We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“one visit is not enough” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Queensmead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Queensmead Hotel
Ranked #17 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
West Midlands
Level Contributor
61 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“one visit is not enough”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2010

We stayed at the Queensmead for just a weekend and were all wishing we could have stayed longer. The hotel is warm and welcoming as are the staff. The food and entertainment was excellent. In fact couldn't fault it at all, so much so that I am taking family and friends back next year to celebrate my birthday.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VeronicaJ4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    17
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
35
67
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
sussex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2010

We went to this hotel as part of a 4 day coach tour of the Island.
Check in was speedy considering 50+ arrived at once. Room was fairly small but very comfortable, with bath and tea/coffe making facilities. A nice touch was that extra tea, coffee and sugar were available at any time from boxes in reception. Room was spotlessly clean, but the bathroom could have done with somewhere to put wash items/makeup etc.
We were booked in on a bed, breakfast and evening meal deal and the food was excellent, with 4 choices of starter, 3 of main meal and 6 sweets. Free coffee was available in the bar area after the meal. Food was excellent, perfectly cooked and the quantities enormous. First time I can ever remember having to leave part of a main course as it was too big to eat. Breakfast, buffet cereals, juice etc, and rest cooked to order was again great.
Hotel is nicely situated about 5 minutes walk from shops and an equal distance from sea front.
All in all far better than expected for the price we paid.
There was also good quality evening entertainment

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SussexOldies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2010

Great few days on a beautiful island. After a long but uneventful trip down with Titteringtons, we were treated like one of the family. Everything about the Hotel is 1st class. Super choice of food. Well cooked and plenty of it. Service superb. Entertainment in the Lounge in the evenings was of good quality, with no big egos. Especially enjoyed the last evenings entertainment so much I bought 3 CD's from him. Thanks Dougie!
Will definately be back shortly, can't wait. Cheaper than living at home! and no washing up!.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DELLANDRODNEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2010

In reference to the review below this, I dont know what hotel Blue051 stayed at but it certainly wasnt the Queensmead hotel that I have stayed at every year since 2002!!!

Because of the riddiculous reviews (my suspicions are they may actually work for Ocean hotel, considering the number of subtle suggestions to that hotel!) or to anyone else that could possibly find something to complain about, I feel the need to express how very pleased I am with this hotel and have been each year I have stayed.

The hotel, staff, entertainment and certainly the food are all fantastic.

Yes the food portions are large but delicious with a fantastic choice, for even the most fussy! The meals are 5 star and certainly would not have made you ill!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
All the food was fresh, it seems there is no pleasing some people! - ID HATE TO THINK HOW THEY WOULD MOAN IF THE PORTIONS WERE TOO SMALL!!!!!!

The hotel is not dirty! The rooms are cleaned daily, towels are changed daily and the rooms are tidy, clean and nicely furnished and decorated.

The lounge and bar area have a personal feel to them, the hotel is family run and this is reflected in the customer service, the staff take time to get to know you and its nice that the owner waits up for the last person to go to bed.

The bar staff, inparticular wendy, are a wonderful addition to the superbly located hotel. None of the staff can be faulted.

In repsonse to the comments about the bar, being a regular I have asked about the larger being served in cans (not that it would ruin my holiday but some people seem to be rather particular about this!!!) the hotel does not have the facilities for a cellar and draft beer! The bar is also resonably priced.

The entertainment is fitting for a seaside resort. My group of women were wooed by the charm of one singer, Dave Lee!! All entertainers are well suited for the guests, a lot of thought had gone into providing the entertainment for the target age group of guests.

In conclusion, the hotel is an excellent place to visit, nothing can be faulted, Kim and Barry and all the staff will do anything for you and I guarantee you will not go away disappointed from this hotel.

5* SERVICE, 5* Hotel, and 5* EXPERIENCE!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed August 2010
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahbrooks2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

We must have had the worst room at this hotel, breakfasts good evening meals POOR, our last evening meal made me Very ill.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank blue051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2010

Thanks to Coachholiday.com for a good journey there and back. A good hotel, nicely located with well-appointed bedroom. But the bar/lounge is very small and all beers and lagers are in cans. So if you want just a half you have to buy a pint can! Food portions are way over the top and the wastage was terrible. Whilst the quality of the food is very good, we couldn't understand why the portions were so big - especially when a lot of food was sent bak to the kitchen. Surely smaller portions would reduce the cost of staying there. The entertainment was okay but just the usual singalong stuff with poor karaoke-type singers - I've seen better in our local club at home. Last time we were here there was a geordie lad singing and playing a keyboard (think he was called Paul) who was absolutely great and had us in stictches with his humour. Also a great entertainer. But he's not there now, although somebody told us he was at the Ocean Hotel in Sandown. Anyway, there was a smell of cigarette smoke every morning in the TV room and in the bar. Strange when there's supposed to be no smoking. We won't be going back again. Probably go to the Ocean Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helenscahill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swindon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2009

staff very friendly and polite especially the lady behind the bar the food was excellent but far too much we would have preferred smaller portions the amount of we couldnt eat was sent back to be wasted was awful because it was lovely food the rooms were nice but if you were elderley and infirm the stairs might be a problem

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coupleswindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.3 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Eastmount Hall Hotel
Eastmount Hall Hotel
#10 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brunswick Hotel
Brunswick Hotel
#12 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queensmead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queensmead Hotel

Property: Queensmead Hotel
Address: 12 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#10 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Queensmead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 261
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Queensmead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queensmead Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing