We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overnight stay”
Review of St. Leonards

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St. Leonards
Ranked #30 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed for just the 1 night,as I had a job interview to go to the next day.We arrived at about 7pm due to car trouble. Can I say that Christina and David gave us an excellent welcome. The rooms were spotless and stylish and there was plenty to eat at breakfast. I liked the little extras, Christina even gives you a map of the roads around the hotel, so you cannot get lost and a printed weather report,for the day. Where else could you of got that.That was first. I would of loved to have stayed longer.Excellent ,Cannot Fault

Still awaiting to hear whether I got the job ?

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
There are newer reviews for St. Leonards
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

The owners couldn't be any more friendly or kind. So much effort has gone into all the little details to make our stay more comfortable.
Our room had very nice stylish furnishings and was spotless. The room also had a brand new flat screen tv. There are a wide range of breakfast items cooked fresh to order and a well stocked bar. I was saddened to read previous negative reviews because the owners are such geniunely nice people who go the extra mile for their guests. My only regret is that I did not book to stay longer! Can't wait to come back. Thanks again!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sbangsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Stayed 3 nights were welcomed by Christina ,who is owner with husband David, and given a welcoming cuppa before being taken up to our room. The room was large and airy, but as it was a very hot spell was a bit warmer than would have liked, but can't complain as it was the first hot spell for ages.
You preorder your breakfast the night before but the system worked well and meant prompt service in the morning. Everything was freshly cooked and very tasty with as much tea, coffee and toast as you could want.
Thehotel is very convenient for the beach and the shops and there are cafes and restaurants in abundance for daytime and evenings.
the service was very friendly and helpful and they somehow even got the weather perfect too. We would certainly recommend and hope to visit again in the future.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I booked a family room for the weekend at this guesthouse after reading the previous reviews and was not disappointed.
Received a friendly welcome from the hosts, and found them to be very attentive to our needs. Room was spotless on arrival and had everything we required.
Breakfast was superb, and we liked the idea of ordering from the menu the previous evening; when we proceeded to the dining room in the morning, the food was fresh, hot and no waiting was required.
We had tickets for the theatre and it was within ten minutes walk; so was the beach. My wife and daughter were very happy.
Would fully recommend this establishment to anyone thinking of visiting Shanklin.

Room Tip: Family room 1 has access to an outside balcony.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Guest House was clean and we were welcomed upon arrival by Tina. I noticed the single room I had,(Room 6), none of the electrical equipment ( Kettle, T.V, hairdryer or bedside lamp had been PAT Tested) since Nov 2011? Having done an electricians course, this should be done every year for Public safety. Breakfast was varied, but a chore having to fill out preference cards the previous day. It was fairly central for our needs- 10 minutes to the seafront and 10-15 minutes walk to the Bus station. Would probably stay in a different part of the Isle of Wight in future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANDYL1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStLeonards, Owner at St. Leonards, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2013

We are sorry that Mr. Lee did not find that our Accommodation was up to his standard. We try our hardest to maintain the highest standards that we can.
The lack of PA Testing is an unfortunate oversight for which we apologise and is already rectified. However, once again, a Customer has decided to leave us expressing how much they enjoyed their stay etc and waited till they return home before making us aware of a problem. Had this issue been bought to our attention as soon as discovered it would have been rectified.
The Breakfast choice routine is due to the fact that we are NOT a Hotel but a small Guest House. We do not have a Commercial kitchen or endless supplies of cooking equipment, therefore we are limited in amount of food we can cook at any one time. The option of selection at the table is available but would mean the Guest waiting until all other Guests who had chosen are finished.
Once again, had this been bought to our notice at the time we would have offered this an alternative.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay at St. Leonard's and would recommend it anyone visiting Isle of Wight. Tina and Dave gave us a warm welcome and made us feel at home. Our room was lovely, well equipped and had the most comfy bed I've slept in for a long, long time. Would defiantly go back if the chance arises.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MsVanessaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

An impulse weekend stay on the Isle of Wight in mid November is always a gamble. The weather was due to be friendly, but we really hadn't planned the accommodation figuring that something would be open somewhere.

The train ride to Portsmouth Harbour and getting the Cat service to Ryde was a seamless experience, even if the ferry's £22.10 return fare (out Friday pm, back Sunday pm) was almost as expensive than a flight to Barcelona out of Southampton Airport.

At Ryde bus station we bought a 48 Rover ticket for £15 (bargain) and took off for Shanklin bus station. We headed towards the sea and found the hotel and guest house area. The area was closed, except for one beacon of light in the gathering gloom - St Leonards.

The greeting by David and Tina was as warm as it was cold outside. They are genuine and friendly people. A swift pot of coffee was at our side as we gathered our bearings and the inevitable paperwork was completed.

Thoughtfully, the room was being warmed as we got to it. It had a comfortable double bed, 2 bunk beds, wardrobe, chest of drawers, bedside tables and a TV with built in DVD. It was large, airy and very clean. The bathroom had a modern shower unit installed and was also immaculate.

The view from this room was towards the sea and I can imagine that in the summer the balcony would be a great place to enjoy a cup of tea from the facilities in the room.

Breakfast was a treat. You order the evening before - a really sensible approach as it ensures sufficient fresh stock is on hand and it speeds up service. The added benefit is that you have something to look forward to!

The weekend turned out to be one of the sunniest of the last two months and the weather on the Sunday was just brilliant. We explored much of the east of the Island by bus (top deck of a double-decker is a great viewing platform) and foot, and the walk between Shanklin and Sandown on a sunny day is very relaxing.

With the fortunate weather and the lucky find of St Leonards Guest House, we enjoyed a great stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ACL_Glenleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.1 mi away
Westbury Lodge
Westbury Lodge
#1 of 51 in Shanklin
395 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
#32 of 51 in Shanklin
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Somerton Lodge Hotel
Somerton Lodge Hotel
#25 of 51 in Shanklin
114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
#45 of 51 in Shanklin
447 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Leonards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Leonards

Address: 22 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range: £75 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Leonards 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
St. Leonards Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing