We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“give it a miss”
Review of Queensmead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Queensmead Hotel
Ranked #13 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
staffordshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“give it a miss”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

yes thats right give it a MISS, ( i wish i had taken my camera ' ) yes we stayed there in july 2012, traveling with Parry's international coach holidays, my moan is both with Parrys and the Queensmead, first of all 2 long stops for an hour on the way down , ( not nessasary when ther's a toilet on the coach ), then the hotel , my oh my , talk about chintz, A large room i will give you that, but multi coloured to say the least, nothing matched lots of,pictures of cats on the bedroom walls ( scary ) ,now for the food, well yes you get a good breakfast, but after a couple days all you want is a small portion, but they dont do small portions, so theres sooooo much waste, and the evening meal is plentyfull ,YES the majority of it is home cooked, but when i queried my desert the waitress replied " sorry thats how they come ", ???? YES the owners are friendly, Yes theres a pool, YES the beds are comfy, but all the reception area rooms and bar have still got dusty christmas flowers in vases ( in august ) !!! if you do go there and chose to ignore my comments, take a good look around as you come down the stairs, talk about dust , Entertainment , well it was advertised most nights, but we only got 2/3. as for Parrys i expected a lot more from them ,we have been to many places with them over the years ,and this is the first time i have had to give a bad comment about their choice of hotels, come on Parrys you can do much better than this, your customers deserve more, a 7 day holiday was really a 5 day holiday as we got there late afternoon, and had to have our cases down for 7 am , yes 7 am ,we are supposed to be on holiday, for an 8 am departure , and we were back home having a cup of tea by 3pm ,also there was 1 day tour included in the cost of holiday £ 375 pp, we went to lots of places, ( for about 30mins ) we were on and off the coach all day, this tour could have been done over 2 days giving us more time to look around,,all the other trips were approx £20/£25 pp, was i a happy holiday maker , ??? SORRY NOT THIS TIME,,

Room Tip: we were on the 2nd floor, a large room, 21. with a double and single bed, with shower and bath, some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank beauhobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    20
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
39
72
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

When you arrive...Kim and Barry are here....always smiling...so friendly and waiting for you as if you coming back home ! I spend my holidays at the Queesmead Hotel since 1998. Never be disappointed ..never. Barry is a very good cook, Kim is ready to do everything to feel you like at home. Wendy is at the bar...joking and bubbling with you. And all the staff is fantastic.
The beach and the old town in Shanklin are at 5 minutes walk!!!
The rooms are sweet. In 14 years...I always had beautiful holidays and I look forward to coming back next year !!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pascale L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevenage
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

This is our 3rd visit to the isle of wight and the Queensmead hotel.So nice to see Kim & Barry.Always welcome you with a friendly smile,and nothing is too much trouble.As for the food,it is home cooked and delicious.(and lots of it )All staff very friendly and the rooms are so clean and tidy.Looking forward to our next visit
Jan & Alan Jackson (Mrs Elvis)

Room Tip: front rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We travelled with Parrys international to this hotel and I have never been so pleased with a hotel before. We were met by Barry the owner and what a smashing guy he is. He is both owner and chef and his food is nothing short of fantastic, I promise you will never be hungry after eating in this hotel restaurant. I good choice of menu and plenty of food. The hotel is lovely, it is very homely and friendly. The bar is well stocked and both the bar area and TV lounge are very clean and comfortable. The bedrooms are very comfortable and clean and we always had a good nights sleep.
All the other staff in the hotel are also very helpful and friendly and special thanks to Kim, Barrys wife who sorted us a lovely room out when she did the room allocations after we called to request a walk in shower in the room.
The hotel is in a very good position for the sea front, and both the old and new town of Shanklin.
As a final comment thanks to all at the Queensmead for making our stay there so enjoyable and if anyone wants to know ingnore the negative comments about this hotel, it is fantastic and so are the owners and all the staff working there!

Room Tip: We never heard any complain about any room, everyone thre was very happy with thre room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Such value for money. A lovely room, brilliant breakfast which set us up for the day, and friendly staff. We didn't have any evening meals because we were with friends staying nearby and we ate in the beach-front restaurants 10 minutes walk away via the Cliff Lift. However the dinners smelled delicious!! Only downer was that the hand basin was in the bedroom and not in the shower room but we worked round that. Entertainment in the bar too! Would return.

Room Tip: We had Room 1 - a large family room with plenty of room for a family of 4. Our friends in a hotel ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nanathetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

What friendly people. I arrived late they did some sandwiches. Nothing was too much trouble. I gave stayed here before and I'll be coming back for sure.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rbrownsle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

This family run hotel is really friendly. Great location, just a cliff lift ride to the beach and a short stroll to town.
The food is fantastic with a 3 course varied choice each evening. All the staff are friendly and helpful.
Some of the rooms and bathrooms could do with updating but all are clean and comfortable.
The swimming pool is lovely and warm with plenty of seating, so don't forget your bathers.
Although designed for the older cliental we (youngsters) really enjoyed our stay.
Would definately recommend *****

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Firsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.2 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
#11 of 52 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queensmead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queensmead Hotel

Property: Queensmead Hotel
Address: 12 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#10 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Queensmead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 261
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Queensmead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queensmead Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing