We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shanklin Beach Hotel
Ranked #31 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“brilliant value for money”
Reviewed 31 August 2010

me and my sister stayed here in August travelling with national holidays on an 8 day break. the front of the hotel looked OK; nothing spectacular; which is what i expected considering the price we paid for the holiday. The staff were very friendly (except one barman who i had to complain about) so overall very good on that front. the roon was a decent size, however the bathroom was so small we struggled to even clean our teeth as we had no elbow room as the shower was in the way. The food was quite good but i felt a bit more selection would have gone a long way; especially for vegetarians, our waitress was very friendly and we had a laugh with her. The entertainment was so-so, on the first night, it was so dire we had to go to the fisherman's cottage which was just at the end of the seafront. overall this hotel was very nice - i do not go on holiday for the decor, and i noticed a lot of people said it is dated - ignore this as this makes no difference to the overall quality and friendliness of the staff. You definatley get what you pay for and i will definatley be going back to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toffee1063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    139
    117
    54
    55
See reviews for
71
203
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Only thing good about this hotel is the location everything else rates terrible would never go back or recommend to anyone. Cleaning poor didint come at all one day.Food no choice except salad.Entertainment Rubbish except one night .Hotel staff take it or leave it attitude.No help given with cases despite many guests frail a young member of staff just watched, This hotel should not be sold in coach tour holidays until its been brought up to scratch.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShirleyWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shanklin hotels

Leeds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

just got back from a week at this hotel. had read reviews so was worried. i shared a room with my daughter, new carpet, very clean, 2 leather chairs, tv, kettle, clean towels, sea view - perfect. my parents had another room, again - all very clean, small bathroom but adequate. meals were served quickly and were warm and filling. my daughter is 4 and there was a couple of days when she didn't like what was on menu - told waiter, he couldn't have been more accomodating in offering alternatives. the entertainment on an evening was your typical club singers - but worth a giggle!!!! yes the decor is out dated - floral and patterned - but i didn't go on holiday to look at the wallpaper. all in all, we've had a great week and would definitely go back. as for the previous reviews on this hotel, take them with a pinch of salt. if people are going to complain about the decor they must be having a miserable holiday with rubbish company!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adb_mrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2010

This is our third time at the Hotel. Five Star it is not, we found what we paid for a week was great value for money. Rooms : we had a sea view this year which was excellent we also stayed at the back we had no problems with this. Food was ok I would like to see a bit more choice on the menu the staff were great and we were served very quickly . I would have no hesitation coming back to this Hotel. Make your own mind up.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandie45041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2010

The Shanklin Beach hotel is a great location on the seafront. Our room was at the back of the hotel the window was on a slightly lower level than the car park it faced The bedroom had three single beds with very old bedspreads there was a large bathroom (no shower). The Decor was dated but the room was clean.
Breakfast was at 8.30 egg bacon sausage and beans could have been warmer, Toast was cold and only one sachet of marmalad. Evening dinner at 6.30 soup, dinner of meat and veg, meals basic but OK if you dont mind not having much choice and again the veg need to be warm. I enjoyed my stay but would not recommend hotel as needs some improvements. With the right attention to bring it up to date and improve on the meals this could be a very good hotel

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank topseyr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
2.0 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#9 of 29 in Sandown
316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shanklin Hotel
Shanklin Hotel
#22 of 52 in Shanklin
381 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#5 of 52 in Shanklin
386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Medehamstede Hotel
Medehamstede Hotel
#30 of 52 in Shanklin
294 reviews
7.1 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanklin Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanklin Beach Hotel

Property: Shanklin Beach Hotel
Address: The Esplanade, Shanklin PO37 6BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shanklin Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Earlier this year The Shanklin Beach Hotel underwent a massive refurbishment program. With modernised rooms, new electrics, new steakhouse, computerised reservation system, as well new decking on our Sea View balcony rooms. Thank you for all your comments and patience whilst this transition from old to new has been going on. And we look forward to your continued support. We are located within 30 metres from the water and beautiful sandy beach. Close to the gaming arcade, shops and children's theme park. Best wishes, management and staff at The Shanklin Beach Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Shanklin Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanklin Beach Hotel Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing