We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good B&B in a great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of St Georges House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
St Georges House
Ranked #34 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good B&B in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

St Georges Hotel was a very nice B&B. The owners were very friendly and the breakfasts were cooked to order and were excellent.
The hotel is within walking distance of Shanklin High Street so it was very convenient when venturing out for evening meals etc and there was a lot of choice.
The rooms were cleaned daily and there were tea and coffee making facilities and bottled water which was an unusual added bonus.
As I was travelling on my own, I stayed in a single room. It was very comfortable but the bathroom and especially the shower were very small. Being tall I found it especially difficult! The room also got very warm which meant leaving the windows open all night so there was a bit of outside noise but nothing to badly disturb my sleep. I didn't make use of the lounge or bar facilities but it was nice to know it was there if I wanted.
Overall I found it to be a very pleasant stay, especially as the nightly rates are very reasonable for the standard of B&B you are getting.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roadtripcazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    34
    9
    9
    6
See reviews for
17
50
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newhaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

As we booked at the last minute this year, we were delighted to get a room at the St Georges. (Last year, we were out of luck.) This was our fifth visit and we knew just what to expect - good sized, clean, well apointed rooms, a quiet atmosphere, good service and Mick's almost legendary breakfasts! Needless to say, we were not disappointed and will be back for another break in the Autumn and a longer stay next Summer.

Room Tip: First floor, at the front of the building. Very good sized room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

This hotel is located in a quiet residential area, but it is only a short walk to all the amenities. Trains, buses, shops, beach and Shanklin Old Village are all close by. I had a comfortable room and a good breakfast so was happy with my stay.

  • Liked — It's location and it was good value
  • Disliked — carpet in the bathroom
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jazzcatjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

An excellent bed and breakfast, and all you could ask for if you just want a comfortable place to sleep and eat in the morning!

The rooms were comfortable, with an ensuite, tea making facilities and daily cleans. The breakfast in the morning was great, with a good spread to suit anyone, and very quick service too!

The owners are lovely, helpful and always on hand and contributed to our great stay.

The beach is within walking distance and so is the town centre, where the shops, bars and restaurants are. Overall a very good location for both day and night excursion.

I would recommend to anyone, and as a young couple just looking for a break and to do our own thing, it was perfect!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 88nkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalborg, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

A perfect place to stay, if you seek a b&b with good service and a friendly - almost homely - atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SabroLarsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights. The host Mick was very pleasant and worked very hard. It was no problem to him that we arrived later that anticipated. Breakfast was excellent and kept us going most of the day, although we found the hour slot for breakfast a bit restrictive. The room was small but adequate. It was nice and quiet. Parking was first come first served but other onstreet parking nearby. We found a good pub to eat at within short walking distance 'The Plough & Barleycorn'. I would just like to make a constructive criticm that our hotel room had too much furniture which left less room to move around. The room and hotel could do with getting rid of the silk flowers and drapey curtains (less to dust). Our room could also do with a fresh coat of paint and new bedding, and carpet removed from the bathroom as it was very dated. This did not affect our comfort but might matter to some people more than others.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SurreySKIers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

I stayed there with my wife on july 7th and hated it - terriable experience!!
very bad service to us as a couple in comparasion to other guests int he hotel!!!we got DIRTY LOOKS AND RUDE BEHAVIOUR WHEN REQUESTED something.i would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jaypatel1280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.3 mi away
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
#40 of 54 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marlborough Hotel
Marlborough Hotel
#21 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Roseglen Hotel
Roseglen Hotel
#29 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Chestnuts Private Hotel
The Chestnuts Private Hotel
#24 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.1 mi away
Victoria Lodge Hotel
Victoria Lodge Hotel
#36 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Georges House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Georges House

Property: St Georges House
Address: 2 St. Georges Road, Shanklin PO37 6BA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — St Georges House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming original Victorian building, St. Georges is centrally situated for the town, beach, cliffs, picturesque Old Village and historic Chine. St.Georges is renowned for its freshly cooked traditional English Breakfast, served in the pleasant and sunny dining room. All rooms are En-Suite, and equipped with Colour TV & Freeview, hospitality trays and hairdryers. Centrally heated and double glazed for off-season comfort. Licensed Bar and Lounge. Free off-street parking. Free WiFi access. Car Ferry inclusive packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your St Georges House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges House Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing