We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic time”
Review of The Miclaran

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Miclaran
Ranked #16 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We have just come back from a 2 night break and can say we had the most lovely time. The position of the property couldn't be better and the views from the room, fantastic. So nice to wake up to. The property is in easy reach of Sandown or Shanklin. The guest house is spotless and the hosts Alan and Sue very welcoming with also a very good breakfast. Pleasantly surprised at how much was open on the Island and this led to an enjoyable visit. Would recommend a trip soon if you can spare the time. And would certainly recommend staying at this guest house.

Room Tip: Nearly all rooms are sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynnai06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue I, Owner at The Miclaran, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for your kind review, we feel that we are very privileged to live in such a lovely place and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Miclaran for 6 nights in October. Arriving after travelling from Australia, we were greeted by the delightful owners Sue and Alan who couldn't be more helpful and cheery. We were given room 8 which had, as I was later to find most of the rooms have, spectacular views. Waking up to it every morning was really lovely.
Breakfast every morning was delicious and the hotel is perfectly situated between Shanklin and Sandown, only a short walk from either with the pier at Sandown and the old village at Shanklin. The train station is also only a very short walk away and on one day we caught this to Ryde and then got the hovercraft to Portsmouth. This was very convenient and I also saw you could get the train to London from here too - making it very accessible to anyone without a car.
Overall, we had the best time on the Isle of Wight and we both really loved the Miclaran. You really can't go wrong by staying here - we even managed a run or two along the coastal path before our jetlag kicked in :)
A real treat of a guesthouse. I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: If you're tall, request room 8 (my partner is 6ft4) and so Sue & Alan placed us in room 8 as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatieIzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We have just returned from 2 nights at the Miclaran. Having booked an 'autumn special', we were treated to a delicious cream tea on arrival. This was such a nice way to spend the rainy afternoon, and made us glad we had skipped lunch that day as we were very full afterwards! We were made to feel very welcome by Sue and Alan. Breakfasts, cooked to order, were delicious and filling. There was also the option for cereals, fruits, yoghurt & warm croissants. The view from our room was amazing. The bed was very comfortable, and there was no lack of lights or mirrors in the room.

Our only criticisms for the property are similar to what others have mentioned - the walls are very thin and we could hear conversations, tv, toilet flushing etc from the room next door. We also had little water pressure in the shower. If these could be improved, it will be 5 stars next time!

We would definitely recommend The Miclaran for couples visiting the IOW.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The Miclaran is situated on the cliff top between Shanklin and Sandown .. There is a tarmac cliff path connecting both. For anyone without transport, there is an excellent bus service connecting all parts of the island - wonderful if you are fortunate enough to have a freedom bus pass !

Our first impression was very favourable thanks to a genuinly warm welcome by Sue and Alan, the proprietors. For the next five days, that impression was reinforced thanks to a very comfortable room ( lovely bed ) and first rate breakfasts.

The IOW has much to offer especially if you like walking in the countryside. We would be very happy to return to the Miclaran.

John and Pat Allen

Room Tip: Room6 had a great view out to sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johna68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We have been very happy with our stay at this guest house.It was immaculately clean and the breakfasts were great. Alan and Sue were very helpfull and obliging during our stay and the rooms we stayed in had an excellent view of the sea, which we loved.If we visit The Isle of Wight again we would not hesitate to re-visit The Miclaran.
S. H. and R.B.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stella H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Spent two nights here from sat 31st aug to mon 2nd sept. We were impressed with our room with a stunning room of the sea and sandown pier (room 11 at the top)
Alan and Sue were most hospitable and really trying to make a go of things in their first year of
business. Having spent previous holidays in huge hotels and complexes you lose that personal
touch that you get in a guest house like this.
Really clean and fab location. If I had to have one small gripe it would be that the walls are pretty thin and could do with a bit of soundproofing. On the first night we could hear our next door neighbours conversation at midnight, followed by loud snoring, this is not a reflection on sue and alan though but with the building that they took on.
We didnt have a problem with selecting our breakfast the night before like some customers have mentioned. It stands to reason that Alan and Sue do not want to be potentially cooking too much food in a small guest house like this. Will recommend to friends and relatives and come again ourselves

Room Tip: Room 11 at the very top with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We first visited this lovely Guest House with our three chiildren over 25 years ago. Since then there have been two new owners.
Brian and Sue have only been in the property for three months.
We visited there from Tuesday 27 August until Friday 30 August 2013.
We have written in the Visitors' Book ...outstanding ....and would not want to retract from this comment in any way, shape or form.
If cleanliness is next to godliness then the Miclaran is a perfect example of this!
We were made very welcome from the moment we arrived until the moment we departed.
Breakfasts were lovely and we were continually asked if we would like more to either eat or drink.
Brian and Sue are excellent hosts.
The trouble they both went to to accommodate us in an excellent sea view room at such short notice was outstanding!

Value for money ............first rate!

Thankyou Brian and Sue. We will return no doubt about that!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nacacton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.0 mi away
The Royson GuestHouse
The Royson GuestHouse
#18 of 51 in Shanklin
133 reviews
1.0 mi away
Old Shanklin Guest House
Old Shanklin Guest House
#4 of 51 in Shanklin
384 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fawley
The Fawley
#15 of 51 in Shanklin
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Marlborough Hotel
Marlborough Hotel
#25 of 51 in Shanklin
166 reviews
1.1 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 51 in Shanklin
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Miclaran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Miclaran

Address: 37 Littlestairs Road, Shanklin PO37 6HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range: £45 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Miclaran 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just for adults, The Miclaran holds a superb cliff top location and enjoys stunning panoramic views over Sandown Bay to Culver Cliff. Steps nearby lead from the coastal path to Shanklin's beautiful sandy beaches below. Shanklin Espanade, Shanklin Chine, and the thatched Old Village are a 15-20 minute walk away. The guest lounge opens onto well kept gardens which overlook the sea. Bedrooms are cosy, comfortable and well presented all have en-suites with showers or shower over bath and are situated on the first and second floors. For your comfort rooms have flat screen TVs with free view, alarm clock radios, hospitality trays and hair dryers. There is a varied breakfast menu using quality ingredients, a vegetarian option is available, and we can cater for special dietary needs by prior arrangement. Free Wi Fi is available and there is free guest on site parking. We offer discounted car ferry inclusive deals and discounts to previous guests, please phone for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Miclaran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Miclaran Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing