We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shanklin Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$64
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Clifton(Shanklin)
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Channel View Hotel(Shanklin)
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$47
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (525)
Filter reviews
525 results
Traveller rating
125
154
124
59
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
154
124
59
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnational holidaysnational coachsound of the wavesfirst floorshanklin beacha sea view roomoverlooking the beachcoach partiesgreat holidaynew ownersbit datedwaiting staffenjoyable staythe cliffplenty of choicemany thanksfull english
Filter
Updating list...
292 - 297 of 525 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Nice hotel right on the beach,very helpful staff.nice room with sea views and a balcony,good breakfast but no decaf tea,car park at rear of hotel,we had a room directly above the bar but it closed at 11pm and there was no noise, all this was pointed out by the helpful reception staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank madherbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stayed here in May 2014. The hotel room was lovely. Balcony with a great view of the sea. The room was spacious and clean. We asked for a twin room and I was pleasantly surprised to get a single and a double. Very comfy beds, we both had a great nights sleep. The staff were all very welcoming and friendly and really really helpful. Couldnt fault it, price was very reasonable will definately be coming back. Forgot to say, great location too.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joclairehazell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed here as part of a national holiday. The staff were fantastic, very polite and helpful. We had a slight problem with our room (we couldn't get cold water from the tap) and because the maintenance man wasn't able to come to the hotel to fix it, we was upgraded for free to a sea view room. Both rooms were lovely and clean. The food was delicious, we had three choices for starters, main and desserts every night which we think its very fair. The portions are very good size, i struggled to clear my plate most of the time.

I think some people expect the Ritz when they don't pay for it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Becky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

a good location on the Ilse of White lots of good walking,and transport links.
The hotel is very clean and the staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are comfortable even if the
single beds are a bit narrow.the food is very basic eating out in the evening would be my advise.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights on a National Holidays short break. Our room was fabulous - spacious first floor sea view with French doors opening out onto a verandah with (non plastic!) table and chairs. This room had been nicely refurbished (some still are awaiting refurbishment I believe) and was fresh and clean. However the curtains were amazingly poor quality and were already coming off the dated plastic curtain track which at one end had been finished off with an elastic band!!! I think they will find these undoubtedly to have been false economy.

The staff were wonderful; extremely pleasant and friendly and eager to please and all British so none of the often found language difficulties.

The bar and "ballroom" were entirely soulless although the saving grace in the bar were the leather settees. It has been called The Beach Bar but apart from a few old Guinness posters scattered on the walls has little or no character and certainly does not live up to its name apart from the fact it is opposite the beach!

The dining room is pleasant overlooking the beach and the waiting staff were so friendly and trying extremely hard to please (if perhaps the odd one whilst very willing was very inexperienced and crying out for some training). Unfortunately the biggest let down of all was the food. My husband hardly ate anything in the time we were there either because of the lack of appeal of the choices on the daily menu or simply because when his choice arrived it was so poorly prepared and cooked. There was only one "meat and vegetables" meal on offer throughout the time we were there and that was roast beef on the Sunday evening and that was very disappointing with overcooked watery broccoli and the worst Yorkshire pudding anyone had attempted to eat. Other dishes offered were clearly on a very tight budget with liver and bacon; dry battered fish from the freezer (in a location where everyone else was offering fresh fish and seafood!); sausages and mash; sausage toad; spaghetti Bolognese (containing great clumps of unbroken mince); a very stodgy lasagna and so on.

We have been on other National Holidays breaks and have previously marveled at the food served for the price paid. This was however a massive let down in comparison.

Thank goodness we had a lovely room because without that the trip would have been disastrous (apart from a gem of a pub we discovered nearby - see Fishermans Cottage).

So sorry cannot recommend this hotel but the Isle of Wight is beautiful.

Room Tip: Double sea view on first floor.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sandifawcett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews