We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hated it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shanklin Beach Hotel
Ranked #37 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Reviewed 1 June 2011

the hotel was the worsed i have ever been filthy over looking a dump skips full of rubish beds like rocks scruffy covers dont think they had been washed in 10 years every were smelt of mould wallpaper hanging of . food well school dinners were better but the staff were very nice i was so over the moon to pack up to leave that was not a holiday it was a punishment

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pip012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (494)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

454 - 460 of 494 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2011

To all you whingers and moaners ,that mad us worried what we were going to ,dont know what you xpected for the money you paid ,but after just come back from a week there with national holidays ,and being our first time to the isle or wight ,are you sure you were staying at the same hotel as us .It was nothing like we xpected ,ok may be bit dated but that was the charm of this hotel .We didnt xpect fancy shower gels etc (not the Ritz you know ).The food was always hot ,and you only had to ask if you wanted coffee,being some-one who always takes their own found didnt need to use them ,as they were pretty good t-bags.Usually they are crap?,Our waiter Ramon was not only courteous,and attentive ,but funny ,and nothing too much trouble .Brenda on reception was just as helpful ,such a nice person to meet ,even barman (sorry forgot your name )was a pleasure to be with.Being disabled and not very well wanted nice quiet holiday ,but reading your reviews thoubght i was going to have a disasterful week ,what a surprise ,we are going back back quite soon .Also many thanks to Nick hotel owner for fab week,not forgetting Marcus our coach driver ,whos very funny and made the journey .

Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
9  Thank keithann28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

having stayed at the shanklin for 7 nights with national holidays i was amazed that we never once had a change of towels or bed linen,we actually left our towels in a heap on the bathroom floor and again in a heap on the bed, but all what happened was they made the bed and put them back on top in a heap.As for the food it wasnt very edible having once found 3 dead flies in my partners salad we decided to eat out on many nightscosting us a lot of money. Its a shame because the hotel is in a great location and most of the staff are great and very helpfull. the bedrooms are very dated and are need of a make over ,also our shower curtain was thick with black mould and when u opened the bathroom door the smell just hit you.Hope you get things sorted out because shanklin and the isle of wight was beautifull.

Room Tip: seaviews obviously have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank keith279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Just spent Easter weekend here - had a lovely few days which was helped considerably by the glorious weather over the weekend. Great value for money, lovely staff and clean (but seriously dated) room. 2 hotels converted to 1 make for interesting routes to the rooms on the upper floors, even if you make use of the lift, which is probably the most modern thing in the building.
The hotel is directly on the beach, a 2 mile walk along the flat coast into Sandown, and a 3 minute stroll to the cliff lift into town.
Patterned carpets, patterned wallpaper, patterned curtains give the place a character of it's own but the staff more than make up for shortcomings on the decor front.
Our 'double aspect' room looked over the side of the hotel and the view was not good, but well hidden by lace curtains. The towels and sheets were spotless and the water instantly hot.
The communal areas were dated but comfortable, there is a pool table, some converted 1d slot machines (not a type error) a large dance floor and wide screen tv lounge. Food was hot, plentiful and the service very efficient and friendly. The only drawback to the holiday was breakfast at 7.00 on the departure day which was okay for us but very early for some of the more senior, senior citizens on our coach.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank emgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2011

I had a lovely long weekend here with National Holidays. The room was quite basic and the furniture looked quite old but it was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The complimentary toiletries were minimal- just a tablet of soap and no shower gel or shampoo- so remember to pack your own!
The meals were well cooked and although there wasn't a lot of choice for the main course - just the hot meal or a salad- they were delicious and of good quality. Typically, we had orange juice or florida cocktail; soup; roast chicken with a tureen of potatoes and veg or a ham salad; peach sponge and custard, gateau, icecream or cheese and biscuits; and tea or coffee. The waiters were all efficient, attentive, and professional and a special thank you must go to Jason who looked after me faultlessly throughout my stay.
The hotel is well situated opposite a lovely sandy beach and I felt very safe when out for an evening stroll. The beautiful Shanklin Old Town is about a 15 minute walk away, The zig zag path up the side of Shanklin Chine is probably the best route and it's not as arduous as it looks. The whole island is quite hilly with steep cliffs but there is a regular daytime bus service and a cliff lift close to the hotel.
You get what you pay for with National Hols and It was a great value for money package with a lovely island tour included. I'd love to come back to the island and to this hotel but it would be for a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank susie186408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

The Shanklin Beach has an unrivaled beach position but is set in a 1970's time warp,
Even the restaurant is in a time warp, you can only have fruit juice OR cereal not both!!
Each day pots of tea were already on the table at breakfast even if you wanted coffee.
The single rooms are awful, small, dingy and old fashioned ( I did peek at the double rooms and they were slightly better ) No duvet's only blankets and candlewicks.
There were two tea bags in the room , if you wanted more is cost £1. NO coffee is provided.
However there was plenty of hot water and the sheets were clean.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swift33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

I was really concerned about going to this hotel after reading a couple of the reviews, but had a wonderful time. The decor is very 'Victorian', but fits with the period - the rooms were bright, airy and spotlessly clean. The staff were really helpful and pleasant. especially Ramon the head waiter. I could not fault the food - typical British fare. e.g egg mayonaise, soup, roast meat and a pudding, followed by coffee. Plentiful and the veg was fresh vegatables. Breakfast was great, cereal, toast, tea - full English (quality bacon too!)
Excellent value for money with friendly staff.
There are some sea view rooms with a terrace on the first floor - we weren't lucky enough to have one of these, but checked them out and will be asking for a sea view next time!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank intrepidconnerys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
2.0 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#7 of 29 in Sandown
350 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victoria Lodge Hotel
Victoria Lodge Hotel
#31 of 51 in Shanklin
82 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shanklin Hotel
Shanklin Hotel
#22 of 51 in Shanklin
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Palmerston Grange
Palmerston Grange
#21 of 51 in Shanklin
53 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanklin Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanklin Beach Hotel

Address: The Esplanade, Shanklin PO37 6BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: £38 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shanklin Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Earlier this year The Shanklin Beach Hotel underwent a massive refurbishment program. With modernised rooms, new electrics, new steakhouse, computerised reservation system, as well new decking on our Sea View balcony rooms. Thank you for all your comments and patience whilst this transition from old to new has been going on. And we look forward to your continued support. We are located within 30 metres from the water and beautiful sandy beach. Close to the gaming arcade, shops and children's theme park. Best wishes, management and staff at The Shanklin Beach Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Shanklin Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanklin Beach Hotel Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing