We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family break”
Review of Queensmead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Queensmead Hotel
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Could not fault the attention and service provided by the joint owners on arrival and during our stay. Spotlessly clean rooms and excellent food. Entertainment is was provided on three nights during our stay and was enjoyed by all present. The hotel is very popular with coach parties but do not let that be a hindrance to staying there. Would go back again without question.

Room Tip: The hotel is on a hillside and choice of rooms is not material
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JohnB_12Chelmsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2013

My second stay at the Queensmead and it did not dissapoint. Lovely room, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Food excellent, beautifully cooked and presented, and so much of it! Proprietors and staff polite and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Looking forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: No lift in this hotel so a ground floor is preferable for less able bodied. However staff are aways...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

This the 19th time I have stop at the Queensland we took friends with this time who are very hard to please but within 10mins off being in the hotel they were well impressed and the food was again great Barry Kim
Sam and all the staff looked after us again thanks for a great hols see you soon

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Teresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Spent a week with Parry's International at the Queensmead Hotel; the food was excellent hat off to the chef Barry. Spacious and clean room overlooking the swimming pool, the staff were so polite and attentive to our needs nothing was too much trouble. Five minute walk to the beach or local shops all in all fantastic hotel my wife and I will be going back in 2013.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Harold G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

I have stayed at the Queensmead a number of times, the last one at Christmas 2012, Barry, Kim and their daughter Sam are all very helpful, the food that you will receive is all well cooked mainly by Barry, the dining room staff also go out of their way to get things right for you. The rooms are clean and tidy, a job well done by the housekeeping staff. I will be going again towards the end of February 2013 and know without asking that I will be well looked after. I give this hotel 10 out of 10. It is also quite close to the town centre and buses if you want to use them

Room Tip: rooms that overlook the front of the hotel will give you a view towards the sea, however i think all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alk27194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Room19 Ground floor,next to a noisy laundrette,supposed to be ensuite(wash basin in bedroom next to tea making facilities .
The shower was a joke,the water just dribbled out also mould on the walls .
entertainment only two nights out of four,and this was supposed to be a turkey and tinsel break!!
must say the food and the waiting staff were first class
Our first and last tip with parrys,will be going back to Shearings !!!!!!

Room Tip: AVOID room 19,better still choose another hotel!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jackson028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

We really enjoyed our recent stay at the Queensmead.

We were warm comfortable and very well fed.

The evening entertainment was enjoyable and the bar well stocked.

Well located for the town, busses and beach area.

Many full blown and multi stared hotels would struggle to reach many of the standards

Set by the Queensmead. Thank you

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank j200way
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
487 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
411 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#7 of 51 in Shanklin
341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
#45 of 51 in Shanklin
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queensmead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queensmead Hotel

Address: 12 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#10 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: £68 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queensmead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 261
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Queensmead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queensmead Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing