We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location across the road from the beach.”
Review of Esplanade Hotel

Esplanade Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shanklin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #44 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Kevin is a most accomadating host.having stayed in this hotel on a school trip, the hotel is transformed from a normal family hotel into a base for approx.60, 10 year old school children and their teachers to enjoy a week of outings and fun.Kevin copes with feeding and attending to all needs arising during the week long stay, and even organises a disco night!. On our departure, the hotel is magically transformed back into a normal hotel. He copes with all of us, and the school returns year on year. He makes our stay enjoyable and can do the same for normal holidaymakers too. The beach is literally across the road .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuneJaundoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

Visited here on a National Holidays coach tour. The IOW has a very particular character and feel about the place; the Esplanade is no exception and fits very well indeed. Decent place with friendly hardworking staff and great views and location. If you love Garlic and Wine this is the island for you as they are the largest growers around and have an annual Garlic Festival and island winery. Worth noting that IOW prices will be higher than some parts of the mainland (unless you live in London etc) as items have to be ferried from the mainland.

Room Tip: Big hotel and soe walking is required so ask when booking if you have mobility issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pchelper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I have just returned from taking 53 children on a residential trip here Monday-Friday. I have led this journey for many years and we always enjoy a warm welcome. Do not worry, if you are looking for a relaxing break, you will not find yourself surrounded by children as the two types of visitor never overlap.
We are always greeted so warmly by Kevin and Rosemary and they cannot do enough to ensure that our stay is as successful as it can be. It is like returning to old friends.
The 'star turn' for this hotel is undoubtedly its location right on the beach and this simply cannot be beaten. What more can you ask for than strolling across the road to the glorious Shanklin beach?
Breakfast is wonderful and the hotel is always clean. Yes, it could do with some updating in places but the beds are comfortable and the rooms bright and spacious. If location and views are top of your list then come here! The family room arrangement would work very well in giving families privacy and security. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TraceyLorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed in the Alverstone room which was very spacious with a beautiful sea view and large balcony. Perfect for us and our 9 month old baby. A very family friendly room, I only had to move a few items to make it baby safe, the furniture is very sensible. We divided the room up in to a play area with mat and toys, sleeping area and changing area - see photo added.

This room worked well for us as we could sit on the balcony after babies bed time. You are allowed to take drinks up from the bar and the prices are very reasonable. The owners were fantastic and would go out of their way to help with anything - more than happy to let us use the microwave/fridge for steralising and storing bottles.

Great location, right on the beach and there is a clif lift around the corner from the hotel up to Shanklin town (£1.50 return buggies/babies are free). The hotel has its own parking around the back - very useful.

Breakfast was more than adequate, can't go wrong with the option of toast, cereal and any combination of a fry up.

The only thing that could be improved is the bathrooms as ours was looking quite tired and a new ensuite would make the rooms even better.

Overall great accommodation, very welcoming and a perfect location for a hassle free beach holiday. This is a very family orientated place and they have many different sorts of rooms to cater for different size families. We will definitely return, possibly next summer.

Room Tip: I would advise phoning to talk to the owner to discuss your requirements and then he will recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattandkoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed with my young children for a 3 night break. The rooms were spacious, clean and the sea view and balcony were real highlights. The decor was pretty tired though and the beds were a bit uncomfortable. We were locked out on a couple of occasions which was annoying. Breakfast was a disappointment. No fruit, cooked breakfast was ok but ingredients were low quality. Coffee was instant. Small things but they make a difference. The location was really the best thing about this hotel. Overall I am not sure the hotel offers great value for money and I don't think we will return.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clairec1377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This hotel has a great position on the beach, we had a family suite with a very large balcony and super sea views. Rooms are very clean and comfortable, our suite had 2 rooms, with the children having their own TV in their room. We chose this hotel because we are a family of 5 and it is the only one we found that offers the family suite option, with enough space so that we could relax without having the kids in the same room. Breakfast is plentiful and freshly cooked, and the bar area looks out over the beach so it is nice to sit and watch the world go by. Overall tis is one of the best family hotels we have found, and the owners are extremely friendly and helpful, we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

I stayed as a large group. It was comfortable and clean and the rooms were a nice size. Though some rooms are not en-suite. There is one room where there are three cubicles, two showers and one toilet. I found that a little strange. The food is not brilliant but they give you plenty. I found the decor not so good though. In the room there were bunk beds. Overall I would recommend the hotel for big groups but not for families.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chicken165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.1 mi away
Cliff Hall Hotel
Cliff Hall Hotel
#12 of 51 in Shanklin
150 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shanklin Beach Hotel
Shanklin Beach Hotel
#37 of 51 in Shanklin
490 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
#9 of 51 in Shanklin
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#14 of 51 in Shanklin
456 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marlborough Hotel
Marlborough Hotel
#24 of 51 in Shanklin
165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Mentone Hotel
Villa Mentone Hotel
#28 of 51 in Shanklin
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Hotel

Address: 33 Esplanade, Shanklin PO37 6BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: £76 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade Hotel is a traditional beach front hotel catering for couples and families. The Hotel is a family owned and run, and we offer a friendly relaxed environment in a prime location, directly opposite the beach, and within a 10 minute walk to Shanklin old village. We are also very proud to be able to cater for many school group residential visits during the spring and autumn seasons, many of whom have been returning to us for many years. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing