We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect stay with perfect hosts.”
Review of Rowborough Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shanklin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rowborough Hotel
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A perfect stay with perfect hosts.”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed at the Rowborough Hotel from Friday to Monday with my 2 grandchildren aged 4 and 8. We had a wonderful time and nothing was too much trouble for our hosts Michele and Caroline. One of our grandchildren had a diary intolerance and this was taken care of without any problem. The breakfasts were brilliant and plentiful and the hotel is spotless and very comfortable indeed. Our family room with a double and 2 bunk beds was excellent. We would definitely stay again and can highly recommend this friendly clean and excellent Hotel to all. The price was good too Thank you Michele and Caroline for your great care and attention.

Room Tip: The Family room we had; No. 8 was just right.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle T, Owner at Rowborough Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you John for your wonderful review, we are always delighted to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us. It was a pleasure to meet you all and Smiley had such fun with your 2 granddaughters! We hope to see you all again in the future. Best Wishes Michelle, Caroline & Brian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    15
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
82
79
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed at The Rowborough for 3 nights. Michelle, Caroline and Brian were fantastic hosts. Our room was large, airy, and spotless, Breakfast was excellent. The location of the B&B is perfect, a short walk from the beach and the beautiful picturesque Shanklin village with its gorgeous thatched roof cottages and lovely quaint shops. There are excellent transport links to all tourist attractions from here. The Hosts, The facilities, Breakfast, and Cleanliness of the B&B would all score ten out of ten. We would not stay anywhere else when we next visit Isle Of Wight!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sukie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle T, Owner at Rowborough Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you Sukie for your wonderful review. It was great to meet you and your family and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We know you found your time here quite short and hope to welcome you back again so you might see more of our lovely Island. Best Wishes to you all Michelle, Caroline & Brian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angrycoolsid
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We have recently returned from a four night stay at the Rowborough, and cannot think of a single thing to dislike. Our room was lovely and spacious, located at the back of the hotel. The hotel is in a very quiet location away from all the hustle and bustle you expect from an english seaside resort, but handy for transport links to the rest of the island. Breakfast was a joy, nothing was too much trouble for Caroline and Michelle who pandered too all our needs.

If you are considering a short break (or longer) on the I.O.W and considering the Shanklin area, then check availability at the Rowborough first.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angrycoolsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle T, Owner at Rowborough Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble not only to write this review but your comments on our Face Book page too. We are delighted that you and your wife enjoyed your break with us, it was our pleasure to have you here. We hope to see you again in the future. Best Wishes from Michelle, Caroline & Brian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Easy Walking distance to the seafront and town centre, this was a very friendly and welcoming hotel. The family room was light,airy,clean and very generously sized and was an ideal base for our holiday. Provision of a high chair, cushions for our older but still young daughter at the dining table and toddler plates and cups were very thoughtful. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Musket_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle T, Owner at Rowborough Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thanks Helen for your lovely review, it was a pleasure to meet you and your family. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope as you are not far away you will come and see us again. Keep watching Smiley, it's his birthday tomorrow!! Best Wishes from Michelle, Caroline & Brian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My wife and I had a fabulous 9 night stay at this great hotel. I doubt very much if anywhere in Shanklin or indeed the entire IOW could better it. From start to finish the standards never faltered and it was a real wrench to leave at the end of our stay. The room, beds, food, and facilities were of a very high standard. The attention and service from hosts Michelle, Caroline and Brian was exemplary. Our only problem now of course, by posting this much deserved review, is that everyone will quite rightly want to book the hotel and we may have difficulty getting booked in ourselves!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle T, Owner at Rowborough Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Philip & Sandra. Words can not describe how delighted we were to read your amazing review. It was our pleasure to meet you both and what a truly wonderful time we had whilst you were here. We cannot wait to welcome you back to The Rowborough later in the year (we will find you a space) and look forward to hearing from you. Until then Best Wishes from Michelle, Caroline & Brian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We have just returned from a wounderfull 4 night stay at the Rowborough - where we were spoilt from the very first step through the front door - Great welcome from Caroline showing us around
showing us our very clean room - which stayed that way the whole of our time there.
Great breakfast- poached eggs were lovely - nothing was to much trouble - Michelle's cooking was excellent - mix and match any breakfast that we requiered. It was our wedding anniversary on the 16th July - the rose on the table was a fantastic surprise as was a card from them too.
Thank you Caroline, Michelle and Brian for making our stay in the Isle of Wight perfect.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle T, Owner at Rowborough Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you Tony & Tina for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we could be apart of your Wedding Anniversary. We look forward to seeing you again in the future, perhaps with other members of your family? Best Wishes to you both, Michelle, Caroline & Brian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My husband and i have just returned from a weekend away from this excellent hotel. They welcomed us as we stepped through door as if we were family friends and we had not been there before which to me means a lot. The hotel was very clean, the breakfast and dinners were to die for and the hosts Brian, Michelle & Caroline could not do enough for you to make sure that your stay was a memorable one. We would recommend this hotel to anyone and cannot wait till next year to come around so we can return

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dairymaid52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle T, Owner at Rowborough Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you Sue & Peter for your lovely review. We really enjoyed meeting you both and of course Casper. We are delighted that you have decided to return to us again next year and look forward to helping you celebrate Peter's 'special' birthday. Until then, keep well. All our best wishes Michelle, Caroline & Brian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
3.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
0.9 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#1 of 52 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
10.9 mi away
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowborough Hotel

Property: Rowborough Hotel
Address: 32 Arthurs Hill, Shanklin PO37 6EX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Shanklin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#2 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#2 Luxury Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rowborough Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caroline, Michelle & Brian look forward to welcoming you to their hotel. The Rowborough built in 1873, is an imposing Victorian house set in beautiful gardens on the corner of Arthurs Hill and Wilton Park Road in Shanklin on the Isle of Wight. All 9 guest bedrooms are en-suite and offer modern facilities and comfort. The conservatory, guest lounge, bar and dining room are well maintained, tastefully furnished and this has attributed to its AA 4 star Silver award rating. The hotel is well located to the Island's main attractions as well as local bus and train links to the mainland.Family run and reasonably priced, The Rowborough offers first class service and hospitality in a 'home from home' environment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rowborough Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing