We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but needs a little updating” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Roseberry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Roseberry Hotel
Ranked #25 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
London
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice but needs a little updating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

Nice family-run hotel. Convenient position near town. Reasonably-sized rooms, well-maintained but getting a little dowdy.......could do with updating. Breakfast very good, well-cooked and plentiful with lots of choice. Would visit again

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ispid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    16
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
57
45
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
essex england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

Always a pleasure to stay here, very friendly and nice family atmosphere. Very clean and welcoming and the food is excellent. Looking forward to visiting again.
Although evening meals are not provided the breakfast will set you up for the day and is nicely cooked

Room Tip: Nice quiet rooms, little or no traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happycamper052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

This is a very beautiful hotel with a stunning garden. The owners are very welcoming, friendly and happy to help you. Our room was very nice, clean and had the most amazing view of the island. I would definatly recommend this hotel, you feel very comfortable and totally relaxed.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebear81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012 via mobile

An excellent, clean, tidy and very friendly hotel. Breakfast is excellent would rate it 5 stars. Owners very friendly and helpful, will help with any problems you have if possible. Rooms are clean and tidy. I have been staying here for years would never go any where else. It's a must stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy1878efc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

If your going to Shanklin, forget the others stay here.
The owners are really helpful, right from the initial booking throughout the stay, There always on hand if needed but not over the top.
I asked about booking the ferry and was advised that I could look on-line to see if I could find a cheaper deal, I couldn't and they did all the bookings for me. They even changed the date of the return ferry and re arranged different rooms for guests booked into the hotel for the weekend so that we could stay another day.
The room we stayed in was ideal, it was an annex at the back, very clean and comfortable with everything you needed. The TV wasn't working the first night even though it was brand new, they couldn't apologise enough and a new one was bought and put in by the time we got back early afternoon the following day. The breakfast was really nice and portions huge. The situation is also ideal as it's right by the beach (2 minutes walk from the lift), old town and newer part of Shanklin. Wi-fi is also available.
Would really recommend this hotel and hope to go back at some point.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shanklin l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

This is the fourth year in a row we have stayed here when visiting the Isle of Wight. Luis and Carol are always very welcoming. The rooms we have stayed in have always been spacious and clean. The breakfasts alone are a good reason to stay here if you enjoy well prepared quality food. Service is always polite and efficient. We have stayed in B&B's all over the country and this is one of the best. We would definitely recommend a stay at the Roseberry if you are visiting the Isle of Wight.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

A clean and convenient B&B with friendly and helpful owners. I thought it could do with some cosmetic updating - eg bedcovers, curtains, pictures on walls etc - as it did feel rather dated which was a shame. But I suspect this is fairly typical of British B&Bs (I've not stayed in many) and especially those on the IoW. Other people seem to have enjoyed it so maybe it's just me!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ijh21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.0 mi away
Victoria Lodge Hotel
Victoria Lodge Hotel
#35 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brunswick Hotel
Brunswick Hotel
#12 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Marlborough Hotel
Marlborough Hotel
#22 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.0 mi away
Auckland Hotel
Auckland Hotel
#36 of 54 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rylstone Manor Hotel
Rylstone Manor Hotel
#13 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roseberry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roseberry Hotel

Property: The Roseberry Hotel
Address: 3 Alexandra Road, Shanklin PO37 6AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#14 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Hotel Class:3 star — The Roseberry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Roseberry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Roseberry Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing