We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why waste time reviewing others?”

Braemar Hotel Shanklin
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
Ranked #36 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Why waste time reviewing others?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

I read the reviews of this hotel and felt uncertain. My partner and I wanted to go back to Isle of Wight as it's such a great place, but needed to cut costs and feel looked after too! I loved this hotel because of the warmth extended by Mary and her husband. From the moment we arrived you felt a part of "The House" and welcomed. This is not a 5 star hotel, does not sell itself as such and makes no pretences about it, so from any reviews you read that are derogitary should be strongly ignored. We arrived and laughed at the fact the bed squeaked, loved the space of the room and adored the overly spacious balcony that sweeps around the first floor. Breakfast was a bit early but for a weekend trip we were happy to feel full tummys after a superb spread that we still had most of the day to "get out there". You have a couple here who trust you with their house keys, knock on your door when you've overslept to let you know breakfast is ready, and have a wonderful sense of humour without being invasive. On our last breakfast I overheard a guest saying he was going for a walkabout - not surprising bearing in mind the exceptional location, and would it be okay if he didn't check out for a few hours - Mary was exceptionally cool with a "no problem" go out and enoy attitude. You get what you pay, for and in our minds this hotel provides above that. X

Room Tip: If you are a smoker, choose a balcony room as this extends around the whole floor and is a wonderful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    14
    2
    2
    8
See reviews for
9
17
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

Fantastic! Friendly! Good food! What more could you ask for! After reading some of the reviews i felt that i had leave a (honest) review of my own! I paid £35 a night. What did i get for this? I will tell you. I got a clean room with fresh towels, colour tv, as much tea and coffee in my room as i wanted, a shower, toilet and sink. In the morning (between 8.30 and 9.15am) i had the choice of various cereals, fresh fruit, fresh juice and as much tea or coffee as i wanted. (This was just for starters!!) Then i had the choice of kippers, boiled eggs, poached eggs, full english breakfast (which was fantastic!) and haddock served with a poached egg. Then if you wanted you could help yourself to as much toast and various jams as you wanted! All this for £35 a night! I will admit that the decor is a little dated but it is CLEAN and TIDY! Younget what you pay for and more !!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

The pictures are decieving. The room we stayed in was 1950's futurniture, two beds put together and bunk beds in the room. En suite was a cupboard in the room with a dirty toilet, old sink and delapidated shower. You had to be at breakfast between 8.30am and 8.45am. I witnessed a young couple being 'told off' in front of other guests for arriving at 9.00am. The car park was up an ally at the back of the building and could only accommodate about 5 cars at a push. The ground is overgrown and uneven. This is a classic case of a hotel been left to rot and ruin whilst still squeezing money out of unsuspecting holiday makers.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Grayson51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shanklin hotels

uk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

Clean....Friendly.....Ideal location for the local nightlife ...Will be going back in June.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miamiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanford-Le-Hope, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2010

we had stayed at the braemar many times over the years sometimes as much as 3 times in one year. we classed the owners as friends. but in august 2009 when we took friends with us, see dustbin hotel. we couldnt believe how much it had gone down hill. there was mould, dirt wallpaper written on in crayon, the firedoor to the balcolny did not open with out great forces, the shower leaked, the toilet was disgusting, the whole place smelt of negelect. the furniture in the rooms was old and unmatched and crowded, sons room had mould on the ceiling, from a water leak and needed a complete redecoration. the towels were worn and hard, it was cold and unwelcoming. the bar needed a jolly good clean, i could go on and on.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tr7girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2009

Do not stay at this Hotel. !!!! Dirty, decrepid rooms. Toilet exploded over myself and flooded bathroom on our first and only depressing night here. How this dump ever achieved 3 AA stars I will never know. It was either a long time ago, a bribe or the inspector had [--] in his eyes. We left after 1 night. Stay here at your peril. You have been warned!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank triumph1360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.3 mi away
Marlborough Hotel
Marlborough Hotel
#23 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Chestnuts Private Hotel
The Chestnuts Private Hotel
#22 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eastmount Hall Hotel
Eastmount Hall Hotel
#11 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#1 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palmerston Grange
Palmerston Grange
#25 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shanklin Beach Hotel
Shanklin Beach Hotel
#34 of 54 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braemar Hotel Shanklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braemar Hotel Shanklin

Property: Braemar Hotel Shanklin
Address: 1 Grange Road, Shanklin PO37 6NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Braemar Hotel Shanklin 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Braemar Hotel Shanklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braemar Hotel Shanklin Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing