We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family holiday”
Review of St. Leonards

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St. Leonards
Ranked #29 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Myself, my husband, daughter, son in law and granddaughter have just enjoyed a holiday at this lovely guest house. Our hosts were warm friendly and attentive.The garden is a credit to them.Our rooms were spotless and breakfast was plentiful and delicious.The beach, restaurants and shops are within a short walk.
Thank you very much to Christina and David for making our stay so very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CharlieLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

Thank you to Christina and David for a lovely stay we were made to feel very welcome.
We stayed here for 3 nights, the house is very clean, garden very nice. It wasn't a problem parking my car on the drive. Breakfast was lovely and had a vegetarian option. We also had wifi which was very handy!

For a family run guest house we were very happy :-).

The location was perfect for us!

Sorry about the short review but just wanted to say something as people never do!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed here for a first family holiday and it was a lovely welcoming place.

We had a travel cot in the room, but were also given a family room with bunk beds and as we were just moving our daughter to a bed it was great to be able to give her the choice. For the parents, the bed was a little narrow for what we are used to, but still, we slept well.

The hosts were very friendly and accomodating, also being flexible with breakfast orders (important with a 2yo who can be fussy about food) giving us a small portion of beans after the toddler polished off the parents' portions.

Good location, really handy for the Shanklin Chine, and we were given the weather forecasts at breakfast.

The hosts gave us hints and tips, told us the best buses to get to places and overall helped make this a very good holiday

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C_OLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Very convenient to both the beach and the main part of Shanklin, we had a very comfortable stay. Breakfasts were quite adequate, although I wish we had a bigger time frame to choose from.the internet was a bit spotty, but then again,it is a vacation,isn't it? I wish we had bigger towels!
The hosts were pleasant and helpful!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ritabird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We were very pleased with this B&B. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, they catered for all of our needs and were very accommodating towards children. The rooms were spotless and we could not find fault anywhere. The breakfasts were amazing too. Very satisfied.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel with two children. Staff and management were very kind, helpful and considerate to the needs of our family.
Had a great stay and felt very positive about this hotel.
The manager moved us to a ground floor room as we had two children and they had a party that evening.
We had room service which was very quick and a great thing when kids are tired and you want to eat.
Overall a great little hotel and will definitely be back to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie83d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Great location just a few minutes walk to both seafront and town, this super friendly guest house is definitely one to recommend to friends and family. The rooms are a good size, spotlessly clean and comfortably furnished with on-suite facilities and all the little essentials you would expect (tea/coffee/kettle, TV, hair dryer, etc). The rest of the house is of a similar standard - couldn't fault in any way.

Breakfast times are reasonable and you are asked to choose your menu the evening before. Consequently, there are no delays and everything arrives at your table freshly cooked. We chose the full English on both days that we stayed and everything was nicely presented, tasty and complemented by cereals, fruit juice fruit and toast - more than enough to fill you up for the day

A special mention must go to the host Christina. While David was working hard behind the scenes, she looked after and entertained the guests with a natural rapport and great humour. This, together with little touches like the weather map handed out every morning and the special Easter surprise (no spoilers), made our stay a lot more personal and much more fun than staying in a large hotel.

I usually like to make a few suggestions on how I feel things could be improved but, on this occasion, I am stumped!

St. Leonard's will definitely be top of our list when planning future visits.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank BlindMouseGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
876 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marlborough Hotel
Marlborough Hotel
#24 of 51 in Shanklin
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Somerton Lodge Hotel
Somerton Lodge Hotel
#25 of 51 in Shanklin
116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palmerston Grange
Palmerston Grange
#22 of 51 in Shanklin
53 reviews
0.3 mi away
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
#36 of 51 in Shanklin
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Leonards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Leonards

Address: 22 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range: £86 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Leonards 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your St. Leonards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Leonards Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing