We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
St Georges House
Nearby Hotels
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Clifton(Shanklin)
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Channel View Hotel(Shanklin)
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveller rating
86
35
9
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
86
35
9
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrecommend stbottled waterhomemade dessertslovely soft towelsold villagecomfortable roomlittle extra touchesfull englishisle of wighttea coffee facilitiesstayed here for nightsreceived a warm welcomebreakfast each morningconvenient locationtown centrelonger stayguest lounge
Filter
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 145 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Very warm welcome when we arrived, had a tour of the hotel and amenities. Lots of pamphlets of local attractions, plus information on public transport, and local guides to what's on in Shanklin.
Breakfast was wonderful, it was ensured you were set for the day, in our case a day of walking!
The room was beautifully decorated, very spacious and with a good sized en-suite.
A 2 minute walk from cliff top views of the Channel, Shanklin beach, and Sandown. Shanklin Chine was a 5 minute walk as was the old Village, with the thatched houses and shops.
Would definitely stay here on another trip to the Isle of Wight!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenday_keli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2010

Jan & Mick are a lovely couple who were very friendly and helpful. The room we had was big enough to move around without bumping into furniture, which included armchairs to relax in. There was teas, different kinds of coffee and hot chocolate in the room and plenty of it. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was roomy. Everything was clean (im quite fussy, so i was pleased). We've staying in lots of hotels and the breakfast here was the largest we've ever had. We didnt have to lunch cos we were so full. We could certainly stay there again and recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacko49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

We made a late decision to take my elderly father to visit the Isle of Wight overnight and got some hotel names from the Tourist Board. Jan was most friendly and helpful on the phone, so we decided to stay at this hotel. It has clean & comfortable accommodation - the double room was spacious and light, but the single room was quite small and pokey with a tiny shower. Jan & Mike were very hospitable hosts and together presented a wonderful cooked breakfast. There is a communal lounge area with TV and board games, which was a comfortable place to sit and chat after a fantastic dinner at Pendletons - great food and service - top notch. There are 3 on-site parking spots in front of the hotel and it is within easy walking distance of the town and restaurants. You could also drive to the top end of town where there is a carpark, but it got very busy in the evening.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherry_bobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

My wife and I stayed at the St George's House Hotel for two nights last week (we wish that it had been longer). From the very start Mike was very very helpful and his wife Jan most charming.They work very very hard, as they employ no staff, keeping the hotel spotless. I found Mike most helpful he even changed my ferry booking, free of charge, so as we could stay longer on the Island. At breakfast (which is fantastic) whilst serving everybody a guest from overseas kept rudely stopping him to ask for directions etc. Mike stayed most polite (kept is cool) and assisted them once he had a free minute. Although the bathroon was small (who cares) the room was ample with sofa, writing desk, coffee table, trouser press, hair dryer and plenty of power points. The towels & complementory tray which includes bottled water were changed daily.My wife especially liked the large amount of wooden coat hangers and plenty or drawers to store clothes. The only downside was although there are nine rooms there is only at the most seven parking spaces which could, during high season perhaps cause a problem. Although I must add Mike offered to move his car any time onto the street if a guest was unable to park. The other small point is there is only a very small garden if you wished to sit in the sun. Lastly the hotel is very well situated between the High Street and the Cliff Top and beach. It is well stocked with tourist infomation and although the bar is not manned, all you have to do is 'ring the bell' . Great little hotel, well deserves it's four star 'AA' classification. We will return and recommend others to do so. JTM France.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtmfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

Our arrival was a sign of things to come. Hotel locked to outside visitors and despite several phone calls it took over three hours for the proprietor to arrive to let and check us in. We were actually relatively lucky, we sat in the car for an hour and in a tea room for the rest of our wait - a family of four German backpackers arrived not long after us in the pouring rain, not sure when, or if, they eventually got in. Even on the day we left the proprietor announced that breakfast would be 8.30 to 9am since he and his wife were off to a wedding !
Apart from breakfast we didn't see any staff, no chance of beverages or bar in the lounge during the week we were there.
On the plus side breakfast was very good, location quite good, room was a bit on the small side but ok.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DennisBWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews