We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B”
Review of St Georges House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St Georges House
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Had an absolutely wonderful experience at this lovely B&B. The location couldn't have been better -- just a five minute walk from the town center, the beach etc. The property itself was very nice, with clean and well-decorated rooms and common spaces, and both wifi and parking were free. The included breakfast was absolutely delicious -- eggs made to order plus a wide selection of other hot and cold options. The proprietor was very friendly and gave us helpful suggestions for things to do in Shanklin and around the rest of the Isle of Wight. All that for an extremely reasonable rate. Would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St_Georges_House, Public Relations Manager at St Georges House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Thank you for the glowing review, and so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are lucky to have this beautiful property in its great location; we do try hard to ensure everything is kept clean and tidy at all times, and we are especially proud of our breakfast offerings.
We always keep a range of leaflets so that our guests can find whatever may take their interest wherever they wish to go on the Island, and are always happy to help with suggestions and recommendations.
Thanks again and hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2013

St George's is in a nice, quiet residential road just a few minutes from the shops, pubs, buses, trains and the beach. The room, with better than average furniture, and the en-suite bathroom were absolutely spotless and the breakfast was excellent. The proprietor was very friendly and helpful, and I would be happy to stay here again. It's not the cheapest, but you certainly get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeff_tucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St_Georges_House, Manager at St Georges House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Many thanks for your feedback Jeff. We do try to maintain competitive pricing, but we do believe in a certain level of quality. Please visit our website and keep in touch for special offers. We feel its the ultimate compliment that guests would like to come back again, so thank you for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Sited close to the seafront and town centre this hotel was ideally located for exploring Shanklin, with many of the Island's other tourist attractions only a short drive away.
The hotel was extremely well run by the owners, who were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We were in room 4 which got the afternoon sun and consequently got very hot, but closing the curtains and leaving the windows open helped with this. The walls were somewhat thin but this is only to be expected from this type of building. Breakfast was only available for an hour each morning but the timing was reasonable and both the choice and quality were good. Dinner could have been provided with 48 hours notice but given the proximity of a number of restaurants we did not require this. Overall we were very pleased with the hotel and would use it again and recommend it to others looking for a comfortable B&B to explore the Island from.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PSA186299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St_Georges_House, Manager at St Georges House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

We are still battling to keep the rooms cool with the gorgeous weather we have had over the past few weeks!
We love the location and character of the building and are glad that you enjoyed your time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed here for two nights 5th and 6th July (despite having booked for 4 nights).
An earlier stay here 2 years ago was good so we re booked on this basis. Not a good decision. The hotel standards have slipped dramatically and we would not recommend this hotel to anyone. My wife became ill which was made worse by the toilet in our room not working. We were given a bucket to fill with water from our bath in order to flush the toilet. Our shower broke on the second day and we weren't offered an alternative. We decided to check out early and make our way home however the manager still insisted on charging us full rate for the full stay of 4 nights despite the lack of essential amenities. We will never use this hotel again or recommend it to anyone else. Very Poor.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St_Georges_House, Manager at St Georges House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Firstly we hope your wife is feeling better now. We always like to see customers return to us and are sorry to hear that you do not wish to return to St Georges House.
When we experience plumbing problems we do everything we can to address them as soon as is possible, but this can be difficult at weekends. The slow filling cistern has been fixed in this room. Your suggestion of a bucket to assist with the immediate situation was very helpful, and as explained at the time you are always able to use either of the communal guest toilets on either floor.
The 'dribbling shower' that was mentioned to me I presumed to be leaking when not in use. After reading your review, this was obviously not what was meant but I have tried this shower a number of times since and I can not find a problem with it. We do have a separate shower room available for instances such as this.
We hope that you may reconsider our offer of taking the remaining two days of your booking later in the year, if so then please do give us a call.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

This was my 2nd stay at the St Georges House Hotel. I stayed with a couple of friends & as last time received a warm welcome from Mick. I have stayed in many Bed & Breakfasts & this is one of the better ones. It is clean & there was bottled water as well as tea/coffee facilities in the bedrooms, the beds we're very comfortable. It looked like the bathrooms had been upgraded since last year (my only gripe would be the water pressure in the shower). There is a selection of cereals, fruit & cooked breakfast (which was delicious). The hotel is in a lovely location, a short walk from the sea & shops. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St_Georges_House, Manager at St Georges House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

So lovely to see you all again and thanks for taking the time to give us some feedback.
Its always nice when guests notice the upgrades we have made, and we will continue our battle with the local water pressure.
We'll always be happy to welcome you and your friends again, and with the beautiful sunshine we are having there's a great excuse for you to come back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The first impression was that the garden needed weeding and sweeping. Back garden overgrown with unpainted balcony etc. We were greeted by the untidy host in shorts who was keen to be getting back to the tennis, who informed us that our room key would open our room and our room only..?? .but it opened the front door!!!??? The vestibule was shabby and unswept. Our double room was very dated with plastic flowers and a mismatch of furniture. Bed was clean. I opted for full English breakfast and couldn't eat the fatty hash browns and congealed beans. A packet of muesli (with own fruit and nuts added by my partner), orange juice and tea in tiny pot was my partner's limited choice. A bowl of fruit had been there from our arrival the day before. I can't imagine why people rate this hotel so highly apart from the convenient five minute walk to the sea. Not worth the money we paid by any stretch of the imagination.

Room Tip: Not at the back...there was a neighbouring "garden party" of about four people going on fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiger54_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St_Georges_House, Manager at St Georges House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

We're sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. Maintaining a property of this size, both inside and out, is a continual challenge and we have noted the comments you have made on this occasion. With people arriving throughout the day and the exceptional amount of sunny weather we get to experience I can get caught in more casual clothing, but I do try not to scare our guests with my legs!
We have always, and still do, take great pride in our breakfasts. There is a large range of both hot & cold options available on our menu, with various cereals and muesli on offer as well. Our tea and coffee are served hot and fresh and guests are always always welcome to refills. If people have any requirements outside of what we offer as standard then we are more than willing to accomodate this, but we need to know so please tell us when you are here so that we can try to help.
Thank you for your feedback though, we place great importance on this and are always looking to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The small hotel / guest house is lovely. I only stayed one night, as I was walking around the island, but is was a very comfortable stay, in a well appointed, clean and spacious room. Mick was very welcoming, and I had a great breakfast. Excellent value too, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marihat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St_Georges_House, Manager at St Georges House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review even though you only stayed the one night. We're glad you felt welcomed and enjoyed your stay, and hope you enjoyed your walk around the Island too - hope to see you again if you do the top-to-toe walk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
488 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rowborough Hotel
Rowborough Hotel
#1 of 51 in Shanklin
230 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Eastmount Hall Hotel
Eastmount Hall Hotel
#12 of 51 in Shanklin
241 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
746 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cliff Hall Hotel
Cliff Hall Hotel
#13 of 51 in Shanklin
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Georges House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Georges House

Address: 2 St. Georges Road, Shanklin PO37 6BA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: £65 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St Georges House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming original Victorian building, St. Georges is centrally situated for the town, beach, cliffs, picturesque Old Village and historic Chine. St.Georges is renowned for its freshly cooked traditional English Breakfast, served in the pleasant and sunny dining room. All rooms are En-Suite, and equipped with Colour TV & Freeview, hospitality trays and hairdryers. Centrally heated and double glazed for off-season comfort. Licensed Bar and Lounge. Free off-street parking. Free WiFi access. Car Ferry inclusive packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your St Georges House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges House Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing