We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Channel View Hotel
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Stayed here with my son during half term and it is a really lovely hotel. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The food is great and all home made (at least it seemed to be). There's a good choice of food in the evenings and breakfasts are plentiful. There's a well stocked bar and a decent sized pool. It is very close to the beach and for those who like surfing it's possible to surf on Little Hope when the waves are up.

Also, the hotel organise the ferry crossing. We went with Red Funnel and both ways we travelled at times which we hadn't booked and they didn't charge us anything extra. I think that today this is amazing when most companies seem to be out to get as much money as they can from you.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Shanklin.

Just a few more things to consider while there.
Visit the Needles. People complain about 'cost' but you don't need to pay anything other than the car park (which you have to pay everywhere). You can spend more if you want, but don't have to.

Take the train from Shanklin to Ryde and then the hovercraft across to Southsea and see the the submarine museum and the historic quay area in Portsmouth. - Thanks to our 'bedroom lady' (sorry can't remember your name) for this tip.

Go the the model village in Godshill.

Go fossil hunting on the beach at Yaverland.

Go swimming or surfing at Compton Bay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bigblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (406)
There are newer reviews for The Channel View Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 406 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2011

We have just returned from this wonderful Hotel where we have stayed on five previous occasions. As usual, we could not fault it at all. Perhaps our only criticism would be that the
food is so good we have to clear our plates so as not to waste it and, therefore, unable to watch our waist lines!! Each member of staff is so helpful and the Restaurant Manager is second to none. Everybody is so attentive to the guests, but not intrusive in any way. Wherever you go in the Hotel it is so spotlessly clean and comfortable.
We are certainly looking forward to our next visit, which will hopefully, be in about six weeks time.Thank you everybody for being so kind and helpful to us. We are awaiting next year's brochure from our coach tour company to enable us to book for 2012.

Room Tip: In our opinion, sea facing rooms are the best.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happytravellers2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Lovely hotel. Excellent service with fabulous attention to detail. Food is outstanding! Will visit again!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rumble25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

It was easy to find, stunning views of the sea, very friendly and accommodating staff. The cleanest hotel we have been in in a long time.

The food was homemade and delicious every meal and excellent value for money. Plenty of parking. A good variety of evening entertainment but was geared towards an older clientele.

Overall we would visit again!

Thank you

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Matthewlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We booked a short break here after walking past on a previous visit to Shanklin and thinking how smart and well maintained it looked from the outside and we were so pleased that we did. From the moment we entered the lobby to check in we were impressed with the light, airy atmosphere and we found the Premier grade room we were allocated spotlessly clean, large and well presented with a modern bathroom and lovely separate shower. The side sea views were extensive and really nice ( I suspect that the Premier Plus Rooms are even better but they were all booked up when we visited) In the room the management had provided a folder detailing the hotel's history going way back to when the present owners took it over and detailing their year by year improvements and their future plans for continuing the good work. They are proud of the fact that the majority of their staff have been employed there for years and there is no doubt that the hotel enjoys a kind of family atmosphere as a result of that which speaks volumes for their efforts. No-one staying here should have the slightest concerns about the breakfasts and dinners. Both are of high quality with variations each day, beautifully cooked and served by young smiling waiters who are a sheer delight. The Hotel Management encourage guests to provide feedback via Tripadvisor after they have left. Now that says a great deal in my book but the truth is this hotel is so good that they are most likely to receive universally deserved praise. It really is that good and no-one should hesiatate to book a stay there. We will return next Spring.

Room Tip: We did not stay in a 'Select Room' but we are sure one would be fine
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colwyn957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We've enjoyed several good holidays at Channel View, so much so that we've already booked for 2012. We took our Grandson there last year who was excited that we also went this year and he would have been disappointed if we hadn't booked for 2012. The owners and staff are always friendly and extremely helpful.
The food is always excellent with a good choice for Dinnerr. The service is extremely efficient. The rooms we have had have been well furnished,comfortable and always always spotlessly clean.
We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.
As I stated above we have already booked for next year and can travel with confidence that we will again enjoy our stay.
.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PGB2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Lovely hotel, When I booked I felt confident it was going to be good and I was not dissapointed the room was very clean and bright with a wonderful view, with a kettle and hairdrier in the room the bed was comfortable which was nice I have stayed in places when I couldn't wait for morning to get out of it, when we went to the dining room we were shown to a table and told it would be our table while we were there which was nice, the service was good, the menu changed daily and the food was wonderful with a choice of three or four for each course. The entertainment was OK with a singer on from 8 in the evenings, all in all we had a very enjoyable stay in a lovely well run hotel.

Room Tip: Worth the extra for a sea view.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn195485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.4 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
477 reviews
0.7 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Channel View Hotel
Channel View Hotel
#22 of 29 in Sandown
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
877 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
734 reviews
0.7 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 51 in Shanklin
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Channel View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Channel View Hotel

Address: 24 Hope Road, Shanklin PO37 6EH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#5 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: £72 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Channel View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channel View is a highly respected family run 3 star hotel that prides itself in offering high quality customer care, exceptional service and excellent value for money. Situated on the cliff overlooking the bay, the hotel offers an unrivaled position within walking distance of both the seafront and the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Channel View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Channel View Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing