We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location on the Esplanade.”
Review of The Steamer Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shanklin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Steamer Inn
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice location on the Esplanade.”
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

Staying in Sandown we walked to Shanklin and came across the Steamer Inn. Bar was very busy with diners and we bought a drink and sat outside. Nice view and relaxing time was had watching the world go by.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VelmaCake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    77
    21
    15
    10
See reviews for
61
86
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

we have spent many hours watching the world go by at the steamer. the pub is very dog friendly and our pup is always certain to get a biscuit ! the food is great and looking out onto shanklin seafront is priceless !! A really friendly place to go.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank dw1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We visited this pub during the May day Bank holiday week end. It is a very busy place and has many more tables outside than in. We arrived at a busy time and asked for a table for three, they didn't have any available but put our names on a list. We got drinks from the bar and sat on a sofa waiting. They could have got more tables in this area but have opted not to. After about twenty minutes they offered a shared table of five with another couple. We were hungry so agreed, what a novel way to make new friends and share stories. More places should do this, it certainly makes commercial sense if both parties are in agreement. The food is a satisfactory standard although I had the Chilli and had an upset tummy all night and next morning which I can only put down to this place. Hubby had the gammon and granddaughter had a children's burger and chips and they were fine. We have eaten here before and the standard has always been just above average. Desserts are overpriced and had a very limited choice. They struggle to cope when all the terrace is used and standards can slip a bit. Wouldn't be put off going again as the sea views and the sunsets are to die for. Only hope they don't get too complacent as there is lots of places along the esplanade one can eat.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

This is our second review of The Steamer, having previously visited it in summer 2010. It has the same great location (with an expanded outside eating area?) and nice decor. This time we had a party of 6 people arriving unannounced at about 6pm on a Bank Holiday Monday. We were seated very quickly, the staff were all very polite and our order was taken quickly. Excellent! We felt that the food was an improvement on last time we visited - tasty and delivered quickly (our only criticism would be that the one burger we ordered tasted quite cheap). Choice of beer and wine is adequate but not outstanding. Unfortunately there was no live music on the evening we visited, but having seen live acts here in the past, we can recommend coming when live music is offered. All inaver a very pleasant evening.

Room Tip: If you haven't reserved a table, get there by 6pm at the latest to be sure you'll get seated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zacmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We ate here one very rainy May evening.
We were feeling a bit down in the dumps but the warm welcome from the staff, the excellent service, and wonderful fish and chips perked us up....so much so we went back a couple of days later for the full English breakfast.
Definitely recommended.....but we didn't stay there so can't comment about the rooms etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Stayed here of the may bank holiday 2013' while on the island for a wedding. Part of a group of 8. Friendly staff, arranged a table for us all in the morning - massive brekkie, you won't be disappointed, 10quids of anyone's money in London.

Room clean and basic, but what you would expect, no qualms at all. They asked if we wanted the rooms cleaned, we said no, but they did it anyway - that's good service

Would totally recommend if paying a visit to the island

Room Tip: Unless you really want a sea view, I'd go for one without a Balcony as its cheaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tclarkjnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We stopped off here while visiting the island for an evening meal. My husband had the chowder, which he really enjoyed and said was very tasty and well cooked. I had rump steak, which was really good, well cooked and very well presented. The portions were large but presented really nice. Staff were really friendly and helpful. We would certainly recommend here and if we get a chance we will eat here again. As an added bonus it's right on the sea front with a brilliant outlook over the water. Loved it!!

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen J, Manager at The Steamer Inn, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
Thank you for your feedback, and we will hopefully see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
449 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Hotel
Aqua Hotel
#18 of 52 in Shanklin
188 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Nightingale Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Steamer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Steamer Inn

Property: The Steamer Inn
Address: 18 Esplanade, Shanklin PO37 6BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#18 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#21 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Steamer Inn Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing