We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal and staff”
Review of The Steamer Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shanklin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Steamer Inn
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely meal and staff”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Me and other half went here for a lovely meal while visting shanklin. Meals were very nice massive amounts and very very yummy. The view is amazing when you having your meal wow such a beautiful place. Would highly reccomend staff so welcoming and friendly THANK YOU will be back again soon

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrincessCupcake1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    77
    21
    15
    10
See reviews for
61
86
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2014

On a long weekend in shanklin we went to The Steamer Inn twice. The first time as we needed a dog friendly restaurant. We went back a second time as the prices were reasonable, food good and portions huge. The dog was particularly pleased on the second visit as they provided a bowl of water and gave him a Bonio! Would definitley recommend and go there again if in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We had a midweek break in Shanklin, had been tjo the Steamer Inn a few years ago and decided to try it again, we were not disappointed , great food, fish and chips huge, lovely staff and a good atmosphere , to cold to sit outside, but must be lovely on a warm evening. The best place to eat in Shanklin

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

i walked along to shanklin and treated myself at the steamer inn,i had a meal and a nice glass of wine,as usual the food was very enjoyable along with the lovely view ,my labrador had a rest too and the very friendly staff gave her a biscuit,well worth a visit if you come to shanklin ,guaranteed you will enjoy it there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Was staying locally and took a walk with the dogs to the esplanade in Shanklin. We spotted the Steamer Inn - was allowed to take the dogs inside and had a lovely few hours with great beers, very good food and such helpful staff. The dogs got to eat too when they were presented with a lovely biscuit each!! Liked the place so much that even though our time was limited we made a second visit. All down to the quality of the people who work there and the produce they provide.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bembridge
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

We've always found the Steamer Inn to be consistent, fairly priced and good sized portions in a nice location. The food is not gastro but it's hot, fresh and tasty and perfect for a lunchtime bite. Quick service which is a bonus with a small child and very friendly staff. Nice to sit outside in warmer months and enjoy the view of the traditional beach seaside resort.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bembridgelocals12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

I was visiting family on the island and so we booked a table Sunday lunchtime. Four of us had the roast need and one had the turkey. The portions were huge and everything was cooked to perfection!

The place was very clean and well kept with lots of sea paraphernalia. The staff were also so friendly giving our dogs (who were allowed in) a dog biscuit each!

There was a two piece band which was about to start just as I was leaving and I was gutted I missed out on that.

If I come to Isle of Wight again I would live to stay here, it had such a happy vibe and I really want to try their seafood chowder!!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marieg82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
449 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Hotel
Aqua Hotel
#18 of 52 in Shanklin
188 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Nightingale Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Steamer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Steamer Inn

Property: The Steamer Inn
Address: 18 Esplanade, Shanklin PO37 6BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#18 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#21 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Steamer Inn Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing