We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Is Lovely”
Review of The Steamer Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shanklin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Steamer Inn
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Location Is Lovely”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I love staying at The Steamer, and have done so three times this year. The rooms provide tea, coffee, hot chocolate facilities, and a jug of fresh milk is always available at the bar. Also, there is no extra charge if you would like a meal delivered to your room. My favourite rooms are the balcony rooms with unobstructed sea views - small but beautiful. I spent many an hour just sitting on the balcony watching the world go by! This is a very popular place with both tourists and locals too - it is very dog friendly also. Even if you are staying here and want to eat in the evening, I recommend that you book a table. The Steamer has fantastic outside cover if it rains, so if it is warm, you can still eat outside, and there are also separate outdoor smoking and non smoking areas. If you stay here, you will get a breakfast that will fill you till the evening! The Steamer is on Shanklin Beach and you can walk all the way to Sandown along the coast (which is ideal for wheelchair users as it is a flat walk with cafes and a public toilet on the way). However, there is a steepish climb up to the old town. The cliff lift which is just a 5 minute walk away will take you up there. In high season the lift works until about 10pm and low season about 6pm. During the winter months it does not seem to be run. However, I am sure that the Shanklin forum will be able to advise you. When I visited in April, we got a day ticket on the Round the Island bus that stops just outside the Steamer (to the left, opposite the clock tower). That day, we visited the Needles and Ryde and got the last bus back to Shanklin Esplanade. If you don't want to move far, then there are other bars and restaurants very nearby. I am sure it will not be long before I return to The Steamer.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms have undisturbed views of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmsworthAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    79
    21
    16
    10
See reviews for
62
90
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

just wanted to say we had a great time staying at the steamer inn.The staff were very friendly and welcoming and the food was excellent and reasonably priced,would definitely stay there again also rooms were nice and clean.Also great location.

Room Tip: all rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Our third lunch time visit. Perfect setting overlooking the sea. Maybe a little over priced but fresh and good sized portions. Service excellent and very welcoming. I had the fresh crab salad with chunky bread wedges, new potatoes and loads of salad. Very filling. Didn't need dessert.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We have experienced many British B&B`s and this is typical of the price band, although we believe the rear rooms are being refurbished this year they were not that bad. the full English breakfast was full and freshly cooked we had dinner one night and that was the same so no faulting the food. The entertainment was very good and the bar service was excellent. the bar and restaurant prices were what you would expect for a seaside hotel. Suffice to say we have booked for next year.

Room Tip: front or side do not have air con noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canveyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We went here on our last night of our holiday and was really surprise on how nice the place is inside. The food was just as nice and you get a lot for your money. We will go back here on our next holiday.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mck812014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We recently spent a couple of nights at the Steamer Inn. We had requested a side/rear-facing room which was £50 per night, but we were told that there were none of those rooms available. A sea-facing room was an extra £30 at £80 per night. We had room 4 which was lovely. It had a huge bathroom and had recently been refurbished. The balcony was very nice and in the end we were pleased that we had gone for a sea-facing room with a view.

The staff were very frinedly. Breakfast was enjoyable. We asked to view the family room at the rear which could sleep four. That room hadn't been refurbished yet and faced the cliff. It didn't compare with the room we were in, so I won't be booking that if we return with our young son.

I would recommend the Steamer Inn, especially Room 4. Not sure why we were declined a side/rear facing room originally, as each night there was only one other couple staying Perhaps they had several cancellations or wanted the extra revenue from the price difference. All in all, a very pleasant place to stay for a few nights.

Room Tip: I recommend room 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noeleen832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

An excellent venue for real ale drinkers, some 5 - 7 beers on mostly from island breweries with some guests from the mainland. Same gripe as before the staff not really aware of the beer they are selling but did do it politely, after explaining the difference between "hoppy" or "malty" I proceeded to have a couple of tasters and settled on the hoppiest one which I prefer. Really good atmosphere a singer was performing when I was there very pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BruceBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.1 mi away
Aqua Hotel
Aqua Hotel
#19 of 52 in Shanklin
193 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
462 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
841 reviews
1.9 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Steamer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Steamer Inn

Property: The Steamer Inn
Address: 18 Esplanade, Shanklin PO37 6BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#18 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#21 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Steamer Inn Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing