We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good accommodation for a good price”
Review of St Georges House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St Georges House
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
London, England
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good accommodation for a good price”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I stayed for one night in a single en-suite room. it is professionally run. Room clean, breakfast tasty, good location, and only £34 for a single room for a one night stay. My only slight complaint was that the en-suite has carpet on floor, and shower curtain which doesn't close properly. The shower area was very small. Apart from this, an excellent place, at a good price. Would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank infolondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    35
    9
    9
    6
See reviews for
23
62
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We had a very enjoyable 3-night stay at St. George's. The rooms were adequate and hospitality excellant. Mick greets with a cheary smile at breakfast, the choice of which is vast and really sets you up for the day. We would certainly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lambo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newhaven, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We spent a week on the Isle of Wight from the 18th-23rd August and, as usual, stopped at St Georges House for the duration of our visit. We're now regulars, having found Mick and Jan's friendly guest house some years ago. So it's a part of our holiday that we always look forward to.

As always the guest house and service were excellent, with Mick's superb full breakfasts setting us up for the day and the comfortable room serving as a respite from the summer heat during the day as well as giving us a comfortable night's sleep.

Superb location for the town and all its amenities, too! You couldn't ask for more and we'll definitely be back next year, or maybe even sooner for a short break.

Room Tip: Room 7! (But obviously not in the week that WE want it!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St_Georges_House, Public Relations Manager at St Georges House, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
And as always thank you from us. Its a pleasure and a compliment when our guests have nice things to say, but even more so when people come back to see us time and again.
I'm sure we'll see you again soon and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2013

A first class bed an breakfast with a friendly welcoming atmosphere. Ideally situated , just minutes from the beach and Shanklin old town . The beach is well maintained and is perfect for young children. Will certainly use this hotel again. Very well placed for accessing all parts of the island .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St_Georges_House, Public Relations Manager at St Georges House, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
''First class'' & ''Home From Home'' - what a glowing review and huge compliment; everything we strive to be. This kind of review makes our day - thank you so much. As you say, we are blessed with a great location and we work hard to try and ensure we achieve the right atmosphere, feel and service, and are so glad that we achieved it and you're happy to post such a review.
Thank you and we hope you will come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights 20th/21st aug 2013. And found it to be very comfortable . And the owners very accommodating.by putting free of charge a cot in our room.very child frendly..Good location ..very handy for the beach...and excellent restaurants especially the aqua on shanklin seafront.. Recommend ..good value.....

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St_Georges_House, Public Relations Manager at St Georges House, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Thank you for your review, and as always we are very glad you enjoyed your stay. Although its a shame it was only for 2 nights as I'm sure there's plenty more for you to see and do. We always try and accommodate everyone and their needs, but as family orientated people we understand the importance of the little things when travelling with children, and as you say, the beach is very handy (our own children enjoyed it when they were young).
We hope to see you again another time, when you can re-visit the beach and explore more of the restaurants and everything the Island and Shanklin has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAISLEY
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2013

My son and I spent a very enjoyable four nights at St Georges Hotel at the beginning of August.
Mick the proprietor made us very welcome. The room was nice and bright with very comfortable beds. We were supplied with bottles of water every day. Breakfasts were very well cooked and with a great choice and served by Mick very promptly. If i visit Shanklin another time I would certainly book with St Georges Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DOT71Paisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St_Georges_House, Public Relations Manager at St Georges House, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We apologise for the delay in response; Its been a busy August, with great weather, which will hopefully carry on through September & October. But we would love to welcome you back to Shanklin & St Georges.
Looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Just had 4 nights at this typical seaside b&b. Well run by Mick, the owner, who made us very welcome. Rooms are all upstairs with no lift but very clean and comfortable, if a little old fashioned. En suite bathroom clean with new towels every day. Excellent breakfasts cooked to order with wide selection. The location is on the clifftop but there's a lift down to the seafront where there's a few nice eating bars, some with local entertainment at night. The IoW is still a little in the 20th century and most of the bars close at 11, but I can recommend St Georges House as a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Stairs only way to rooms so may be difficult for disabled people
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geelbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St_Georges_House, Public Relations Manager at St Georges House, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
We agree, there are certainly parts of the Isle of Wight still in the 20th century; St Georges House itself is Victorian, but we feel that this and the pace of life here often adds to the charm. And we hope that you feel the service and provisions we provide further add to this.
We hope to be able welcome you back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roseglen Hotel
Roseglen Hotel
#33 of 52 in Shanklin
59 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Chestnuts Private Hotel
The Chestnuts Private Hotel
#25 of 52 in Shanklin
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palmerston Grange
Palmerston Grange
#21 of 52 in Shanklin
45 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
386 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eastmount Hall Hotel
Eastmount Hall Hotel
#12 of 52 in Shanklin
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Georges House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Georges House

Property: St Georges House
Address: 2 St. Georges Road, Shanklin PO37 6BA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — St Georges House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming original Victorian building, St. Georges is centrally situated for the town, beach, cliffs, picturesque Old Village and historic Chine. St.Georges is renowned for its freshly cooked traditional English Breakfast, served in the pleasant and sunny dining room. All rooms are En-Suite, and equipped with Colour TV & Freeview, hospitality trays and hairdryers. Centrally heated and double glazed for off-season comfort. Licensed Bar and Lounge. Free off-street parking. Free WiFi access. Car Ferry inclusive packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your St Georges House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges House Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing