We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget accommodation”
Review of The Steamer Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shanklin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Steamer Inn
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Fethiye, Turkey
Level Contributor
107 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Budget accommodation”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Stayed at the Steamer Inn, Shanklin for two days mid-September 2012. The establishment is in a great location on Shanklin esplanade, with many local hostelries and restaurants close by, and
only a short walk to Shanklin Chine and the Old Village. However, the Inn does not have a car park, and 24 hour parking nearby can cost up to £13 per 24 hours. The only alternative is to park on roads near to the chine, and walk down to the hotel, and then move your vehicle at 6pm when parking on the esplanade is free until 10am next morning. Hardly ideal, but it does save money! Management would do well to consider this, and perhaps they could approach the local Council to barter for concessionary or free parking outside the Inn for those STAYING there?
We were in room 6, it was reasonably clean (but did have a lot of stains and marks on the ceiling and walls) and very dated with magnolia paint on woodchip wallpaper, dated furniture to match the colour scheme, and light coloured curtains to match with (sagging) net curtains for privacy, and a pine bedstead, which was (reasonably) comfortable to sleep in. Tea and coffee making facilities are in the room, but a big health and safety issue here was the fact that to use the kettle and bed side lamps an extension lead had to be plugged into another (under the bed which was plugged into the wall socket located there) which meant the lead was a trip hazard as both the room access door and the bathroom access door were beyond the wire.
The bathroom consisted of a bath (narrow) with a shower attachment over, however the shower mechanism was very ancient, and in fact the shower was pretty useless as the ball valve failed to stay open to allow the water (hot) to make the shower head, and if the cold tap was turned on, it just made the shower run cold. Unfortunately therefore a bath it had to be, difficult when you want to wash your hair in these modern times. I see from a previous forum post that management suggest bathrooms are to be refurbished soon - the sooner the better I would suggest because room 6 was definitely in a very poor condition!
Food at the inn is very very good with a varied (pub) style menu, and the quality cannot be in any doubt, judged on the number of visitors eating there at all times and the evening meal we took, and the full English breakfast included in the B/B price for our stay. It would appear however there were one or two staff issues, as on our second morning NO breakfast tables had been laid, and no one seemed to know who was doing what, or what had happened to the guests breakfasts orders (which had to be filled in by 10pm by guests the evening before and handed in at the bar).
The allocated room was a bit noisy during late evenings, but as this is a very busy eating establishment and Inn, it has to be expected.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and I think one has to remember this is not a 4/5 star hotel, but a working Inn, and is (budget style) priced accordingly! I do think, however, that room and bathroom refurbishment is long overdue, (even at the room price currently being charged). Would we stay there again, probably not, but we would definitely visit to eat there again.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have balconies or sea views. We were in room 6 which had neither, and from the layout...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Turkeyites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    76
    21
    15
    10
See reviews for
61
85
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We have visited The Steamer Inn on a monthly basis over the last year or so and it's always been pretty good. The choice of meals is varied and the quality good. The portions are generous and you don't have to wait long for your meal. The staff are always friendly and attentive plus it's dog friendly with doggy treats.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wightlink56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Stayed in Shanklin for three days with my husband and friends.We decided to come to the Steamer after seeing brochures in our hotel. What a disappointment. I had lasagne with hardly any meat in it, my husband had a tough steam, and our friends had fish and chips which they said was average. It was very full in there which made us think it would have nice food so I dont know what other people are used to. We didnt stop for dessert. Also the man behind the bar who took our orders was quite surly and also walked out the back with our credit card which I dont really like. There was a family on the next table to us with a dog and it was sitting on one of their laps licking the table they were at. We probably should have walked out when we first got in there and noticed this but when youre away with other people, its difficult. Very disappointing but fortunately as we were with other people and not by ourselves as a couple, ( in which case we would have just had the hump) we managed to laugh about it all the way back to the Hotel and on the way home.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stella s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2012

This is a really nice bar restaurant sited right on the seafront. Plenty of room to eat and the food is excellent, as is the beer! The staff are all friendly and welcoming and the service is also really good. Really recommend a visit to the steamer.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob-Woodley2806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicester, Oxon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We have just had two nights at The Steamer which we we managed to book a week ago for a last minute unexpected break. We were there with friends and had a great couple of days and meals. The food quality from our experience is superb, top notch pub grub, the ale well kept and the staff really welcoming, helpful and friendly.

We stayed in room 7 which I guess is their smallest and the only one available at short notice. It was a bit small and dated and the shower isn't very effective but it was ok for a couple of nights. It was clean however and the bed comfortable. There is a decent size flat screen tv on the wall.

It's worth mentioning that The Steamer by their own description is a pub/restaurant with accommodation, not a hotel or guest house as such, and as a base for a couple of days with it's great location opposite the beach on Shanklin Esplanade and a double room including a huge and excellent breakfast for £50 a night it ticked all the boxes for us. The only thing that's a bit of a pain as mentioned by someone else is the parking which is all on street and ticketed between 10am - 6pm so unless you want to park miles away you'll have to pay for daytime parking which is £1.90 for up to two hours or about £7.00 for all day so not a fortune.

All in all we had a great and relaxed couple of days and we shall definitely be back!.

Room Tip: For an extra £30 per night (so £80) they have sea facing rooms with balconies if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hughieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee H, General Manager at The Steamer Inn, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Thank you so much for your positive comments - they are so appreciated. For your piece of mind I should let you know that the bathrooms are also going to be re-vamped during the off season so hopefully when you return next time all will be well! So glad you enjoyed your time with us - take care and see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We didn't stay at the Steamer so can't comment on the accommodation but had a very disappointing meal. On the first night of our break we sat on the fabulous outside area with drinks. There was live music and a busy enjoyable atmosphere. As lots of people were eating and the Steamer seemed very popular we decided to eat there the following evening. We were advised to come early as it is practically impossible to get a table after 7pm, so we arrived at 5pm expecting great food. I ordered chilli and my husband lasagne. We were surprised when the food arrived practically straight away after ordering, so it was obviously microwaved. Although the chilli had a nice flavour it was as dry as sticks with no sauce at all and the same applied to the lasagne. There was copious amounts of rice which i couldn't eat as there was no sauce. All in all, a very disappointing experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hippychick34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee H, General Manager at The Steamer Inn, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Thank you for your review, and can only apologise that your experience wasn't what it should have been. My real regret being that we weren't given the opportunity to put things right at the time. I of coarse expect a small percentage of complaints, and believe that a certain strength of a business is how we deal with them in order to make our guests and customers happy. Sadly this was not brought to our attention so I was unable to rectify your disappointment. Just so you know many changes are currently underway at the Steamer due to a management change, only being here two weeks at the time of your review and can assure you I have made changes to both the chilli & the lasagne and promise you that vast improvements have been made. I once again thank you for your comments, especially about the setting and the atmosphere. I really hope that when you next visit Shanklin you will try us again, and next time be pleasantly surprised by our commitment to constantly improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012 via mobile

StayeD overnight on a bike trip. Great food , helpful staff, live music and a sea front room with a view. Excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 52 in Shanklin
447 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Hotel
Aqua Hotel
#18 of 52 in Shanklin
186 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
825 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
382 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Steamer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Steamer Inn

Property: The Steamer Inn
Address: 18 Esplanade, Shanklin PO37 6BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#18 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#21 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Steamer Inn Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing