We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect getaway”
Review of Hambledon Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shanklin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hambledon Hotel
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Went for a four night break with the girlfriend. The hotel was very nice clean and was welcomed when entering by bill. He showed us to our room which was comfy and warm. Breakfast was very nice and loved how they catered for me as I'm quite fussy. All in all a very nice time in a very nice hotel would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clibbsy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    18
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
106
121
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
East Grinstead
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We are a small walking party and have just returned from another great holiday at The Hambledon. Excellent food, spotlessly clean and Jackie and Bill are great hosts.
Look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Lost count of the times we have stayed here over the last 5 years. Every stay is as enjoyable as the last. You couldn't ask for more from a hotel. I would recommend anyone visiting Shanklin to stay here. Thanks to Bill & Jackie for another wonderful stay. See you soon.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank marieCrewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Just spent 3 nights half board at The Hambledon. Could not fault it from the moment Bill met us with a very welcome cup of tea... Our room was comfortable, the hotel is very clean and the food is very good. Bill and Jackie are excellent hosts and we hope to return next time we visit the I.O.W.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ben and Gill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Had a four night stay Half Board. Could not fault it, very clean, friendly and helpful owners and pleasant staff. Had a sociable lounge and bar area for the evenings before and after dinner. My husband and I enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back another year. Also very reasonable tariff which also takes in the ferry.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vera B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Just spent a week at The Hambledon, 4th year running so we are novices compared to some. Can't fault it, the walking was excellent, especially the organised walks where we join another group and were led by Maggie, Jill and Bill - looking forward to next year in fact. Bill and Jackie were brilliant as always, food excellent - how I put on 3 lb with all that walking I don't know! Thoroughly recommend the hotel if you haven't been before.

Room Tip: All rooms good and comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suenandoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pulborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Family run first class food cleanliness and attention to detail
Friendly but efficient wonderful hosts - Bill & Jackie
Can't wait to come back
Convenient quiet location
IOW has some great Pub food and countryside to explore off the beaten track
This Hotel organises all kinds of activity - walking; clay shoot; hand gliding; biking;etc
Shanklin beach is excellent for kids and very clean
A pleasure to recommend such a value for money break

Room Tip: south side have morning and evening sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malcolm g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.1 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
322 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
455 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
836 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#5 of 52 in Shanklin
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hambledon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hambledon Hotel

Property: Hambledon Hotel
Address: 11 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#2 Best Value Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hambledon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bill, Jackie and family extend a warm welcome to all those staying at the Hambledon Hotel, Shanklin. Our aim is to provide friendly attentive service, comfortable well appointed accommodation and an excellent standard of food and drink. We are open for holidays & short breaks for the whole family, and children of any age are welcome. The Hambledon Hotel, situated in Shanklin, on the picturesque Isle of Wight, is only yards away from the famous cliff path, which offers beautiful walks to both Ventnor and Sandown along the cliff tops. From here, there is also access to the safe and sandy Shanklin beaches below, via lift or path. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hambledon Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing