We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would thoroughly recommend this delightful warm and friendly hotel”
Review of Rowborough Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rowborough Hotel
Ranked #1 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Beautiful hotel - lovely warm welcome for my husband and myself and our cocker spaniel Fleur who was made just as welcome. Caroline, Michelle and Brian made our stay an absolute delight throughout the three days we were there. Immaculate throughout, gorgeous evening meals and a superb English breakfast. Nothing too much trouble. We would highly recommend this hotel and will re- visit should we decide to spend a few days on the Island again. Thank you for a lovely lovely stay. Xxx

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle T, Owner at Rowborough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments, it was a pleasure to have you all here and great to talk to you both throughout your stay. We are glad you liked our Room 9, especially as it has been refurbished this Winter and a lot of thought went into the planning of that particular room. We do hope you will visit the Island again and look forward to seeing you when you do. Best Wishes, Michelle, Caroline & Brain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

Lovely hotel, great location in the Shanklin/Sandown zone of IOW and has parking (which we were lucky with spaces whilst staying).
Great yummy cooked breakfasts too! Bedroom was adequate with space too.
Lovely to meet Caroline, Michelle and Brian too, very friendly and lovely to have a chat at the bar one evening. Good luck to you all for the 2014 summer time season and beyond. We hope to return when back visiting the lovely IOW! Thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BritHammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle T, Owner at Rowborough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Many Thanks for your review and good wishes for the season, we hope it will be good for us all on the Island. We look forward to meeting you both again on your next visit. Best Wishes from Michelle, Caroline & Brian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I can thoroughly recomment this hotel. All the rooms are immaculately clean, the food delicious and home cooked. The location is extremely convenient for exploring the island. Most of all Caroline, Michelle and Brian who own and run the hotel are very friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. Will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle T, Owner at Rowborough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you Linda & Peter for your lovely review. It was our pleasure to have met you and we look forward to you visiting us again soon. Best Wishes from Michelle, Caroline & Brian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

For many years I've stayed on business on the Isle of Wight.
I have now found the Rowbough and wouldn't dream of staying any wear else, the rooms are spacious , and beautifully decorated and reach a high standard of cleanliness
The breakfast is traditional home cooking at its best.
I would and have recommended the hotel to friends and colleagues and I know the ones who have stayed have been delighted,.

Room Tip: All rooms have the high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle T, Owner at Rowborough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you Ann for your lovely comments, we are delighted that we suit your business needs so well and those of your associates. The Rowborough prides itself on being able to cater for a mixed audience which includes the business traveller. We look forward to seeing you again next month. Kind Regards Michelle, Caroline & Brian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This was very much a last minute booking as a surprise weekend away for my wife. From the initial contact through to the departure, everyone we encountered was extremely helpful and very welcoming. I had a family room booked and at £100 per night including breakfast this was great value. The room was very clean and clearly had a family in mind when designed as it has a child seat on the toilet! Something very minor but when you have 3 year old this is much appreciated. Cannot fault this hotel or the staff at all. Will DEFINITELY be back!!

Room Tip: Room 6 is a great family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marky959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle T, Owner at Rowborough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for such a wonderful review. We feel so proud that you thought that much of our hotel that you decided to write your firsr review on Trip Advisor! It was a pleasure to meet you all and hope to see you again later in the Summer, perhaps with Nan & Grandad in tow....?
Kind Regards, Michelle, Caroline & Brian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This hotel is perfect for the family as hosts very welcoming and accommodating. Clean and spacious room and a great size tub. Very quiet during the night. Highly recommended the conservatory for an afternoon nap! Perfect location on the island, with walking distance to the beach. Fantastic homemade full English breakfast was a great start to every day. Would highly recommend this hotel for families and couples (next time we are coming without the baby but with friends and the motorbikes)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simik_974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle T, Owner at Rowborough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments. The Rowborough is very proud to call itself a 'family friendly' hotel and it is always our pleasure to welcome such wonderful families such as yours into our home. We will be very happy to see you again with or without your little one later in the year. Best Wishes, Michelle, Caroline & Brian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Recently I called for a 3 night reservation. I was told there was a "non-refundable" deposit. I was wary but said ok. Within three hours I discovered my partner did not want to stay there. He suffers from brain cancer and was unhappy with my selection. I called them immediately to cancel. The "non refundable policy" was enforced even though I explained the circumstances. We were 21 days from arrival so I find my call three hours after booking was ridiculous.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Lowell46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle T, Owner at Rowborough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

We were very sorry to read this review, dispite clarifying our Terms & Conditions to you on more than one occasion. Upon receiving your enquiry and prior to booking, our non-refundable deposit policy was explained to you and although 'conflicted and wary' you still booked. A confirmation letter was emailed to you within the hour which also lays out our non-refundable deposit terms together with our other standard cancellation policies, which we must point out we did not enforce. These are all visable on our website and all other websites we are associated with. Later that evening you emailed to cancel your reservation and although we symphathised with your situation we did reply that your deposit would be forfeited, as per our policy, but we would endeavour to get you a full refund on your ferry booking (which we did) and 'would not dream' of imposing our other cancellation charges even though you were booked to arrive in less than 14 days.. This with 'regret and disappointment' you accepted until 2 days later when you emailed us again to 'give us the opportunity to reconsider our situation'. Unfortunately, we declined and clearly this review is the result. Most unfortunate, wouldn't you agree?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
3.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
953 reviews
0.9 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#4 of 51 in Shanklin
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
North House
North House
#2 of 5 in Cowes
102 reviews
6.4 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowborough Hotel

Address: 32 Arthurs Hill, Shanklin PO37 6EX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Shanklin
#2 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#5 Best Value Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: £65 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rowborough Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caroline, Michelle & Brian look forward to welcoming you to their hotel. The Rowborough built in 1873, is an imposing Victorian house set in beautiful gardens on the corner of Arthurs Hill and Wilton Park Road in Shanklin on the Isle of Wight. All 9 guest bedrooms are en-suite and offer modern facilities and comfort. The conservatory, guest lounge, bar and dining room are well maintained, tastefully furnished and this has attributed to its AA 4 star Silver award rating. The hotel is well located to the Island's main attractions as well as local bus and train links to the mainland.Family run and reasonably priced, The Rowborough offers first class service and hospitality in a 'home from home' environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Rowborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rowborough Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing