We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and dirty - not fit for habitation”

Braemar Hotel Shanklin
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
Ranked #37 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Reviewed 19 July 2011

The pictures are decieving. The room we stayed in was 1950's futurniture, two beds put together and bunk beds in the room. En suite was a cupboard in the room with a dirty toilet, old sink and delapidated shower. You had to be at breakfast between 8.30am and 8.45am. I witnessed a young couple being 'told off' in front of other guests for arriving at 9.00am. The car park was up an ally at the back of the building and could only accommodate about 5 cars at a push. The ground is overgrown and uneven. This is a classic case of a hotel been left to rot and ruin whilst still squeezing money out of unsuspecting holiday makers.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Grayson51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 55 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2011

Clean....Friendly.....Ideal location for the local nightlife ...Will be going back in June.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miamiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2010

we had stayed at the braemar many times over the years sometimes as much as 3 times in one year. we classed the owners as friends. but in august 2009 when we took friends with us, see dustbin hotel. we couldnt believe how much it had gone down hill. there was mould, dirt wallpaper written on in crayon, the firedoor to the balcolny did not open with out great forces, the shower leaked, the toilet was disgusting, the whole place smelt of negelect. the furniture in the rooms was old and unmatched and crowded, sons room had mould on the ceiling, from a water leak and needed a complete redecoration. the towels were worn and hard, it was cold and unwelcoming. the bar needed a jolly good clean, i could go on and on.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tr7girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

Do not stay at this Hotel. !!!! Dirty, decrepid rooms. Toilet exploded over myself and flooded bathroom on our first and only depressing night here. How this dump ever achieved 3 AA stars I will never know. It was either a long time ago, a bribe or the inspector had [--] in his eyes. We left after 1 night. Stay here at your peril. You have been warned!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank triumph1360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.2 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Marlborough Hotel
Marlborough Hotel
#24 of 51 in Shanklin
166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
#45 of 51 in Shanklin
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Hazelwood
The Hazelwood
#34 of 51 in Shanklin
45 reviews
0.4 mi away
Somerton Lodge Hotel
Somerton Lodge Hotel
#25 of 51 in Shanklin
116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holliers Hotel
Holliers Hotel
#26 of 51 in Shanklin
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braemar Hotel Shanklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braemar Hotel Shanklin

Address: 1 Grange Road, Shanklin PO37 6NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Price Range: £53 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Braemar Hotel Shanklin 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Braemar Hotel Shanklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braemar Hotel Shanklin Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing