovely always a smile & a chat. This is probably the 5th or 6th time we have been to I O W &still return every year.If you haven't tried it yet you don't know what your missing.

Room Tip: We have stayed in several rooms over the years & they are all lovely
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We found the hotel clean and well appointed. The room was ok but we did expect a little more as we had paid premium rate, so we would have expected to find just little extras there such as shower gel and cap and maybe bathrobes and also a hair dryer in the room (you can get one from reception) but it would be nice to have one in the room and also a long mirror, small things ;but they would make a difference in paying for a premium room. The entertainment was excellent and the food was good. All the staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. We are going back for Christmas so see you there folks!!

Room Tip: book early
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank gloriah900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
2.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
877 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
475 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rowborough Hotel
Rowborough Hotel
#1 of 51 in Shanklin
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 51 in Shanklin
851 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 51 in Shanklin
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daish's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daish's Hotel

Address: 81 High Street, Shanklin PO37 6NP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#17 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: £76 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The building was originally an 18th century coaching inn - so guests have been coming here for hundreds of years. We've retained the period features and great hospitality, but added everything you'd expect from a modern hotel. We have a coffee shop serving light snacks and refreshments, perfect for enjoying in the hotel's large garden and terrace. Our Tally Ho Bar features some of the best acts on the Isle of Wight, while our relaxed lounge bar is ideal for enjoying a quiet drink if you'd prefer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Daish's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daish's Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing