We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother..........”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shanklin Beach Hotel
Ranked #37 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Reviewed 26 August 2012

I am not one to moan about National Holiday Hotels but this hotel has changed my view on poor value on offer at certain places.This hotel has one good point and that it is on the beach but after that it is downhill all the way.When we arrived we found the hotel full and one poor guest from Lancs area put in a room that had been condemmed for months.The food is poor,at breakfast you have the choice of a small glass of juice or a bowl cereal but not both as in most places.Dinner is served with potatoes and veg,but thats no good with Ham salad,spag bol, fish and chips etc.The old lounge area in the hotel has been turned into. an Irish Bar and is open to the public and they have an offer on KIDS EAT FREE so the bar is full of noisy kids all afternoon and local youths at night.Entertainment is non existent because its in the Irish Bar and they dont have room for 200 hotel guests.And anyway Everton v Man Utd or Karaoke is not entertainment for people who are 60+.One afternoon my wife and I saw a man who could hardly walk straight come out of the bar having just been served with 2 pints of lager. Ten minutes later we saw him sat outside the hotel fast asleep and covered in vomit.This is the only trip I've been on where the whole coach cheered as we left on our way home.And finally if you want an early night forget it because the locals in the Iriish Bar downstairs will keep you up till gone midnight

Room Tip: Ask for another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank WakefieldTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

392 - 398 of 498 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2012

We have previously stayed at this hotel ( shanklin beach hotel ), and thoroughly enjoyed the experience both of hotel and the island, so going back this year on the 18th of august we were very disapointed to find the hotel had changed hands,as we had friends we had recomended the hotel to family and friends and we expected the same quality and care as our previous holiday WHAT A SHAMBLES!!!!
The evening we arrived everybody was trying to get their cases to their rooms most been of elderly age and some infurm, when the lift decided to break down bare in mind 2 people were stuck in the lift and still alot of cases still in the foyer.Were upon the staff from behind the bar, came out and carried all cases to everybodys room and an out of order sign was put on the lift wall,the information was for the lift that somebody was coming to see to it sunday morning,the out of order sign stayed all week when we asked if it had been mended they said no but you could use it at youre own discrtion, all week the towels were never changed we had 4 towels for a whole week some staff polite and helpful were as others were very rude and dont know what please and thank you meant, the food was uneatable the only thing they couldnt mess up was cornflakes and rice krispies. My recomendation would be NOT to use this hotel.

Room Tip: just dont stay at the shanklin beach hotal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Danielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel on a National Holidays tour, for 5 days.
Booking in at the cramped reception area is a bit off-putting with a coach full of other guests after a very long journey, the reception area needs some thought. Apparently the new owner has started a refurbishment programme.
Our room was adequate, the decor was old fashioned, but the carpet was quite new and fairly clean. There were 2 bedside cabinets with sprung hinged doors, and no knobs or handles, so very dificult to use. The "wardrobe" also was missing it's knobs, so again difficult to use. There were no information notices other than the fire safety notice on the back of the door, so no housekeeping information etc.
The room was at the side of the building, halfway between the front and back and facing directly onto the side of the next hotel about 8 feet away across the access alleyway. This meant there was very little light in the room, and the ceiling light was not very bright.
There were 2 beds in the room, a single bed and a 4 foot six inch double bed, which for some reason had a 5 foot mattress on it, which collapsed where it overhung, and tipped us off the edge. The white duvet cover had lipstick on it when we arrived. On the third day when we returned from breakfast the maid was in the room, and we asked about getting our towels changed, the surly response was that they did not change towels as a matter of course, and they were getting some notices made to inform guests of this, (sometime). We asked again if we could have them changed and the next day we got 2 clean hand towels, a couple of mints and a survey form? There is no telephone in the room, and the hotel's position below the cliff/hillside prevents mobile phone signals getting through. However there is free wi-fi in the bar and reception areas.
The breakfasts were OK, but could have done with some weetabix or bran type cereals, and a bit of fruit. The evening meals again were OK, not very inspiring but a choice of starters, 3 or 4 mains and choice of desserts.
The entertainment was in the attached Irish bar, we didn't actually see any of it, so cannot comment about it. There was a "Happy Hour" between 17:00 and 19:00.
The waitress who served our table was fantastic, pleasant smile and nothing too much trouble, even though she was rushed off her feet. Pity about the attitudes of the room maid, and evening reception staff who were not very helpful and often there was no-one at the desk, you have to ask bar staff to get your keys etc.
As my review heading says, typical coach tour hotel, ok for a few days economical break away, but we would not choose to go here if we were doing our own booking.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheMsFossils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

16th August 2012 had a 5 day National holiday to this hotel, admittedly the hotel is still in a state of refurbishment, and the staff were helpful and friendly but the the room we had contained only one ceiling light, no bedside lamps, the handle came off the toilet cistern the first night, there was no bathroom mirror. Although there was two in the room we were left only two towels per day.
The food was of extremely poor quality and some was inedible, no fresh ingredients were used and we had to ask what certain foods were.
All in all a very poor accomodation and could not recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

travel ed to isle of wight with national holidays and stayed at shanklin beach hotel. were we had a sea view room which was excellent it was very roomey and spotless clean it was wonderful to open the bay windows on a morning and see the wonderful sight of the sea just across the road from the hotel . the food was excellent also plenty of choice and enough for anyone and the service was brilliant the staff were very pleasant and helpful.maureen w

Room Tip: ask for room no 28
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

stayed at this hotel from the 4th Aug to 11th Aug 2012, have stayed at this hotel for annual holiday for the last 12 years under the same owner all though old it was clean and meals good , the lounge a place to relax and have a quite drink now new owners taken over you have to pay 70 pounds for a room with a view , also the lounge has been made into a Irish bar open to the general public so no place to relax so at night it ends up full of drunken young people who want fight each other also as my room was above this bar the noise was unacceptable at night and having a young child with us midnight was not a good time for him to be still awake also could not relax in room during day because of building work being done in the rooms above .

Room Tip: choose a room that is not above Irish bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Arrived on July 25th after a long coach journey with National Holidays.Confusion immediately apparent at booking in.Our room,as seen on the hotel register had been given to someone else.Try room 40 we were told.The lift was out of action with some guests allegedly inside,so we humped our luggage up numerous sets of stairs and long corridors before we found room 40.The room was ok but it was a double and we had specified that we required a twin room.We left the bags and returned to reception where confusion reigned supreme and complaints were loud and compelling.Eventually we were seen and after further scrutiny of the much crossed out booking ledger we were told try room31,and ;Are you ok with stairs;?Despite both my wife and I having arthritis and therefore less agile than we used to be,we went to room30.Here the healing process commenced.The room was spacious and spotlessly clean and containe 1 double and 1 single bed.The bathroom was also spotless with a generous supply of towels etc and a very efficient shower.The beds were clean and comfortable.A bedside light was faulty also the landing light outside the door.A word with the by now serene and pretty receptionist and the lights were fixed right away.The food was tolerable and plentiful.The service excellent.Due to refurbihment the entertainment was in the hotels Foleys Bar.Here the seating was inadequate and on the 2nd night a fracas developed involving some young idiots.Trouble had been brewing for some time and it was impossible to hear the Irish band due to the row caused by the mindless cacophony of the moronic yobs.Many of the hotel guests left and eventually the local Police came and carted the yobs off.//.To his credit,the hotel manager who was away at this time sent a letter by e mail to each guest apologising for the disturbance and advised that measures were in place to ensure that there would be no repetition.Great weather very nice trips out and generally nice company.Given time this hotel could be a lovely place to stay.The FADED GENTILITYlook is being rectified.Get the room allocation system sorted out and improve the quality of the main course at dinner and for an inexpensive coach holiday you could do a whole lot worse.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
2 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#7 of 29 in Sandown
359 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Marlborough Hotel
Marlborough Hotel
#24 of 51 in Shanklin
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Victoria Lodge Hotel
Victoria Lodge Hotel
#30 of 51 in Shanklin
82 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
877 reviews
0.4 mi away
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
#36 of 51 in Shanklin
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanklin Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanklin Beach Hotel

Address: The Esplanade, Shanklin PO37 6BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: £47 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shanklin Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Earlier this year The Shanklin Beach Hotel underwent a massive refurbishment program. With modernised rooms, new electrics, new steakhouse, computerised reservation system, as well new decking on our Sea View balcony rooms. Thank you for all your comments and patience whilst this transition from old to new has been going on. And we look forward to your continued support. We are located within 30 metres from the water and beautiful sandy beach. Close to the gaming arcade, shops and children's theme park. Best wishes, management and staff at The Shanklin Beach Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Shanklin Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanklin Beach Hotel Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing