We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
36
8
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
36
8
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stayed here isle of wight b and b tea and coffee ensuite tv island breakfast hosts
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We are not used to staying in traditional bed and breakfast places and so were just a little bit apprehensive about this booking BUT we had absolutely no need to be so. This is a gem of a place. The bed room was comfortable, spacious, and well provided with tea and coffee facilities. The shower room was just a bit small. TV facilities and reception good. A very nice residents' lounge is available and one of the owners has displayed his art throughout the place and that is interesting to view. Breakfast was really excellent. Cooked to order (and ordered the previous day), tasty, good quality and substantial. Parking outside is easy and the place is quiet. We would unhesitatingly return there.

Date of stay: July 2013
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank randn94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We stopped here for the w/end for our thirtieth anniversary. Arrived on friday midday to monday mid afternoon. We were met by Phil who made us feel very welcome. The breakfasts were very good. Full sized plates, not the normal small portions.
The room was adequate and comfortable for the w/end. The onsuite was small but manageable. All in all, it was a very pleasant stay.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank duncan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed at the Hazelwood the last week in August and had a terrific stay. We were made most welcome and the room was spotless and very comfortable. The breakfasts were very good and we particularly liked the opportunity to choose a breakfast special on one of the mornings (smoked salmon and scambled eggs -yum!). Larger people might find the ensuite a bit snug but we found it prefectly adequate. The Hazelwood is well postitioned and a short distance away is the coast path along which we walked to Shanklin beach one evening and to Sandown another evening. It is obvious that Phil and Karl take great pride in providing quality and value and we would certainly recommend the Hazelwood to anyone wanting to visit the Isle of Wight.

Room tip: our room overlooked the garden
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LesleyStewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

My partner and I stayed at The Hazelwood for 2 nights and were thrilled from beginning to end. We were made to feel at home from the moment we arrived, shown to our room which was very comfortable. Small ensuite with a very pleasant shower; totally acceptable. The breakfast order for the next morning is taken on arrival - a great idea to save pointless waste in the kitchen.
The B&B is on a very quiet road where we had no problem parking. Shanklin railway station is just a short walk away.
I would recommend The Hazelwood and would stay there again in a shot.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frazer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We have just returned from spending three nights at The Hazlewood, from the moment we arrived Phil made us feel most welcome.
The room was large with a small en suite but meets the requirements and the shower worked very well.
The breakfast were very good and set us up for the day.

Would we return ? Yes we would easy to get to by car or by train with the station just a five minute walk away and the bus is at the end of the road.

Room tip: Rooms 2 and 3 look out over the well kept garden
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SwindonNigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews