We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dont go”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shanklin Beach Hotel
Ranked #37 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Reviewed 15 October 2012

really gon down the nick last time theire was may ad great time no iresh bar now full of young kids no entertainment for older ones i am only 55 like a great time but bar not for me cantrunderstand what they r siging aboult staff not nice they cater for the youth now dont go toast at breakfast brort out on a plate soggy tea in pot stewed eft on table ages befor you av breakfast food tastless staf dont mix with you they av no time for you cant be botherd the only thing i engoyed was our coach driver allan what a laf from the man with the flue 28 people went down wit vires would say stay a way

Room Tip: room 91 ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michael k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

374 - 380 of 496 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2012

We booked 2 rooms with sea view in April with National Holidays but on arrival were told had to pay £28 per room surcharge for sea view. We refused and we were given room 47, never stay in this room, next to noisy boiler room and next to noisy fire door, no peace at nightime. Room smelt foisty and dirty furnishings, dim lighting. Food was fine and restaurant service very good.When I complained about our room the receptionist was most unhelpful and kept saying the hotel was full and she could not do anything about it. Also the couple we were with were put at the other side of the hotel and we couldnt communicate with them as our mobile phones didnt have a signal so we only saw them at mealtimes and in the bar.

Room Tip: do not take rooms 47 or 49 as very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Norma V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

just had a 4 day stay with national at shanklin beach hotel, the refurbished areas are very nice, but was not keen on the regimental style of dining and did,nt ask for any more as it seemed you got what was on your plate,i,m not greedy but could have done with a bit more.the first morning the eggs were nearly cold,fried bread on first morning only,then baked beans rest of time,porridge made with water and no sugar in it although this is the correct way one morning it looked like glue! you must make sure to ask for happy hour drinks as they don,t always ask you.the entertainment was best on the last night it was a man showing old film footage with commentary very funny in places. if making your own way around try using trains if possible as buses expensive. all in all not too bad a short stay.

Room Tip: ask for room near back of hotel away from above bar or kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thebull58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

we were on a 5day National Coach Holiday, from 1st to 5th of Oct. having read the reviews for this Hotel i didnt hold out much hope. I was surprised how much the hotel has improved, there seems to be a rolling programme of referbishment, we were greeted by the assistant manager who informed us any problems come stright to her and she would resolve them, our room wasi a twin at the front we paid for a sea view, it was a older room not referbished, but next on the list to be done needless to say we had a bathroom the size of a small chicked coup, but the room was very clean and comfy, clean towels every day etc. the meals were very good each with a good choice of menu all table service. breakfast was ok very portioned, with very small eggs pigion sized. never seen any so small before, plenty of tea coffee toast etc we found everything in the Hotel a bit worn but where it had been referbished it looked great and the referbished rooms were larger new furniture and bigger bathrooms flat screen tvs in rooms with good recipition. staff were helpfull. There still seems to be a girl on receipition glooed to a computer screen exclam. would go back again when completly referbished

Room Tip: A bit hit and mis at the moment, till refurbishment completed. you could ask for a refurbished room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allanscarborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

just returned from a 5 day trip and would like to say how impressed we were with the hotel. the staff and service was excellent and the food was lovely plenty of choice too and good portions. the hotel is still being revamped and we we lucky to get one of the finished rooms which was fab would have been even better with a sea view but very peaceful. The addition of foleys irish bar just completed it very modern bar with comfy leather sofas good choice of drinks and happy hours too as a bonus! would thoroughly recommend this hotel would definately go back and suggest you ignore all old reviews as not the same place now.although the hotel is still undergoing transformation it is very unintrusive and did not spoil our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank page1page2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

stayed at this hotel for 5 days 24th sept 2012.after reading comments onTrip advisor i was not expecting much.I was pleasantly surprised,our room was spacous well appionted, large bathroom ,all recently reburbished,food good.staff friendly I don,t expect 5 star in a2 star hotelbut this hotel exceeded expectations

Room Tip: ask for room 75pay extra for seaview with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank missisp38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Just got back from a five day holiday at the Shanklin. The staff were excellent and the food was good especially the breakfast. We paid extra for a sea view but the balcony was filthy,wallpaper was off the wall the ceiling was hanging down and there were stains all over the carpet,we are quite slim fortuneatly or otherwise we wouldnt have been able to get in the en suite which should be renamed cupboard. The beds were spotless though. I understand they are redecorating but I think they should have shut the hotel until it was finished,there was a lot of guests complaining.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
2 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#7 of 29 in Sandown
354 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victoria Lodge Hotel
Victoria Lodge Hotel
#31 of 51 in Shanklin
82 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marlborough Hotel
Marlborough Hotel
#25 of 51 in Shanklin
165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palmerston Grange
Palmerston Grange
#21 of 51 in Shanklin
53 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shanklin Hotel
Shanklin Hotel
#22 of 51 in Shanklin
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanklin Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanklin Beach Hotel

Address: The Esplanade, Shanklin PO37 6BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: £38 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shanklin Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Earlier this year The Shanklin Beach Hotel underwent a massive refurbishment program. With modernised rooms, new electrics, new steakhouse, computerised reservation system, as well new decking on our Sea View balcony rooms. Thank you for all your comments and patience whilst this transition from old to new has been going on. And we look forward to your continued support. We are located within 30 metres from the water and beautiful sandy beach. Close to the gaming arcade, shops and children's theme park. Best wishes, management and staff at The Shanklin Beach Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Shanklin Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanklin Beach Hotel Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing