We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A five star holiday week!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hambledon Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shanklin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hambledon Hotel
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A five star holiday week!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

My wife and I have been to the Hambledon Hotel again this year - and we are pleased to confirm that this Hotel still offers number one value for money.
We always book half-board as B&B's are not for us - we prefer to eat each evening in the Hotel's excellent restaurant with a nice bottle from the wine list. The HB menu choice is varied, tasty and tremendous value we feel.
Bill & Jackie's business philosophy is very customer focused, they make us feel like valued customers each year. The Hambledon has a warm homely feeling - as soon as we walk through the door the atmosphere is one of 'welcome'. The bar and lounge are comfortable and a great place in the evening to make new friends. Our bedroom was bright, airy and newly decorated with a large very comfortable bed. All in all we had another fantastic week at the Hambledon Hotel - certainly our number one. Top Tip - book early as just like us a high percentage of Bill & Jackie's customers will be back there next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GSAman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HambledonHotel, Owner at Hambledon Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Hi Adrian & Anne-Marie. Its always a pleasure to see you both and look forward to seeing you both again soon. Good luck Adrian with the Koi pond !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    18
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
102
117
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We had a 3 day break on a half board option and the hotel booked our ferry tickets for us. Bill and Jackie made us very welcome. Our room was excellent and we felt home from home. The meals were of the highest quality and we looked forward to checking out the menu every morning. The hotel is used a lot by ramblers and between them Bill and jackie we were given lots of advice on places to visit and directions.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j_robb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

I wrote a review a while ago for some friends who said the Hambledon was a fantastic place to stay. As we only wanted a few days away close to home we decided to try it out for ourselves. We were certainly not disappointed! What a wonderful hotel! From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome by Jackie and Bill. The room was bright and airy and the home cooked food was lovely- esp the steak pie!! The trip advisor award that the hotel has been given is very much deserved and in our opinion this is the No1 hotel in Shanklin! Would highly recommend anyone to stay here, you will not be looked after any better anywhere!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blitzy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

Just back from a fantastic week at the Hambledon. Bill and Jackie know how to run a proper hotel. The food is excellent with great breakfasts and superb evening meals. The rooms are of the highest standard of cleanliness and all staff are always polite and helpful. The hotel has a car park and there is a bus stop at the front of the hotel. Easy access to all attractions that Shanklin has to offer. Will be booking again for next year as great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akitasruleok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Hambledon hotel is a great place. As a Swedish couple You don’t go to England to eat good food and enjoy the beautiful weather. My idea of the weather persists while my husband and I have re-evaluated our position about the English food, because we got fantastic food at the Hambledon Hotel; every day for a whole week - deliciously good food - food with great variety and beautifully served in a cute little dining room (we had half board) - starter, main course, dessert, cheese and coffee - every day. The breakfast was tasty and a lot (they had an egg knocker we haven’t seen before).
The hotel is nice, clean, idyllic and everything is vell arranged. If we needed any help was Bill and Jackie or the staff there helping us. Everyone was very polite, said god morning, good afternoon and good evening and they said “Thank You” all the time. All the kindness made us happy – a friendly place.
Only Englishmen lived in Hambledon hotel, which gave us a great opportunity to speak English during the stay. We return to Sweden with a richer vocabulary.
Hambledon hotel is situated in the town Shanklin which is a place for recreation, harmony and walking. It is easy to travel around the Isle of Wight by bus even if the roads sometimes are narrow and bumpy - an adventure.
At last – excellent value for money
Kind regards
Eva and Olle from Sweden

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jona777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Wonderful welcome when we arrived... Lovely very clean bright rooms with everything we needed hospitality was very welcoming stayed three nights breakfast was wonderfully cooked and a a great choice for evening meals and lovely choice of desserts which was changed everyday for a fantastic variety all in all a great place to stay near to the beach lovely views of the sea would recommend the Hambledon hotel to everybody I know have rebooked already for next year already can't wait to go back!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jojodady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Returned for another short break at the Hambledon and pleased to say everything is still excellent. The food was very well prepared and tasted delicious, the cleanliness of the rooms could not be faulted and the hosts, Jackie & Bill were their usual lovely selves who helped to make our stay as efficient and comfortable as possible. Can't wait for next time, thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
2.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#1 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#7 of 54 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hambledon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hambledon Hotel

Property: Hambledon Hotel
Address: 11 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#3 Best Value Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hambledon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bill, Jackie and family extend a warm welcome to all those staying at the Hambledon Hotel, Shanklin. Our aim is to provide friendly attentive service, comfortable well appointed accommodation and an excellent standard of food and drink. We are open for holidays & short breaks for the whole family, and children of any age are welcome. The Hambledon Hotel, situated in Shanklin, on the picturesque Isle of Wight, is only yards away from the famous cliff path, which offers beautiful walks to both Ventnor and Sandown along the cliff tops. From here, there is also access to the safe and sandy Shanklin beaches below, via lift or path. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hambledon Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing