We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good”
Review of St Georges House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St Georges House
Ranked #26 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not good”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We booked this hotel via the trip advisor comments , this is the first time I've ever ,ever been let down ! !!!!!!

It was terrible . The house is cluttered and very dusty , cobwebs from a while ago.
We looked forward to visiting the Isle of Wight for 2 nights before returning to NZ. We were going to check out early but after reading the trip advisor comments again to see where we went wrong saw that others had tried and failed to get a refund on nights they wanted to opt out of , so decided to grin and bear it , spending as little time there as possible .
Our twin room was cluttered , I couldn't open the wardrobe door unless you moved a chair , no where for your luggage to go unless it's the middle of the floor, one hard lumpy pillow , the bathroom / toilet had carpet on the floor which is gross and un hygienic , mould on the ceiling and shower curtain , it smelt so musty that even having the fan working all the time the smell didn't go . We were told the bottled water would be replaced daily , this didn't happen, but would hv been overlooked if the hotel was up to standard.
The towels were freshened the next day which was a relief .
The whole hotel is very , very dated and cluttered and needs a good clean and updating , definitely not everyone's taste especially ours.
Mick did pre book our ferry for us which saved us some money before we got there., and breakfast was acceptable although not a lot of choice.
Please make sure you read though the reviews before booking because if you like comfort and nice things this isn't the hotel to stay at .
It advertises as having wifi but even sitting on the only seat in the lobby in front of the modem you couldn't get any connection , we tried several times during the stay .
This is the first time I've ever written a negative review but I believed I had to ..

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanjane61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St_Georges_House, Owner at St Georges House, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thankyou for your review. We have recently taken over St Georges House ( March 2017) and are striving to provide a comfortable house with high standards of cleanliness. We have recarpeted a number of bedrooms and have enhanced all ensuites. We do hope that you will visit us again at St Georges House. Kind regards Mark and Pearly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    34
    9
    9
    6
See reviews for
20
53
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights, had a great welcome from Jan and Mick, Comfortable room, and a 1st class breakfast each morning, would certainly stay here again and recommend to anyone, thanks for nice break

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eamonn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Clean white fluffy towels every day, breakfast cooked just the way I like it, as a single traveller I was delighted to be given a double room.
Mick booked my ferry crossing for me AND rang to change the time of the return at no extra charge.
Good value for money,
Yes recommended
Mary Smith

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I wouldn't even give this hotel half a star as it is so bad. It is filthy dusty smelly and musty. I don't think any windows have been opened in the last 10 years. Full of artificial plants silk flowers and jars of marbles all of which are covered in six months worth of dust. The décor may have been fashionable in the 1980s but I doubt it.

Wardrobe full of clothes when I told the proprietor about this he said oh they are probably my wife's do you want me to remove them - they were still there when we checked out two days later.

Filthy TV didn't work was exchanged and the new one didn't work either - told that he didn't have time to get it working.

Kettle in the room covered in grime.

Bathroom carpets black and mouldy around the shower.

Bar was never open

Wi-Fi didn't work and when I complained I was told that his laptop worked okay and there was nothing he could do about it

Worst than any of this was the proprietors terrible attitude and rudeness. He didn't give a damn.

I suggest everybody's steers well clear of this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NevilleLister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St_Georges_House, Owner at St Georges House, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
We are of course very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at St Georges House. We are a family run 4 star Guest Accommodation and as such we do strive to maintain appropriately high standards, and do everything within our power to rectify any issues reported to us.
It is regrettable that you experienced problems with your tv and we accept the various options we tried leaving you without a working tv until the third night of your stay is not good enough, and we continue to offer our apologies for this.
We are sorry that the decor was not to your liking, but as a Victorian Building with Victorian styling and features we are aware that this will not appeal to all markets. But we weren’t aware of any cleanliness issues and had we been so informed, would have made every attempt to rectify this at the time; including re-opening windows.
We do try to offer services such as the bar and wi-fi but due to the size and type of accommodation we do find occasional limitations, but hope these are out-weighed by quality of food, products and services offered as well as the charm and location of the establishment. The wi-fi has to penetrate through thick Victorian brick walls; we have extenders and have sought advice and implemented remedies to ensure the best possible signal. The wi-fi had been tested shortly prior to your stay and again since and unfortunately there has been no reason given to me as to why you had problems and not others.
The bar is an on-request service. Stated on arrival and also in the Guest Information in each room; although not manned should you require anything from the bar we are just moments away upon ringing the bell.
We hope that you feel we have explained your queries and wish we had been able to rectify those we were aware of, and given the chance to rectify any other possible problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Review for Trip Advisor:
St. George’s House Hotel
Does Bed & Breakfast (B&B)
And does it very well –

Mick's breakfasts were the business,
So what else can I tell you?
Food Hygiene scores a perfect 5,
And we thought it jolly good value!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Just spent three nights at this lovely B n B. Room was clean. En suite was lovely.
The breakfast was excellent have never had such lovely scrambled eggs. Mick was the perfect host.
Would recommend to all ages.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Badger the Dog and I had a brief stopover at St George's House last night in between two days of walking around the Island. We were made very welcome by Mick and will certainly come back again. The room was clean and cosy, as was the lounge and breakfast room. The hotel is very well placed for the coast path, the Downs and the railway back to Ryde. Great breakfast too! Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisaharris19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.3 mi away
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
#37 of 52 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
2.9 mi away
St. Augustine Villa
St. Augustine Villa
#4 of 9 in Ventnor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#1 of 52 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aqua Hotel
Aqua Hotel
#18 of 52 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palmerston Grange
Palmerston Grange
#23 of 52 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roseglen Hotel
Roseglen Hotel
#30 of 52 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Georges House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Georges House

Property: St Georges House
Address: 2 St. Georges Road, Shanklin PO37 6BA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — St Georges House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming original Victorian building, St. Georges is centrally situated for the town, beach, cliffs, picturesque Old Village and historic Chine. St.Georges is renowned for its freshly cooked traditional English Breakfast, served in the pleasant and sunny dining room. All rooms are En-Suite, and equipped with Colour TV & Freeview, hospitality trays and hairdryers. Centrally heated and double glazed for off-season comfort. Licensed Bar and Lounge. Free off-street parking. Free WiFi access. Car Ferry inclusive packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your St Georges House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges House Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing