We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely lovely!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Roseberry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Roseberry Hotel
Ranked #25 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

We stayed monday-friday, double bed was gigantic :) everything clean! When rooms get cleaned daily everything is done, rubbish taken out, tea and coffee all filled up, towels changed when needed. Breakfast is served 8.30-9 everything you'll need and cater for vegetarians, nothing is any bother :) so relaxing en-suit smallish but shower&bath available, lovely sized room... Leaflets are left on the bedside cabinet so theres no need to root around trying to find things to do. Situated in old village area, lovely walk to shanklin and beach! Overall a brilliant week! thanks to luis & carol for great hospitality!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debii-Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    16
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
57
45
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

We stayed at the Rosebery with my Dad, so we had a double and a single room. Our double room was of a good size with an ensuite bathroom. The room was clean and comfortable. My Dad's room being a single was quite small with a tiny ensuite, but was again clean. We were not staying in the main building but a small chalet building at the back, so the rooms in the main building may be bigger. Our rooms also did not have a lot of natural light, especially the single room, which was a downside.

The breakfast room, however was large and spacious and we had a choice of fruit juices, cereal and fruit followed by the cooked breakfast which was of a very large size!

The couple that run the Rosebery are both lovely and work very hard. Very friendly and accomodating!

The Rosebery also has a lounge area and a bar, which was great after being out all day to be able to come back, sit on a comfy sofa and have a tipple or coffee! Also very good prices.

The location of the Rosebery is also great, with only a short walk to Shanklin centre and to the beach.

The Rosebery is great value for money and a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stripeymule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

This was our first time at the Roseberry and we had a wonderful stay. We had a warm welcome and all the staff were helpful and pleasant. The breakfasts were cooked to perfection, which we ate (with no hurry!) in a comfortable dining room and set us up for the day. The room was clean and stocked with toiletries and tea and coffee. Although not over large, it was still good value for money. Will definately stay again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

This was our first time here at the Rosebery Hotel in Shanklin ,a warm welcome greeted us upon arrival which was very nice.A nice clean comfortable room .The rather large full english breakfast was very nice and kept us going.The hotel was only a short distance from the shops and many restaurants.We would return at some point in the future to this hotel so a big thumbs up from 2 very happy guests.

Room Tip: i would think any room would be nice as the hotel is in a quite location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shoeshine49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

This September was our third visit to the Roseberry and again we had an excellent holiday. Carol and Luis are perfect hosts very welcoming and friendly. The breakfasts are wonderful with an extensive choice of cereals, fruit juice and, of course, the English breakfast with alternatives for vegetarians. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. We recommended it to friends who joined us for a weekend. We are certainly going back next year - twice!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

This is the 2nd year we have stayed at the Rosebery and you cannot fault this hotel in any way.
Excellent service, lovely rooms and wonderful breakfasts.
Carol and Luis and their staff are excellent hosts and nothing is too much trouble.
See you next September, can't wait!! Paula Sims & Mark Redgwell, Maldon, Essex

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulamark96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

I have been coming to this Hotel for nearly 10 years and it just gets better and better.Luis and Carol always give me a great welcome.It is clean and good food,look forward to next year.

Room Tip: I have been in different rooms and they are all of a high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.0 mi away
Victoria Lodge Hotel
Victoria Lodge Hotel
#35 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brunswick Hotel
Brunswick Hotel
#12 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Marlborough Hotel
Marlborough Hotel
#22 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.0 mi away
Auckland Hotel
Auckland Hotel
#36 of 54 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rylstone Manor Hotel
Rylstone Manor Hotel
#13 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roseberry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roseberry Hotel

Property: The Roseberry Hotel
Address: 3 Alexandra Road, Shanklin PO37 6AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#14 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Hotel Class:3 star — The Roseberry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Roseberry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Roseberry Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing