We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing accomodation”
Review of St Georges House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St Georges House
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“disappointing accomodation”
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Stayed for two nights recently. Mick made us welcome and he was very pleasant, tea and coffee making facilities were very good. Breakfast was good but the dining room was cluttered,small and very hot, no windows were open. The dining room was also in need of a good clean and re-decorating. Our room was very cluttered with too much furniture, the wardrobe wouldn't open unless we moved a chair. The room was also in need of a good clean, the tv, centre light and wall lights were thick with dust ,not just a couple of days worth, but months worth. The curtains, which were resting on a bed, were heavy material and full of dust and the voille drape over them were full of cobwebs. And cobwebs were hanging from the heavy old fashioned wallpaper. The power shower was very good, but carpets on bathroom and toilet floors are unacceptable. We were both horrified to see the amount of black mould on the ceiling above the shower, an effort had been made to mask the smell of the mould, but in fact had made it worse. The decor throughout the entire hotel is very dated, silk flowers and plastic plants collecting yet more dust confirmed to us we will not be staying here again.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank pam190730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    35
    9
    9
    6
See reviews for
21
58
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed four nights, two grandparents with our 9yr old granddaughter, found Jan and Mick most welcoming and pleasant. Rooms were clean and well appointed. The breakfasts are superb, plenty of choice and served to order. parking was easy at the hotel and we found it a very friendly atmosphere. Very happy to recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bert0117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

this is a good value for money hotel on The Isle of Wight, room was good and breakfast was excellent, we had the family room although there were just the two of us and it was lovely and roomy, bathroom was a little compact but adequate

Room Tip: we had the family room although there were just the two of us and it was large and roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Stayed here for a long weekend recently.
Jan & Mick (the owners) made us most welcome. Whole hotel very clean. Bedrooms appointed with everything one might need. Good breakfast, freshly cooked and served promptly. Very happy to recommend.

Room Tip: Very little difference-perhaps ask which is best and available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moseley, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We (2 adults + 2 children) recently stayed in a family room for 2 nights B&B. Cost was 228 GBP booked through Hotels.com. Mick was very welcoming. Our room was a good size and had great window space (well lit with sunny aspect). The ensuite was small but functional. The decor was perhaps a bit dated but this is typical of IOW hotels. The room and ensuite were tidy and clean. Bottled water was provided each day, beds were made, and towels changed each day. The Full English breakfast and grilled kippers were excellent, far better than I've had in most (more expensive) hotels around London. Parking at the hotel was easy. Hotel is situated within short walking distance from the shops which was very convenient. Overall we enoyed our stay and would stay there again.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Egghead1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Stayed 4th to 9th July 2012. We had a twin room which was a good size, quiet, clean and comfortable with a small but adequate and well equipped on-suite shower room. The full English breakfast was excellent and served in very pleasant surroundings by our friendly and helpful host. The hotel is well located, a five minute walk into the town with pubs, restaurants, bus and train stations. The beach and promenade can be reached by a lift which is also just a short walk away. At age 70+ we found this hotel suited us perfectly and we would definitely stay there again.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Beryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Stayed gere recently and to be honest, I felt it was overpriced.

First the good, Host Mick was pleasant and breakfast was good. I think the hotel did try, but for £84 an night B&B it was just too much.

The rooms were just too cluttered, silk flowers and furniture were both very dated and the mattress was the hardest mattress I have ever slept on. The very restrictive 08:30 to 09:30 breakfast was not great, especially if you had been out the night before.

Overall the owners were very pleasant and breakfast was good, but the hotel could do with a freshen up and de-clutter.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cardross25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.1 mi away
Roseglen Hotel
Roseglen Hotel
#31 of 52 in Shanklin
59 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Chestnuts Private Hotel
The Chestnuts Private Hotel
#25 of 52 in Shanklin
54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palmerston Grange
Palmerston Grange
#20 of 52 in Shanklin
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 52 in Shanklin
447 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
382 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hazelwood
The Hazelwood
#30 of 52 in Shanklin
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Georges House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Georges House

Property: St Georges House
Address: 2 St. Georges Road, Shanklin PO37 6BA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — St Georges House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming original Victorian building, St. Georges is centrally situated for the town, beach, cliffs, picturesque Old Village and historic Chine. St.Georges is renowned for its freshly cooked traditional English Breakfast, served in the pleasant and sunny dining room. All rooms are En-Suite, and equipped with Colour TV & Freeview, hospitality trays and hairdryers. Centrally heated and double glazed for off-season comfort. Licensed Bar and Lounge. Free off-street parking. Free WiFi access. Car Ferry inclusive packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your St Georges House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges House Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing