We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, welcoming hotel - right on the sea front”
Review of Esplanade Hotel

Esplanade Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shanklin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #44 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Reviewed 2 August 2010

We have just returned from a great fortnight at the Esplanade hotel. Right from the start Kevin and Rose, the proprietors, made us feel very welcome. As the hotel was quiet, we were given an upgrade to the top floor sea view room, which was a fantastic size with an ensuite bathroom with a bath, separate shower, toilet and basin. There was a superb view right across the bay - what a fantastic sight to wake up to. The bed was very comfortable with beautiful crisp, white bed linen. There was also a pair of bunks making it an ideal family room.

Breakfast was served at the civilised hour of 8.30 to 9.30, with a choice of cereals, fruit juice and full English breakfast. The cooked breakfast was magnificent, with tasty thick bacon, and fresh, not tinned, flat mushrooms. Just pick want you want from the menu and it is cooked fresh to order.

There is a good bar where we whiled away many happy evenings with Kevin. He has a good knowledge of the island and will quite happily recommend places to go, good restaurants and pubs (and also the ones to avoid). Nothing seems too much trouble for him - no reasonable request refused.

A bonus is a small car park behind the hotel. It will only hold about half a dozen cars, but there is a large public car park about 50 yards down the road and lots of parking on the front itself. During the daytime this is pay and display, but from 6pm to 10am it is free so there is no problem with overnight parking.

I would have no hestitation coming back here again, and would recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phil186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2010

We have just returned from The Esplanade Hotel in Shanklin. I can only say what a wonderful relaxing break we had, and having stayed in Shanklin before nothing can compare to the room we stayed in. The Alverstone room simply has to be one of the best rooms anywhere on the island, it really does have it all, a huge ammount of space, ultra comfy king size bed, leather sofas and armchairs, a 37 inch flatscreeen and a simply amazing balcony so close to the beach you could throw a ball into the sea! The room has obviously been completely refurbished recently, everything had that lovely new feel to it. The owner is very friendly and welcoming and the english breakfast is superb, with a good choice of cereals etc. Overall I'd say it is real value for money, we've stayed in smaller rooms with a much poorer outlook and spent a lot more. I think that its probably the most relaxing room we've stayed for years.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andyjenkins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2010

We have just returned from a few days in Shanklin - staying at this hotel.
For families on a budget - this is a fantastic find.
OK, let's be absolutely honest, this is not a place to dwell in opulent luxury - neither is it a chain hotel offering a methodical standard of comfort using a well trodden business model.
What this is - is a throughly decent and honest place to relax when you are not busy on the Island, doing whatever you came to do.
It's clean, comfortable, homely, extremely well placed and serves just about the best breakfast I have had in a hotel in a long time.
The hotel is situated perfectly for the beach, situated no more than 20 yards from the sand.
We booked a family room. This was two rooms interconnected through one very short passageway; both rooms retained behind a single main door. Perfectly private and safe. Effectively this allowed us to have our own privacy in our main bedroom, while the kids, 11 and 8 - could have their own room next door.
Their room was comfortable - with a bunk bed and a single, plenty of drawer and hanging space and their own TV.
Our room was larger - and, as you would expect, a little more grown up - a flatscreen TV, en-suite shower room and toilet and ample Tea/Coffee making facilities.
But the real wow point was the fact that both rooms had their own patio doors leading onto a single balcony from which, if you were so inclined, you could throw a tennis ball into the sea at high tide.
We really were that close!

Kevin and family who own the hotel have obviously done great things with the property.
Being realistic, there is still probably more that they might want to do but if points were based solely on a friendly host and 'nothing is too much trouble' service - this would be 10/10.

So if you want a good, safe, clean place to stay which is perfectly placed for the beach and Shanklin Esplanade then, for the money - I doubt that you would find better.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bringbackthesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

We have had several trips this summer to different places but this was by far the best. The hotel was a good old-fashioned hotel, very clean and fresh, and the staff were all so helpful and welcoming. The bed was so comfortable and the linen so soft and fresh smelling, a real home from home. Breakfast was fantastic, plenty of choice, excellent service and the cutlery, etc. was always nice and clean. What I liked was there was a bar and restaurant on site, but there was never any rowdiness or trouble, it was more the holidaymakers using these facilities. It was quiet and we couldn't hear noise from other guests and there were none of those greasy, foody smells you so often get with hotels, it was so lovely! We had a seaview family room and to wake up to the sound of the sea each morning was so relaxing, therapy in itself! The Isle of Wight is in general a very relaxed place with plenty to do for the children, better than the normal UK weather, and not too pricey either. We did not have one bad meal during our stay on the Isle of Wight. We used Tesco vouchers for the Wightlink ferry crossing so didn't even pay for our crossing, just the hotel, and the hotel was somewhere I couldn't recommmend enough! Superb!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kittyscavern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

Had a wonderful long weekend with my boyfriend in the Isle of Wight, thanks in part to our stay at the Esplanade, Shanklin. It was a last minute booking on the seafront so I was thankful to get in. What’s great about the place? The location is spot on – having a private car park is a bonus; Kevin, the owner, is hugely welcoming – I had a smile on my face as soon as I met him; the breakfast is wonderfully generous and very tasty.

There must be something wrong with it? Perhaps it’s a little dated (although there’s something quite quaint about it) and could do with a lick of paint but the rooms are a good size, the beds super-comfy, the bed linen white and crisp, and the little extras of Aero hot chocolate and biscuits to munch on in the evening, an added bonus. At the end of my trip Kevin sought me out to apologise for missing the notes I’d added onto the online booking form (he’s just installed a new booking system and the extra notes hadn’t come through – all is working fine now though!) and insisted, wholly unnecessarily, but with huge generosity, that we had lunch on him as an apology. Now that’s what I call customer service!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tinablue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2009

We picked the Esplanade Hotel because it was on the sea front at Shanklin and also had a private car park. We found the owners to be friendly and very welcoming. The breakfast was absolutely lovely and you can sit in the restaurant and look out to sea.
We will definitely be visiting this hotel again next year, we couldn't fault it!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynnSkegness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2009

We booked a last minute stay and were lucky enough to get a family room with a balcony and sea view. As we drove down the Esplanade we were pleasantly surprised by the look of the hotel with the added bonus that we were able to park in their small car park at the rear. As soon as we walked through the door we were warmly greeted by the manager and shown our rooms. Yes rooms! The 'family room' consisted of two separate rooms, one for the children with 3 beds and a grown up room (both with tvs) joined by a corridor, with an en-suite bathroom with shower. The rooms were pleasantly furnished and very clean and comfortable. The best part was the lovely balcony just yards from the sea, large enough for the whole family to relax and watch the world go by. Although the restaurant was closed in the evening during our stay, the breakfast was very nice with more than adequate choice. The small bar was open in the evening and even though we were the only ones in it (which was lovely!) it was a very nice place to relax and unwind with the children, especially given the terrific view. We were made to feel as though nothing was too much trouble and we were very welcomed. Although obviously not a 5* star hotel, the owners have plans for further improvements. Nothing is too far away on this lovely island, and the Esplanade Hotel is the perfect base from which to explore, especially if you are travelling with young children. We felt very safe and comfortable. I only hope that by sharing this review of this lovely little hotel, that we'll still be able to book next time we want to visit!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HappyDays078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cliff Hall Hotel
Cliff Hall Hotel
#14 of 51 in Shanklin
151 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sandown Hotel
Sandown Hotel
#22 of 29 in Sandown
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Eastmount Hall Hotel
Eastmount Hall Hotel
#12 of 51 in Shanklin
241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
344 reviews
0.4 mi away
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
#35 of 51 in Shanklin
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Hotel

Address: 33 Esplanade, Shanklin PO37 6BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: £76 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade Hotel is a traditional beach front hotel catering for couples and families. The Hotel is a family owned and run, and we offer a friendly relaxed environment in a prime location, directly opposite the beach, and within a 10 minute walk to Shanklin old village. We are also very proud to be able to cater for many school group residential visits during the spring and autumn seasons, many of whom have been returning to us for many years. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing