We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for the money!”
Review of Daish's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Daish's Hotel
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
South East England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Value for the money!”
Reviewed 12 May 2010

My sister and i stayed for 4 days the room we had was good clean and tidy bathroom good plenty of hot water, only down side is that the windows in room would not open ! having been painted! food was ok not special, staff very good helpful location good,

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pammie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    220
    61
    14
    13
See reviews for
102
360
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
derby
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2010

we opened the door to our room to be hit by a awful smell. we went to reception to get another room to be met by Dave (the manager) who said there were no more rooms but said he could get us another room in another hotel, which we agreed to. He went with us to our room and said he couldn't smell any thing so we went to get our coach organiser who agreed we couldn't sleep there. Dave then told us we would have to pay for another hotel but he could not refund our money. Our organiser was wonderful and told the manager how useless he was and that he had to find us another hotel. After alot of argueing we were given a room at another hotel but were split up from the rest of our friends. Best to book in braemar or burkdale hotel, do not stay here.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jszderby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2010

I'm not alan wicker but have been most places in europe and england with my family or freinds. To put this Daish's i.o w 5 day holiday in context to say it was good value for money is an understatement - £149 pounds to all the moaners you would probably still moan if you stayed in the hilton! I just hope the owners of the hotel don't read this and put the prices up!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LeicesterTez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2010

double bedroom minute, furnishings poor, tv seven feet up on wall. en suite facilities
minimal shower cord missing, sealing bad around base, shaving light useless,
doors to balcony impossible to close due to painting, mattress rock hard chairs on
balcony needed a wipe ironwork table past its sell by date overlong stops at service
stations on the way down common with all coach trips that weekend and an diversion
around Watford not mentioned by company - not surprisingly Queen Victoria bought
0sborne House after a visit like her we were not amused.

Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank vincentSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancs
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2009

We have just returned from a five day break with the family and we have had a really good time. The weather was kind to us and the food at the hotel was brilliant.It was a five course meal that you could not fault, there was something for everyone no matter how finicky you are.The only down point was the rooms that we had where at the front and side of the hotel over the dance floor. The music only finished at 11.45pm , so you couldn't go to bed before that as there was no point .You couldn't sleep because of the noise. We did ask to be moved, but as they where full they had no spare room to give my elderly Mum and Dad. My family, where at the front and had to put up with the music, plus bad language from the drunken public that are allowed to use the hotel as a pub. So my strong advice to anyone who fancies a very good hotel is to ask for rooms in the new annexe where the music and the public won't bother you.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SaintsLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DERBY
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2009

we had a great time.the four course dinner was excellent,great choice and plentiful,breakfast was very good.no complaints,our double room and single rooms for our daughter and friend were very clean and showers.towels spotless!!rooms cleaned on a daily basis.the entertainment was above average.all the staff was very polite and helpful.shall we be going again next year?yeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeees.value for money?YEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEES

Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2009

We stayed at this hotel and found it to be excellent value for money. The staff were helpful and polite.
Our room was basic but clean and comfortable which is the main thing. It was cleaned daily and clean towels were provided.
The food ranged from ok to very good and the waiter service was super-efficient.
We would have no qualms about staying here again. The location was excellent. Lots to see within walking distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank travellingtania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
2.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
832 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
456 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
837 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
387 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rowborough Hotel
Rowborough Hotel
#1 of 52 in Shanklin
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daish's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daish's Hotel

Property: Daish's Hotel
Address: 81 High Street, Shanklin PO37 6NP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Shanklin
#12 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#17 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The building was originally an 18th century coaching inn - so guests have been coming here for hundreds of years. We've retained the period features and great hospitality, but added everything you'd expect from a modern hotel. We have a coffee shop serving light snacks and refreshments, perfect for enjoying in the hotel's large garden and terrace. Our Tally Ho Bar features some of the best acts on the Isle of Wight, while our relaxed lounge bar is ideal for enjoying a quiet drink if you'd prefer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Daish's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daish's Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing