We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Roseberry Hotel
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely family hotel”
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here after camping at V-dub island festival and enjoyed it very much. My two toddlers loved the playroom as there was plenty to keep them occupied.

Great location, lovely clean room in the main house and excellent garden for the little ones to play and adults to relax.

Very friendly staff and family run business. The breakfast was excellent and I could not finish it as there was plenty to get through and this made a great start to the day.

Thanks luis and carol. Will hopefully be back soon.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank davidMcgovern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    16
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
58
45
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We have been guest at Roseberry for the very first time. As soon as we arrived we were made to feel welcome and with true consideration were given rooms to suit our family suitability ( as my sister has challenging behaviour)
Atmosphere was very relaxed, good vegetarian breakfast, and Mr and Mrs Carlos were always chatting and having a laugh. Could not complain about the rooms,they were cleaned every morning,

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rehana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel having booked a last minute trip to the IOW. We couldn't have been more delighted. The owners Carole and Luis were very welcoming and accommodating with nothing being too much trouble. The hotel itself was very clean and breakfast was amazing! Children of all ages are welcome and my two boys aged 10 & 12 loved this hotel as they were able to relax in the evening as if at home, making good use of the free WIFI and PS2.

The location of the Roseberry is fabulous, close to the beach, shops and some lovely restaurants, we will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

A very friendly hotel. This is our second stay, Carole and Luis make us feel very welcome as do all the staff, Bedroom lovely, nice touch with the folded towels, we had one of the front rooms which overlooked the well kept gardens and had a good view towards the sea.
My daughter feels very much at home with the video, play station and all the toys. The public rooms are very comfortable and there is a well stocked bar. Plenty of choice for breakfast -after reading the review below about the strict time for breakfast- I am glad the time is 8.30-- 9.00 who wants to be woken early on holiday by pans being shaken in the kitchen. Nice full English.
I thoroughly recommend this Hotel- Will book again for next year, Thank You, David, Frances and Charlotte, from Chippenham -Wilts

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlotteshaw28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We recently stayed at the Roseberry following a weekend elsewhere on the island and I have to say our stay was lovely. Upon arriving we were greeted by the hospitable owners, Carole and Luis and were given a spacious, well equiped family room looking onto the front garden. Our children are 4 & 2. Having encountered hotels in the past which don't like having kids, this was a very pleasant find. There is a playroom full of toys, videos, DVDs, play station, etc. The garden out front also has kiddie friendly apparatus along with table and chairs. Breakfast is served between 830 & 9am with a varied selection to suit all taste buds.
I would highly recommend this establishment, it's friendly, comfortable and great value for money. I certainly hope to return to this lovely island and bring my mum next year.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelley2221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgess Hill
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We have been guests at the Rosebery for 13 years and we always have a fabulous time. Carole and Luis make us feel very welcome and go out of their way to make our stay a good one. Clean, homely with excellent home cooked food. Great value for money and a fabulous location too.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank franciepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

A very clean, centrally suituated family hotel in Shanklin,with short walk to panoramic cliff top views, run by very friendly staff who are only too happy to help in any way possible to make your stay a enjoyable time. A variety to choose from at breakfast which is plentiful and not hurried. Lovely colourful garden which won 1st prize in Shanklin in bloom 2013. Highly recommended and we will be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.1 mi away
Brunswick Hotel
Brunswick Hotel
#10 of 52 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#1 of 52 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Nightingale Hotel
The Nightingale Hotel
#31 of 52 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Roseglen Hotel
Roseglen Hotel
#30 of 52 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cliff Hall Hotel
Cliff Hall Hotel
#16 of 52 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.0 mi away
Victoria Lodge Hotel
Victoria Lodge Hotel
#35 of 52 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roseberry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roseberry Hotel

Property: The Roseberry Hotel
Address: 3 Alexandra Road, Shanklin PO37 6AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#14 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Hotel Class:3 star — The Roseberry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Roseberry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Roseberry Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing