We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is what it is.”
Review of St. Leonards

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St. Leonards
Ranked #29 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

Very friendly, nothing was too much trouble for Christina and David always aiming to please.

Breakfasts good choices. Simple and straightforward. As David said when going through the breakfast menu and explaining the poached egg and haddock "it is what it is" and sure enough it was exactly what it was.
Room always clean & tidy. Lovely hot shower.

Value for money: we booked via Wowcher so saved a few quid.

Good advice from Christina on where to visit.

All round very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jakeyshake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed for just the 1 night,as I had a job interview to go to the next day.We arrived at about 7pm due to car trouble. Can I say that Christina and David gave us an excellent welcome. The rooms were spotless and stylish and there was plenty to eat at breakfast. I liked the little extras, Christina even gives you a map of the roads around the hotel, so you cannot get lost and a printed weather report,for the day. Where else could you of got that.That was first. I would of loved to have stayed longer.Excellent ,Cannot Fault

Still awaiting to hear whether I got the job ?

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

The owners couldn't be any more friendly or kind. So much effort has gone into all the little details to make our stay more comfortable.
Our room had very nice stylish furnishings and was spotless. The room also had a brand new flat screen tv. There are a wide range of breakfast items cooked fresh to order and a well stocked bar. I was saddened to read previous negative reviews because the owners are such geniunely nice people who go the extra mile for their guests. My only regret is that I did not book to stay longer! Can't wait to come back. Thanks again!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sbangsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Stayed 3 nights were welcomed by Christina ,who is owner with husband David, and given a welcoming cuppa before being taken up to our room. The room was large and airy, but as it was a very hot spell was a bit warmer than would have liked, but can't complain as it was the first hot spell for ages.
You preorder your breakfast the night before but the system worked well and meant prompt service in the morning. Everything was freshly cooked and very tasty with as much tea, coffee and toast as you could want.
Thehotel is very convenient for the beach and the shops and there are cafes and restaurants in abundance for daytime and evenings.
the service was very friendly and helpful and they somehow even got the weather perfect too. We would certainly recommend and hope to visit again in the future.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I booked a family room for the weekend at this guesthouse after reading the previous reviews and was not disappointed.
Received a friendly welcome from the hosts, and found them to be very attentive to our needs. Room was spotless on arrival and had everything we required.
Breakfast was superb, and we liked the idea of ordering from the menu the previous evening; when we proceeded to the dining room in the morning, the food was fresh, hot and no waiting was required.
We had tickets for the theatre and it was within ten minutes walk; so was the beach. My wife and daughter were very happy.
Would fully recommend this establishment to anyone thinking of visiting Shanklin.

Room Tip: Family room 1 has access to an outside balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Guest House was clean and we were welcomed upon arrival by Tina. I noticed the single room I had,(Room 6), none of the electrical equipment ( Kettle, T.V, hairdryer or bedside lamp had been PAT Tested) since Nov 2011? Having done an electricians course, this should be done every year for Public safety. Breakfast was varied, but a chore having to fill out preference cards the previous day. It was fairly central for our needs- 10 minutes to the seafront and 10-15 minutes walk to the Bus station. Would probably stay in a different part of the Isle of Wight in future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANDYL1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStLeonards, Owner at St. Leonards, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2013

We are sorry that Mr. Lee did not find that our Accommodation was up to his standard. We try our hardest to maintain the highest standards that we can.
The lack of PA Testing is an unfortunate oversight for which we apologise and is already rectified. However, once again, a Customer has decided to leave us expressing how much they enjoyed their stay etc and waited till they return home before making us aware of a problem. Had this issue been bought to our attention as soon as discovered it would have been rectified.
The Breakfast choice routine is due to the fact that we are NOT a Hotel but a small Guest House. We do not have a Commercial kitchen or endless supplies of cooking equipment, therefore we are limited in amount of food we can cook at any one time. The option of selection at the table is available but would mean the Guest waiting until all other Guests who had chosen are finished.
Once again, had this been bought to our notice at the time we would have offered this an alternative.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay at St. Leonard's and would recommend it anyone visiting Isle of Wight. Tina and Dave gave us a warm welcome and made us feel at home. Our room was lovely, well equipped and had the most comfy bed I've slept in for a long, long time. Would defiantly go back if the chance arises.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MsVanessaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
876 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marlborough Hotel
Marlborough Hotel
#24 of 51 in Shanklin
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Somerton Lodge Hotel
Somerton Lodge Hotel
#25 of 51 in Shanklin
116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palmerston Grange
Palmerston Grange
#22 of 51 in Shanklin
53 reviews
0.3 mi away
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
#36 of 51 in Shanklin
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Leonards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Leonards

Address: 22 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range: £86 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Leonards 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your St. Leonards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Leonards Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing