We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Time travel to the 1950's” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shanklin Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shanklin Beach Hotel
Ranked #32 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
cirencester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Time travel to the 1950's”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

I'll start by being positive. The bedroom and bathroom were spotless and the staff were very friendly and helpful. In 2013, I at least expect signs to take you to your room.They run out at key points leaving you wandering around stair cases with your cases not realising you need to go through cloed fire doors. The corridor reaked of cigarette smoke and the bedroom reaked of disinfectant-cheap. The bin in the bathroom wasn't emptied but the chambermaid did find time to see a quiz on the dressing table and offer two answers! The bathroom had no shower facility. A cheap tap arrangement which didn't work and resulted in flooding the bathroom floor, so had to wash my hair using a mug! 1950's style.No toliet brush and make sure you take all necessary toiletries as only the smallest sliver of soap is provided. The room was at the back of the hotel and very dark- faced a cliff with a view of a skip and several waste bins. Food was -well it didn't make you ill. When was the last time you were offered Oxtail soup (tinned) spotted dick, bread and butter pudding. Fruit salad was tinned.Cheap fruit juice and tinned fruit at breakfast.Vegetables were mostly cheap frozen or microwaved - not a good way to treat cauliflower or sprouts.All food was 'heated'.Ran out of scrambled and poached eggs on monday morning! Entertainment!!!!Bingo, singer who really shouldn't try to emulate Michael Ball and a 'Combo'. I looked for the housekeeper to complain about bedroom issues and there was no obvious Restaurant manager. I was told that the manager had walked out and the 'staff' were running it. In which case, congratulations, you kept it going. If you want to go somewhere cheap and clean where you can provide your own fun it is OK but otherwise stay well clear.

Room Tip: Heard from some guests that they had recently refurbished rooms which were good. Never saw them. Foo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank someonewithstandards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine W, Manager at Shanklin Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
well I guess you will not be returning, thank you for that
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    130
    112
    52
    52
See reviews for
70
190
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
High Peak
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

The Shanklin Beach Hotel is a great place to spend a few days away. It took a long time to get there from the North West but very worth it!. The staff were very efficient and helpful, even took our bags to our room. The dining room wasn't too big and the waiting staff very attentive, especially Ramon. The food was very nice too and lots of it! Considering the summer season is over, the entertainment was good too. The room was amazing, and we even had a teapot! Very clean and fresh decor - including scatter cushions on the beds. nice new carpet, adequate storage, lots of fresh towels and plenty of room for toiletries in the bathroom. and a lovely touch was even a lavender bag on the wardrobe door!. The very best thing was doors opening onto a balcony with a table and chairs and wonderful sea views! Of course the weather helped and it was just like a hot summer- I think we struck very lucky especially because we could sleep with the windows open and let the sound of the waves lull you to sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HighPeakSongbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L_Wade_Manager, Manager at Shanklin Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for your kind review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and your positive comments regarding your room, the food and service were very much appreciated. I will certainly pass these on to all the staff and also Ramon in the dining room. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Was a bit worried about our stay as there's been some bad reviews on here, but we shouldn't have worried. The room was lovely with a sea view, the room had been redecorated and was clean and fresh. The staff were great, couldn't do enough for you. Can't comment on the food as we ate out every night but other people did say that it wasn't very good. I unfortunately hurt my foot and had to sit out some of the trips. the staff in the hotel were great in providing salt and a bowl to soak my foot in. I would recommend this hotel to all and would stay again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L_Wade_Manager, Manager at Shanklin Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for your comments. I am pleased that although you were a little worried you came and enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your comments to the staff, they certainly do work hard and as a team to ensure all guests have a relaxing and enjoyable holiday with us. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northeast of england
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Returned from 5days with national holidays and had a great time hotel was nice staff would do anything to help especially front desk lovely girl most helpful food was always very hot.and service was good had 2 choices of starter and 4 main and 4 desserts quite basic but edible. Our room was 119 twin and was very nicely done only thing was beds were rather small . Towels were changed daily if you left used ones in bath or shower .room serviced daily. We had a nice driver gary and visited some lovely places one of which was waltzing waters which is a must see fantastic. All in all good time had hope to return again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avisburnham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L_Wade_Manager, Manager at Shanklin Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to put a review on Tripadvisor. Your positive comments are very welcome. I have passed on your kind words to the reception staff and the dining room team. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORTH EAST
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Just returned from a 5 day break to Shanklin Beach Hotel with National on arrival we were booked in within minutes young barman took our cases up to room and refused to take a tip room was absolutely lovely we were in room 137 on first floor with a balcony room was clean and comfortable with a table and two comfortable chairs and furniture on the balcony if you chose to sit outside the food was good and the waiting staff very good. You never had to wait for anything the staff in the hotel are all very friendly and helpful even the night security we had a fantastic time here and enjoyed the outings to the waltzing waters and ryde and cowes our driver was also very helpful we woud definitely return to this hotel with national

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FMH1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L_Wade_Manager, Manager at Shanklin Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for your kind review and I am pleased that you enjoyed your holiday. We are certainly proud of all our staff and the way they work as a team to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable and relaxing holiday. Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

The hotel is a lovely 3 star hotel. We paid extra for a sea view which was worth it. Allocated a room on the 2nd floor which was large and had 3 large windows. The room was big with a double and a single bed in it. Also had a chaise longue under the window. The room had been redecorated and it was nice. The only niggle with the room was that although the shower is new, the water pressure is low so just a trickle but still able to have a wash. The hotel is literally across the road from the sea, we slept with a window open at night and the sound of the waves was relaxing. The food is very good, a choice of food at breakfast with cereal etc to a cooked breakfast or eggs on toast. Evening meals are lovely with a good selection of food. There was a choice of starters, around 4 choices of evening meals and around 4 choices for desserts. The desserts were homemade each day by the chef. Evening meals are preordered at breakfast. The waitresses and waiters were very efficient and the service was excellent. It is a lovely hotel in a nice spot on the seafront.

Room Tip: A sea view is worth paying for, first floor sea view rooms come with a terrace balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L_Wade_Manager, Manager at Shanklin Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for your comments and I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. Your positive feedback is very welcome and I will pass on your comments to the kitchen and dining room staff. Many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

good stay , room great , staff very good and management good , but food needs to be checked some under cooked or over, one bad point grandson had a salad and cucumber was rotten like i said eye needs to be kept on things .

Room Tip: ask and pay for a front room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L_Wade_Manager, Manager at Shanklin Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you Frank for your review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found your room, and staff good. I am sorry that your grandson had a problem with his salad, I have spoken to the chef to ensure a closer eye is kept on all food leaving the kitchen so this does not happen again. Hope to see you in the future. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
2.0 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#10 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shanklin Hotel
Shanklin Hotel
#19 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
7.0 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auckland Hotel
Auckland Hotel
#36 of 54 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eastmount Hall Hotel
Eastmount Hall Hotel
#10 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanklin Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanklin Beach Hotel

Property: Shanklin Beach Hotel
Address: 35-38 Esplanade, Shanklin PO37 6BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shanklin Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Earlier this year The Shanklin Beach Hotel went under a massive refurbishment program. With modernised rooms, new electrics,new Steakhouse, computerised reservation system, as well new decking on our Sea View balcony rooms. Thank you for all your comments and patient whilst this transition from old new has been going on. And we look forward to your continued support.We are located withing 30 metres from the water and beautiful sandy beach. Close to the gaming arcade, shops and childrens theme park.Best wishes Management and staff at The Shanklin Beach Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Shanklin Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanklin Beach Hotel Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing