We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent.....and yes we booked again”
Review of Hambledon Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shanklin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hambledon Hotel
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent.....and yes we booked again”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

So where do I start, another excellent holiday at the Hambledon. Bill and Jackie make you feel at home from the minute you arrive to the minute you leave. This year we opted for Half Board, so our days started with an excellent breakfast, and then at tea time continued with and fantastic home cooked 4 course meal, followed by tea and coffee in the lounge after.
The rooms were very clean and newly decorated making them bright and welcoming.
The Hambledon is a licensed hotel which allows us to relax in the bar / lounge with the other hotel guests at the end of the day for a few drinks.
Like before, we enjoyed ourselves so much we have already booked up for next year. Really can't wait, Perfect.

Room Tip: All the rooms at the Hambledon are lovely and clean. However, if you are a family of 3 or 4 I can hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    18
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
106
121
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Yet again another excellent stay at this lovely hotel. Friendly staff, really good cooking, clean rooms, just very good value for money. Standards always maintained or improved year-to-year. Brilliant!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester,
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I have to admit--I am torn. If I extol the many virtues as highly as I should , Sue and I may never manage to fight our way through the flood of other bookings! Bill, Jackie and the girls-- We had a great little break . A lovely clean,bright room, excellent breakfasts to keep us going through the day, superb dinners to look forward to and your friendliness. Roll on next year and, if you can fit us in, our second visit! Many thanks, Frank.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank featured
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Once again, we have returned from the Hambledon for the 9th year running.The hotel is sure to provide a warm family welcome. With the choice of Half Board or Bed and Breakfast, what more could you ask for? All rooms are very clean with everything you need. Food cannot be faulted as there is a wide range to choose from including children's menu. The Yorkshire puddings are out of this world. The Hambledon is situated just a short walk from the town, beach and old village which are all recommending to visit. Every year we meet up with friends that we have met up with over the years and have booked again for 2014. The Hambledon Hotel is definitely one not to scroll past as you will have a very enjoyable and comfortable stay in the Isle of Wight.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staplehurst, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Just returned home after ten days at the Hambledon. We discovered this wonderful hotel in 2008 and have returned every year. Where to start? Lovely clean and well equipped rooms, fantastic food with lots of choice - quote from the husband "best steak pie on the planet"! The staff are always friendly and happy to help. Bill &Jackie (owners) are very accommodating and work very hard to make your stay a happy one. The hotel is situated just above the beach and a short walk from the Chine and Old Village so add the location into the equation and what more do you need? We're looking forward to returning again next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HambledonHotel, Owner at Hambledon Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Hi All. Glad you all enjoyed another stay with us and thank you for being our 100th reviewer. It really makes a difference when people take the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2013

This was our 6th stay at the Hambledon and once again we had a fantastic time and can't fault the hotel in any way. Bill, Jackie and family couldn't make you feel more welcome, it really is like home from home. Set in a perfect location for the town and beach, the hotel is spotlessly clean and the food is fantastic with a good choice of dishes and a great childrens menu. Many guests return each year and we ourselves have already booked for 2014. You will not be dissapointed if you choose to stay at the Hambledon when you visit the Isle of Wight.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HambledonHotel, Owner at Hambledon Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Hi to all the Herrington's. Thank you for the lovely comments. Hope the boys have a great time in Disney.
See you all next year, if not sooner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

we just got bk from 4 days in this hotel and i have to say we were well impressed with this hotel
the owners bill and jackie were the friendliest people i have ever met .
upon arrival we were welcomed by bill with a warm handshake and a welcome cup of coffee he chatted to me and my husband about football for a good 20 mins (had my hubby sold there and then lol) he then showed us to our room another lovely suprise...very spacious and the room was spotless..very nice ensuite and loads of cupboard space
breakfast was great, offering a good choice of everything you could want ..i found the system of ordering what you wanted a bit quirky and it made me smile ...but however they have the routine down to a tee ,everyone arrives at the same time for breakfast and the way bill and jackie have it is perfect ,the food was piping hot and delicious and really sets u up for the day .
and they made the effort to speak to everyone at breakfast as well ,the staff are so friendly as well ,the hotel has its own bar and was very popular altho did not get chance to use it as our trip was short ,grt nights sleep tho ,very close to the front and the village and all in all i would deffo recomend you stay here ,we have been to isle of wight many times and i can say i will not be looking for anywhere else to stay again ...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steven89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.1 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#5 of 52 in Shanklin
322 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
455 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
836 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hambledon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hambledon Hotel

Property: Hambledon Hotel
Address: 11 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#1 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#2 Best Value Hotel in Shanklin
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hambledon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bill, Jackie and family extend a warm welcome to all those staying at the Hambledon Hotel, Shanklin. Our aim is to provide friendly attentive service, comfortable well appointed accommodation and an excellent standard of food and drink. We are open for holidays & short breaks for the whole family, and children of any age are welcome. The Hambledon Hotel, situated in Shanklin, on the picturesque Isle of Wight, is only yards away from the famous cliff path, which offers beautiful walks to both Ventnor and Sandown along the cliff tops. From here, there is also access to the safe and sandy Shanklin beaches below, via lift or path. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hambledon Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing