We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay”
Review of The Hazelwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hazelwood
Ranked #34 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We had a warm welcome and a pleasant 3 day stay. Room clean and tidy. Breakfasts very good. Loved the homemade muffins and the smoked salmon special. Great location - near to the town, the railway station and the bus stops. Nice quiet road and although we didn't drive should be fine for parking. All rooms have TV and access to Wi-Fi which was not on the web site so it was nice to have. Many thanks Phil and Karl.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KEITHandDARREN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

We are not used to staying in traditional bed and breakfast places and so were just a little bit apprehensive about this booking BUT we had absolutely no need to be so. This is a gem of a place. The bed room was comfortable, spacious, and well provided with tea and coffee facilities. The shower room was just a bit small. TV facilities and reception good. A very nice residents' lounge is available and one of the owners has displayed his art throughout the place and that is interesting to view. Breakfast was really excellent. Cooked to order (and ordered the previous day), tasty, good quality and substantial. Parking outside is easy and the place is quiet. We would unhesitatingly return there.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank randn94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We stopped here for the w/end for our thirtieth anniversary. Arrived on friday midday to monday mid afternoon. We were met by Phil who made us feel very welcome. The breakfasts were very good. Full sized plates, not the normal small portions.
The room was adequate and comfortable for the w/end. The onsuite was small but manageable. All in all, it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank duncan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed at the Hazelwood the last week in August and had a terrific stay. We were made most welcome and the room was spotless and very comfortable. The breakfasts were very good and we particularly liked the opportunity to choose a breakfast special on one of the mornings (smoked salmon and scambled eggs -yum!). Larger people might find the ensuite a bit snug but we found it prefectly adequate. The Hazelwood is well postitioned and a short distance away is the coast path along which we walked to Shanklin beach one evening and to Sandown another evening. It is obvious that Phil and Karl take great pride in providing quality and value and we would certainly recommend the Hazelwood to anyone wanting to visit the Isle of Wight.

Room Tip: our room overlooked the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LesleyStewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

My partner and I stayed at The Hazelwood for 2 nights and were thrilled from beginning to end. We were made to feel at home from the moment we arrived, shown to our room which was very comfortable. Small ensuite with a very pleasant shower; totally acceptable. The breakfast order for the next morning is taken on arrival - a great idea to save pointless waste in the kitchen.
The B&B is on a very quiet road where we had no problem parking. Shanklin railway station is just a short walk away.
I would recommend The Hazelwood and would stay there again in a shot.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frazer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We have just returned from spending three nights at The Hazlewood, from the moment we arrived Phil made us feel most welcome.
The room was large with a small en suite but meets the requirements and the shower worked very well.
The breakfast were very good and set us up for the day.

Would we return ? Yes we would easy to get to by car or by train with the station just a five minute walk away and the bus is at the end of the road.

Room Tip: Rooms 2 and 3 look out over the well kept garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SwindonNigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Have just returned from a 2 day stay at the Hazelwood and would highly recommend it. We were met with a warm and friendly greeting which continued throughout our stay, Breakfast was lovely as was the wonderfully bright and cheerful breakfast room.Our bedroom was bright and highly decorative with lots of little extra touches which added to the enjoyment of our stay like the bowl of sweets at the front door. we had clean towels every day and a continuous supply of tea/coffee/milk in our rooms. this really is an exceptional b&b and would go back again and again .

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ange G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.6 mi away
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
#37 of 51 in Shanklin
55 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marlborough Hotel
Marlborough Hotel
#24 of 51 in Shanklin
166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rowborough Hotel
Rowborough Hotel
#1 of 51 in Shanklin
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Victoria Lodge Hotel
Victoria Lodge Hotel
#31 of 51 in Shanklin
82 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palmerston Grange
Palmerston Grange
#20 of 51 in Shanklin
56 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Chestnuts Private Hotel
The Chestnuts Private Hotel
#18 of 51 in Shanklin
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hazelwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hazelwood

Address: 14 Clarence Road, Shanklin PO37 7BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: £51 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hazelwood is a 7 bedroom Victorian detached guest house offering bed and breakfast accommodation.It is no smoking throughout.It is situated in a quiet, attractive road with free on-street parking. It is just a short walking distance from the beach, town centre, old village and a couple of minutes walk from Shanklin railway station It provides an excellent base to explore the Isle Of Wight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Hazelwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hazelwood Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing