We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our great visit to The Hambledon Hotel”
Review of Hambledon Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shanklin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hambledon Hotel
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Ledbury, Herefordshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Our great visit to The Hambledon Hotel”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We arrived on Monday 16 June 2014 and were greeted by Bill the owner. He welcomed us, made us comfortable in the lounge and made a cup of tea. We realised then we were going to enjoy our stay. The hotel is situated in a lovely area close to all amenities. A pleasant walk to shops, train station and the beach what more could you ask for. Jackie made sure we had lovely homemade food and plenty of it. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Waiting staff were friendly and extremely efficient. We would certainly recommend the hotel to family and friends and hope to return to Shanklin to see them again. Thank you Bill and Jackie.

Room Tip: You won't be disappointed with any room you are offered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandM51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    18
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
102
119
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We went to the friendly Hambledon on half board as being a hotel it looked better value than a guest house. The food was superb with lots of choice for breakfast. The evening meals were equally tasty and generous with different options available from menu each evening. There is also a great wine list and coffee is served in a comfortable lounge. All this with prompt and courteous service, and there you have it - tremendous value! The hotel has a friendly feel generated by the owners Bill and Jackie, all the guests chat with each over coffee or in the bar afterwards.
The rooms are spotless and you can judge the standard of this hotel on arrival with colourful hanging baskets and an immaculate garden full of flowers around the car park. There is also an amazing pond area. Care and attention to detail is evident everywhere which totally justifies this hotels top rating and previous reviews.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roders R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crawley, Sussex
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Small family hotel ideal for a quiet break. Situated between the old village Shanklin and beach so very east to walk everywhere, Very warm welcome by Bill and Jackie, lovely breakfast with lots of choice, very clean rooms everything you need.The ferry was booked along with the room which made it very easy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luluhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minster on sea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This small family run hotel is perfect for touring around the area.
Billy and Jackie are very welcoming and accommodating offering you a no fuss and down to earth experience.
Billy with his dry sense of humor makes sure your stay is provided with anything you may need.
Jackie offers you a very good choice for breakfast and the evening meal is varied on a daily basis.
The rooms are clean and very adequate for your needs
The backroom staff are very friendly and attentive
If you want to be looked after and made to feel special then this is the hotel for you.

You cannot go wrong

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely weekend break in IOW, made perfect by Bill & Jackie and their hospitality. I can see why this hotel is Number 1 in Shanklin. Rooms are bright and spacious and perfect for what we needed. Breakfast plentiful with a good choice to suit all tastes. Would definitely stay here if visiting again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Minkyminx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I booked a week at the Hambledon for our walking group of 13 members. The reception was excellent and although we did not book the associated walking packages which are available, Bill was very helpful in giving us guidance. The hotel is very comfortable and the food - most important to hungry walkers - is both appetising and plentiful. It is well sited for walks direct from the hotel, those accessed by public transport and also has adequate parking for those who bring their own vehicles. Bill provides good facilities for dealing with wet and muddy gear and I really cannot recommend the Hambledon too highly as an ideal base for a walking holiday on this beautiful island.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterC176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

A few days here have confirmed the impressions given by others. Our room was quite small but very clean and comfortable and the meals were all top quality. One of the best features is the friendliness of the host and hostess. Bill & Jackie make you really feel welcome, tea/coffee on arrival and a farewell hug. This hotel well merits the ratings it is getting.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
2.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#1 of 52 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#8 of 52 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hambledon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hambledon Hotel

Property: Hambledon Hotel
Address: 11 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#3 Best Value Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hambledon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bill, Jackie and family extend a warm welcome to all those staying at the Hambledon Hotel, Shanklin. Our aim is to provide friendly attentive service, comfortable well appointed accommodation and an excellent standard of food and drink. We are open for holidays & short breaks for the whole family, and children of any age are welcome. The Hambledon Hotel, situated in Shanklin, on the picturesque Isle of Wight, is only yards away from the famous cliff path, which offers beautiful walks to both Ventnor and Sandown along the cliff tops. From here, there is also access to the safe and sandy Shanklin beaches below, via lift or path. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hambledon Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing