We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Knock Down and start again”
Review of Curraghmore Hotel

Curraghmore Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Curraghmore Hotel
Ranked #46 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Knock Down and start again”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We were looking for a hotel in Shanklin with a good location, and came across this one with great reviews and pictures. However, even though the host was exceptionally friendly and polite, I can only suggest he stops asking friends and family to continue writing these reviews. Because this was the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. The hotel is very very dated and nothing like its pictures at all. Our room was very dirty with damp and mould in several places. The bathroom had a crack in the soil pipe, and black mould present around the shower. The bathroom was also fitted with carpet which was filthy. The bed was so uncomfortable with springs sticking out and hard pillows that we ended sleeping on the floor. The ceiling above the bed had clearly been water damaged from the room above, but has been so badly repaired. During our stay, the cleaners did not once change the bed or replace the towels. Even the coffee/tea cups were only "rinsed" under the cold tap with her bare hands! Even Dick Turpin were a mask! We paid well over the odds for this hotel and felt let down. Needless to say, next time we wont looking at Tripadviser for advise.!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kaye85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernard L, Owner at Curraghmore Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thank you for your review. We are dissapointed that your stay with us was such a poor experience , however may I comment on one or two items, we do not ask friends and family to put reviews on tripadviser and as you can see we have a mixed bag of good, bad and indiferrent , your comment that the cups were rinsed by hand is a concern as we provide eraser sponges and will speak to the chambermaids I trust this was witnessed by yourself. The room you stayed in has been in constant use throughout August and no other guests have made any complaints about the bed however I do not understand why did you not mention this when you were here so that we could change the mattress and avoid you sleeping on the floor ,we ask that towels are placed in the shower so our chambermaids know to replace them , all bed linen is changed weekly unless we are asked to change it more often again I assume you did not ask.Your comment that the room was very dirty also gives me reason for concern , we all strive to have a high standard of cleanliness at the Curraghmore but on this ocasion we obviously did not meet our goal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    12
    2
    1
    11
See reviews for
16
18
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Stayed here while attending the Isle of Wight Festival.
The owners are incredibly friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. Breakfast was lovely and served in good time.
Our room was clean and comfortable. Just lacks in plug sockets but I think that is more the age of the building.
It was good value and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Saintstatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay this weekend with my 3yr old son. Bernie is an exceptional host, very welcoming and becomes your friend pretty much as soon as you walk through the door! Our room was clean and spacious, freshly decorated and with a nice sea view. The location of the hotel is fantastic and only a couple of minutes walk to the seafront where there are great places to eat, a lovely beach and plenty to keep kids amused.

The only reason I havent given 5 stars is because of our bathroom. Whilst the main room was great, the ensuite was in need of updating and the shower water presure was poor, but useable.

However, as a 2 star hotel I think the Curraghmore offers exceptional value for money and a great welcoming atmosphere. Bernie treats everyone like an old friend and nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilAEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Well back again always welcomed hit ever time of year we arrive ,always accomandte ground floor room as husband has problems with legs ,even though there is a stair lift which he refuses to use Fab food always caters s I'm the fussy eater nothing too much trouble .Plenty of food , Room clean

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Returned for yet another holiday at the Curraghmore Hotel, Food good and pleantyful, rooms verry clean and tidy, the Entertainment was also very good, with Lorraine the singer from Shanklin. Nothing to much trouble for Bernie & Lesley. My mum who only eats light meals was accommodated very well.

Will go again soon!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meyrick-veiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolverhampton
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

This proved to be an excellent hotel,. Great location close to the beach and only a short walk to to the part Rocky was allowed on.Bernie and Lesley very friendly,nothing too much trouble great sea view and dog made welcome. Recommend and we will return.

Room Tip: Worth having a sea view and watching the ships go by
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pat h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Stayed at The Curraghmore hotel for two nighs had a lovely warm welcome from Berni & Lesley. Very spacious room, lovely hot shower. View was outstanding. Breakfast was very nice and plentiful. Nothing was to much trouble. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. Will be returning in May.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.7 mi away
Somerton Lodge Hotel
Somerton Lodge Hotel
#23 of 52 in Shanklin
112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cliff Hall Hotel
Cliff Hall Hotel
#16 of 52 in Shanklin
133 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
#10 of 52 in Shanklin
183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
322 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Curraghmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curraghmore Hotel

Property: Curraghmore Hotel
Address: 22 Hope Road, Shanklin PO37 6EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Curraghmore Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Curraghmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Curraghmore Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing