We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Place To Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Appley Hotel

Appley Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shanklin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Appley Hotel
Ranked #27 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Place To Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

What a lovely place, very welcoming and friendly hotel. Beautiful room, fantastic food. Rod and Wendy lovely company in the bar after a hard slog on the beautiful beach a few minutes walk away.We have stopped in several places on the island in the past but the Appley is by far the best. We dont need to look elsewhere from now on. The Appley everytime for us, infact we are thinking of having two holidays a year from now on!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    2
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

Just got back from our visit to the Appley Hotel.
It was our first stay with them and Rod & Wendy were very friendly and helpful.
We had the first floor front bedroom which was decorated beautifully. Meals were lovely and well presented. with a choice of two meals or a wide selection of salads. Several guests were regulars, we could see why and will go to them again if we holiday in Shanklin in the future.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanandRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

What a fantastic place to stay, meals where very good and cooked to perfection. Rooms where spotless and cleaned every day and placed with fresh towels and Rhodd and Wendy are two of the nicest people you will ever meet dont just take my word for it "Go and see for yourself and you wont be dissapointed"

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

We have been visiting the Island for the past 30 years and have stayed in various hotels in Shanklin. The best yet is the Appley where you are always guaranteed and warm welcome from Rod, Wendy and Errin. It is just like coming home. Nothing is too much trouble, you only have to ask. My father who is 82yrs likes to have an extra pillow, sureenough Wendy never forgets and makes sure that the extra pillow is there on arrival.My daughter and family have been several times with their children. The children love it and love to stay with Rod and Wendy. Many's the time they have cried because they have to go home when the holiday has come to an end.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barrystones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

From start to finish a most enjoyable holiday.Having stayed at the Appley many times i felt it only right to pass on to others just how lovely and accomidating Rod,Wendy and Errin are.After a long journey Wendy kindly made us all a lovely warm drink.They are always welcoming to our children [10 yrs and 8 yrs] Infact both kids did not want to leave! Food is always lovely with good choices.Rooms very clean and well maintained, There is also a good selection of drinks in the bar area.With a happy barman with an odd joke or too to tell!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neve003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Having stayed at the Appley Hotel Queens Road, Shanklin Isle of Wight for several years
running, I thought i should give a review to give other people who are in doubt where to stay.
the owners Wendy & Rod never change always a warm and friendly welcome with a cup of tea/coffee after our long journey
The rooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable,which is a must for us to stay there towels lovely and soft toiletries provided in case you forget something, T.V. and complementary tray so you can have a drink and biscuit when you like
You are given your own front door key so ytou can come and go when you want
We look forward to breakfast as we enjoy the banter with Rod & Wendy plus you get an
excellent choice , fruit juice cereal, and after a choice of cooked breakfast eggs on toast
beans, full english or fish. My husband could not decide between full english or kippers
thinking what he would have room for choose two lovely big kippers with bread and butter, then if you can find room as much toast as you like with plenty of tea/coffee to set
you up for a busy day.
we have made friends with some of the regulars who like us return year after year having been very satisfied with the service and value for money would highly recommend
Paul & Angela wood.

Room Tip: all rooms are good and it is never noisy there
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank woods92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton , Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed here during the isle of Wight Festival weekend with friends who had recommended it from a previous stay.. All i can say is that Rod and Wendy were friendly and welcoming from the time we arrived until we left. Rod is a mind of information about the festival and bands in general! The rooms were well furnished and although it was one of the smaller rooms , it was more than adequate and we had a comfortable nights sleep, Little extras like sachets of hot chocolate and biscuits were welcome when we arrived back after a cold evening at the festival! We had no complaints about the breakfast neither did the other 4 or 5 couples in the breakfast room !
On the last very wet day , there was no pressure to vacate our rooms in fact Wendy told us to stay as long as we wanted rather than wander around in the rain!.
We would definitely go back if we were planning to go the Isle of Wight.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Knellera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.0 mi away
Palmerston Grange
Palmerston Grange
#26 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Chestnuts Private Hotel
The Chestnuts Private Hotel
#24 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
#11 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Brunswick Hotel
Brunswick Hotel
#12 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appley Hotel

Property: Appley Hotel
Address: 13 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Shanklin
#8 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#15 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Hotel Class:4 star — Appley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Bed and Breakfast accommodation is ideally situated in one of the finest positions in central Shanklin on the Isle of Wight. A traditional family run 4 star guest accommodation, offering a warm friendly relaxing atmosphere with a high standard of personal attention that can only be achieved by an establishment of our size. Resident proprietors Rod and Wendy Folds take great pride in offering all their guests a warm and friendly welcome to The Appley, Shanklin and to make your holiday enjoyable and one that you will wish to repeat! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Appley Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing