We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hambledon Hotel Part 2” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hambledon Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shanklin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hambledon Hotel
Ranked #6 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hambledon Hotel Part 2”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

Once again our walking group, U3A Dunstable Branch, stayed at Bill & Jackie's lovely Hotel in Shanklin.
The food as before was excellent, good beer & lager, the rooms are really clean & fresh, the staff very helpful.
Bill sorted out a couple of walks for us to do - I think he was trying to get rid of us on one of them !!.
Would I stay there again, most definitely.

Thanks B & J & Staff for helping to make our week.

Martin

Room Tip: If you are a walker or not, you will be looked after very well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank linedancer111_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HambledonHotel, Owner at Hambledon Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
Thank you for visiting us again, glad you all had a good time and hope that you did'nt get ''that lost''. Look forward to seeing you all in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    18
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
100
115
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a short break on the Island, staying at the Hambledon. We can only agree with all the previous correspondents and say that this is an excellent hotel. It is clean and comfortable with very good food. Bill and Jackie are hosts "par excellence". We enjoyed our stay and would certainly book again if we visit the Island.

Clive and Diane.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

This was my third stay with Bill and JACKIE at their lovely hotel. They specialise in walking parties and organise everything for us from arranging walks and leaders to ordering our lunches at the pub midday . I,m sure their attention to detail would be just as good for individual people. The rooms are comfortable , the food is excellent. I would thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: I didn't mean to give a terrible rating for pool and fitness centre as their are none here but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margaret b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

This hotel is the best kept secret on the Isle of White. Nothing we can say more than it was exceptional to find such an excellent hotel in every way. From the moment of booking to our leaving was one exceptional experience. Everything from the hotel booking the car ferry for us. Initial welcome from Mr &Mrs Grindley (Bill & Jackie) Room, meals, bar all excellent, Bill very helpful with advice on the Island etc. The only problem is that they get so much repeat business they are nearly booked fully for most of 2013. However I am sure a telephone call to them would suffice to advise if they have any vacancies. We do not usually give such praise but the Hambledon really does deserve this accolade
This visit was part of our Golden Wedding Anniversary celebrations and was well worth the visit.
Location of the Hambledon is perfect for the Town, Old Shanklin Village and Shanklin Chine and Chine lift. It is on a near level site this should be ok for residents with mobility issues .

Room Tip: We had Room 3, it was a family room, location fist floor on a corner postion over loking Queens roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anthony t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

we have just had a lovely two weeks holiday at shanklin, staying at the hambleton hotel,bill, & jackie couldn't do enough for us and made us feel so welcome and they were the perfect hosts,making our first trip to the island memorable, so much that we have booked to return to their hotel again next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Our second visit to the hotel. Excellent room, food and hosts. Cannot fault it in any way.Bill and Jackie are the perfect hosts. Don't want to make it sound too good or it may be full the next time we want a room! Peter & Rita

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pgeree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west sussex
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

Very nice hotel situated within walking distance of town centre and Shanklin old village, and very near cliff lift down to sea front. Hotel is run by very friendly staff, food was excellent. Room was very clean and tidy, bed was comfortable. Overall a very pleasant stay , and the weather was excellent too.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pompeypete1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
2.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#5 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#7 of 54 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hambledon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hambledon Hotel

Property: Hambledon Hotel
Address: 11 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#3 Best Value Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hambledon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bill, Jackie and family extend a warm welcome to all those staying at the Hambledon Hotel, Shanklin. Our aim is to provide friendly attentive service, comfortable well appointed accommodation and an excellent standard of food and drink. We are open for holidays & short breaks for the whole family, and children of any age are welcome. The Hambledon Hotel, situated in Shanklin, on the picturesque Isle of Wight, is only yards away from the famous cliff path, which offers beautiful walks to both Ventnor and Sandown along the cliff tops. From here, there is also access to the safe and sandy Shanklin beaches below, via lift or path. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hambledon Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing