We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent value for money,”
Review of Hambledon Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shanklin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hambledon Hotel
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent value for money,”
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Just got back from a short break at the Hambledon. We had a lovely time and def plan to go back next year, The room was very clean. The food was excellent and nothing was too much trouble for Bill. A very warm and welcoming place to stay. Great value for money.
Kim A

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    18
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
104
120
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We have just returned from our stay in The Hambledon Hotel and my family and I loved every second of it. As soon as our car pulled into the car park we could tell that the hotel was well kept and clean. The atmosphere was always a happy one and the food was impecable! I especially reccomend the Chicken Curry! The comfort of the room was lovely and we all had a very peaceful nights sleep. We will definitley be booking for next year. Thanks you so much Jackie and Bill for making our stay a happy one!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 6 which was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Louie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We arrived at the Hambledon Hotel as part of the international scooter weekend. We were met by the owner Bill who was extremely welcoming and showed us around the hotel to our rooms and nothing was too much for him. Running the hotel with his partner Jackie all i can say that the hotel was immaculately tidy, the rooms are warm and welcoming complete with towels, little welcome packs of goodies etc. The dining was brilliant with lashings of food served for breakfast, fresh juices, fruit, cereals, kippers, full english, vegatarian, you name it they will serve it for you. The hotel has a lovely bar area with an awesome beer on tap, warsteinner... there is a wealth of drinks to choose from a well stocked bar at very reasonable prices. The lounge area is beautifully tidy, leather suites, books to read whilst chilling out but most importantly the location is perfect for old shanklin village, shanklin town centre or the beach, yet its location is not noisy. The only noise you might hear is the seagulls so you know you are near the beach. For those of you who dont walk to easy or need to travel far, the beach lift is just around the corner, the town is just around the corner, and old shanklin with its nice pubs such as The Crab are also around the corner. THis hotel obviously has its appeal as families constantly return to the hotel, the young and the more senior were evident chatting away in the evening to bill and jackie as old friends. And thats how they make you feel, welcome as friends. Nothing was too much for them, they were helpful, gave travel advice and i will certainly return next year for the IOW scooter rally. Lovely stay, cannot fault it and give it five out of five, if i could give more i would give ten. Malc and Dom the scooterists from Bognor Regis.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank malcolm f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HambledonHotel, Owner at Hambledon Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2011
Thanks lads.
We really appreciate your comments and pleased you both enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you both next year, if not sooner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

The Hambledon Hotel is a very warm and friend family run hotel, where nothing is to much trouble.
We had a family room where both the children and ourselves had en-suite. The rooms were excellent, extremely clean, with TV's a DVD player and tea and coffee making facilities.
At breakfast, there is the option to choose pretty much what you would like from cereals, through to fish options to a full english, exactly what we needed to start our day. The Hambledon Hotel also gives you the option of having evening meals which I have to say are excellent.
Of an evening after going for a walk round Shanklin we alway come back to the hotel for a drink in the bar with others from the hotel giving us a nice relaxing end to each day.
This was our main family holiday so we spent 2 weeks at the Hambledon. We were so impressed with the level of hospitality and quality of this hotel we have already booked up for next years holiday.
For anyone thinking of visiting the Isle of Wight I fully recommend this hotel for it location in Shanklin and it warm and friend atmosphere, a credit to Bill and Jackie.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Just spent a week half board at The Hambledon. The room was well prepared, comfortable and clean, the food was of the highest standard and the staff were all very pleasant and efficient. We were made very welcome and will be back again next year.

Room Tip: Have stayed in a number of rooms and they are all excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Yet again another fantastic holiday made even better by our stay at "The Hambledon Hotel". Bill and Jackie are so accomodating, warm and friendly, they make there hotel feel like an extension of your own home! We travel as a family with two youngs boys (one of which is disabled)who love this hotel. Bill and Jackie can't do enough for you and make you feel so welcome. Our boys especially like ringing the bell and feeding Bills Koi Carp!

Jackie's food is absolutely fantastic with a big selection and nice variations day by day.

We are part of a group of families who have revisited this hotel for the same week over the last few years and our stay each time has been perfect in every way. Looking forward to 2012 visit already!!!!!!!!

May i suggest Re Fauly Towers review that you need therapy! The family rooms are nice and roomy, spotless and we have now stayed in 3 different rooms that were all decorated nicely! May I suggest that if these were not to his/her satisfaction that they try the newly refurbished public conveniences on the esplanade as they are newly decorated, light and airy and you will always have that sea view on tap and its far enough away not to hear Bill & Jackies BELL!!!!!!

Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Garry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We read the negative review and didn't recognise it as the hotel we had just stayed in. It was our 11th visit to Shanklin, at various hotels in the Queen's Road and with Bill and Jackie we have found a winner. Nothing was too much trouble for them, everything was spotless and the food was brilliant-there was always a fruit salad available as an option for dessert for the fussy eaters (Me) and a good choice for each course at breakfast and dinner. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pgeree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 52 in Shanklin
447 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#8 of 52 in Shanklin
316 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
825 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hambledon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hambledon Hotel

Property: Hambledon Hotel
Address: 11 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#1 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#2 Best Value Hotel in Shanklin
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hambledon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bill, Jackie and family extend a warm welcome to all those staying at the Hambledon Hotel, Shanklin. Our aim is to provide friendly attentive service, comfortable well appointed accommodation and an excellent standard of food and drink. We are open for holidays & short breaks for the whole family, and children of any age are welcome. The Hambledon Hotel, situated in Shanklin, on the picturesque Isle of Wight, is only yards away from the famous cliff path, which offers beautiful walks to both Ventnor and Sandown along the cliff tops. From here, there is also access to the safe and sandy Shanklin beaches below, via lift or path. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hambledon Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing