We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“See you soon!”
Review of Hambledon Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shanklin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hambledon Hotel
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We have stayed at the Hambledon quite a few times and everytime we have had a wonderful stay. Bill and Jackie cater for our every needs and with a young son that really counts. Meals are always amazing and the rooms are perfect. We have and would continue to recommend the Hambledon to anyone. (We love the dong/bell, if fact we rely on it).

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marieCrewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2011

We loved every minute from the welcome cupof tea/coffee till bill dropping us at the station for our return trip.The food that jackie cooks is excellent with so many choices,so everyone should find something they like.Our bedroom wasbright and airy with a seaview and the bed was very comfortable.Best sleep ive had in ages.everything about this hotel is for the guests and bill and jackie really look after you,the garden is beautiful with a nice stocked pond and decking area to relax in.Our host in the evening (Bill) in his well stocked bar kept us amused with his stories, tricks and the occassional bad joke.All in all this holiday was brill!!!! We will book again.

Room Tip: room 1 has a seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steverich1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

just come back from a long weekend in the isle of wight at the hambledon and once again had a lovely time. Jackie and Bill were once again perfect hosts. Everything we experienced on our last visit, great food, great hospitality , lovely rooms etc, we had again. Honestly cannot fault the place. Just read the Fawlty towers review and find it hard to believe that they are talking about the Hambledon. I have been to many small hotels and you would have to go a long way to beat the Hambledon. Most small hotels in my experience have set dinner and breakfast times it is ridiculous to expect a small hotel to accommodate much flexibility in eating times. Also on my visits I have never once heard a gong. As for the hotel being run for their own family I always feel that when i'm there the hotel is run for me and my family.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robinsoncrgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

I am writing this for my friends who stayed at the Hambledon in July whilst vistitng me and my family, they felt compelled to write a review after reading the negative comments from an earlier reviewer but don't have a computer!! Firstly the welcome that you recieve from Jackie and Bill is lovely, you are made to feel at home straight away. The room we had was spacious and spotlessly clean with everything that you could want in it. The food that Jackie cooks is all homemade and is always delicious. The 'gong' as someone wrote earlier does go at breakfast and dinner time but is simply to tell you that breakfast/dinner is ready to be served. You don't have to go in immediately it goes as indicated! It is a family run hotel and a very well run one at that. While my friends were there the owners daughter celebrated her 18th Birthday and they were all bought drinks in the bar/lounge to celebrate it, a very nice touch which you wouldn't find in a larger, less personal hotel. My friends wouldn't hesitate in recommending this wonderful hotel and will be back to stay next time they are over visiting us. As for the person who said 'never again' if I was Jackie and Bill I would be very glad about that by the sound of their review!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Have stayed at the hambledon every year since 2006 and have booked again for 2012.
A superb hotel with excellent food and service in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere.
Hosts bill and jackie havealways made us very welcome and nothing seems to be too much trouble

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank camberleycampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Stayed for one week July 2011, excellent value, hosts very welcoming, hotel bright and wonderfully clean, bed like sleeping at home, food varied and excellent. We loved THe hambledon and will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank himorher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Reminicent of the 1960's complete with meal time gong/bell! No flexibility for meals eg. Breakfast you will eat at 8.30am when the gong/bell sounds and 6.30pm you will eat your evening meal, again when summonsed by the gong/bell. It is advertised as a family run hotel and yes it is run for the benefit of the family not the paying guests.
Good for people who do not want variation in their lives.
Never again!! , we will keep to the professionally run hotels where paying guests are treated as such.

Room Tip: Very small bedroom with dated decor but clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Warwickshirewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HambledonHotel, Owner at Hambledon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2011

I am really surprised with these comments. At no time during their stay did they make reference or show any displeasure at the way we run our hotel. The guest in question was well aware before they booked with us that we are a small family run hotel. We run the hotel for the benefit of our guest, many of whom return to us year after year and are more than happy the way we run our hotel, as other comments prove. We pride ourselves on the service that we give our guest and the fact that a very large proportion of guests are returns or recommendations. Regarding meal times, we make our guest aware on arrival that meal times are from 8.30am to 9.00am for breakfast and from 6.30pm to 7.00pm for dinner. Just in case they forget, it is then repeated in the room book that is left in all guest rooms. As for the gong/bell at meal times, this is a bit of light hearted fun that most if not all, of our guest join in with. The gong/bell is to let our guest know that breakfast/ dinner has started. It is not a command or summons as the guest in question thinks. I am sorry that the fore-mentioned guest did not enjoy their stay with us and the way we run our very successful hotel was not to their liking and hope that in future they find somewhere to stay that provides them with the variation and professionalism that they both crave for. As for ‘’Fawlty Towers’’ I thought that they could have been a bit more original! Going on our previous reviews, I think there review says more about the fore-mentioned guest than it does of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.1 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
344 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rowborough Hotel
Rowborough Hotel
#1 of 51 in Shanklin
231 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#4 of 51 in Shanklin
494 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
420 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hambledon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hambledon Hotel

Address: 11 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#2 Best Value Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: £32 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hambledon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bill, Jackie and family extend a warm welcome to all those staying at the Hambledon Hotel, Shanklin. Our aim is to provide friendly attentive service, comfortable well appointed accommodation and an excellent standard of food and drink. We are open for holidays & short breaks for the whole family, and children of any age are welcome. The Hambledon Hotel, situated in Shanklin, on the picturesque Isle of Wight, is only yards away from the famous cliff path, which offers beautiful walks to both Ventnor and Sandown along the cliff tops. From here, there is also access to the safe and sandy Shanklin beaches below, via lift or path. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hambledon Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing