We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Views and very relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Channel View Hotel
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely Views and very relaxing”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We have been coming to this hotel for the past 17 years, every year we have returned on our wedding anniversary, we spent our first weekend away in this hotel and our honeymoon so it has a special place in our hearts . The owners and staff of this hotel are absolutely wonderful , nothing is too much bother and the rooms are delightful and scrupulously clean. It also has an excellent swimming pool and relaxing spa bath. The food is excellent although menu choices are catered towards the elderly as is the entertainment as the hotel is a mainstay for "Crusader" coach holidays. The views are outstanding and the beach is within walking distance and we shall be coming back next year.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view are a little extra and at the front and sides. However you do have to listen to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGino, Manager at The Channel View Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
People are often amazed that guests return year after year, we have come to the conclusion that for many people it is reassuring to know what you will be getting. There is a lot to be said for it. Thank you for your super review. All the best Gill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    67
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
104
155
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My husband, 5 month old daughter and I stayed at the Channel View for a long weekend in September 2013. We were very impressed. Never having been to the Isle of Wight before we booked into a hotel in Sandown. When we arrived we were horrified to find most of the seafront attractions were shut and there were a lot of derelict buildings. This put us off staying in Sandown all together so we called around to find another hotel in the nicer town of Shanklin. The Channel View had a vacancy and we are very pleased that they did. We received a very very warm welcome from everyone at the hotel especially Maggie and the team on reception. We were given a huge family room with sea view that more than met our needs. Everything was spotlessly clean, the breakfast was generous and tasty and travelling with a 5 month old baby we were very glad to find the hotel was so child friendly, especially as the average age of most residents was 70+. In summary we would definitely recommend the Channel View but would have to add that much of surrounding local area was in dire need of rejuvenation. A good hotel in a crumbling relic of a place.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouisaJennings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGino, Owner at The Channel View Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
It was just by chance that you walked into Channel View and we are so pleased you did. As you rightly say Sandown certainly needs some TLC thankfully Shanklin and the rest of the Island still has much to offer in its unique way. Glad you enjoyed the hotel from the welcome to the breakfast the views and the cleanliness. Come back one day, best regards Gill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

From arrival to departure nothing was too much trouble for the owners and staff of this lovely hotel. Meals were appetising, plentiful and varied with a relaxing atmosphere in the restaurant. Rooms were well furnished, clean and comfortable with excellent hospitality trays. The hotel is in a spectacular position with sea views from many rooms including the dining room. The owners are continually updating the hotel and their attention to detail shows everywhere. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sueellen31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGino, Owner at The Channel View Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Many thanks for your complimentary review we are pleased to hear you enjoyed the food, cleanliness and comfortable rooms. It is great that you would recommend the hotel by doing this review you have done just that so thank you for taking the time and trouble. We hope to see you return when you next visit the Island. Kind regards Gill Gino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Myself, husband and 11 year old son stayed here from 27th July for a week. After looking at loads of hotels in Shanklin, really pleased we chose this hotel. Really nice, clean hotel, wonderful friendly staff, fab breakfasts and the pool was excellent, not too deep for younger children but deep enough for a lovely relaxing swim. Most days we had it to ourselves. Our family room was huge, clean and comfortable and had a fantastic sea view. Its in a great location for the beach and esplanade with all the rides, mini golf and amusements just being a 2 minute walk from the hotel. 5 minute walk in to Shanklin itself. We normally go abroad ever year but will definitely be staying there again. Isle of White is a lovely place with so many places to visit. The bus system runs right around the island dropping off and picking up at all the major attractions of the island. They were always on time and unlike in Newcastle the bus drivers were happy! We would definitely recommend both the hotel and island to anyone. Big thanks to the hotel owners, their staff and mother nature for making our holiday perfect. Lisa, Anthony and Max.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyBell666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGino, Owner at The Channel View Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Just read your very complimentary review about the hotel, our staff, facilities and the town of Shanklin. It is great to hear such good feedback thank you for telling us and all the Trip Advisor followers that you think the hotel is great. Best regards Gill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel & what can I say it is simply amazing. Everything is clean, great location, staff very friendly and professional. Special mention the Kim in the dining room who was our waitress throughout our stay & what a credit to your hotel she is! Nothing was ever to much trouble for her or any of the staff at this hotel. Would defiantly recommend this hotel to anyone going to the island. See you again next year hopefully!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Holidaymaker1567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGino, Manager at The Channel View Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review and for mentioning Kim she is about to embark on a hospitality qualification so your comments bode well for the future.
Kind regards Gill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Did not know what to expect, the hotel was very well run by the family owners. very clean & the restaurant provided excellent service & a good menu. all the staff were polite & very good at their job. when we come to shanklin again THE CHANNEL VIEW HOTEL will be number one on our list.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGino, Manager at The Channel View Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Really pleased to hear that you enjoyed the menu, service and cleanliness at Channel View Hotel and that it is number one on your list when you return to Shanklin. Thank you for your review Gill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Great views, scrumptious breakfast, beautiful decor, spotlessly clean linen and fluffy towels, comfortable beds, pool and treatment room, friendly staff - everything you could wish for in a holiday hotel.

Room Tip: Worth paying for a sea view - great from the side even. Didn't get a chance to try out the Spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onebluemoon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGino, Manager at The Channel View Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you very much for your complimentary review you obviously really enjoyed your stay at Channel View for us and our staff it is what it is all about. It is very gratifying when you see good comments in print thank you Gill Gino.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.4 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
455 reviews
0.7 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
3.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Channel View Hotel
Channel View Hotel
#23 of 29 in Sandown
280 reviews
0.7 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
836 reviews
1.6 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Channel View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Channel View Hotel

Property: The Channel View Hotel
Address: 24 Hope Road, Shanklin PO37 6EH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#5 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Channel View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channel View is a highly respected family run 3 star hotel that prides itself in offering high quality customer care, exceptional service and excellent value for money. Situated on the cliff overlooking the bay, the hotel offers an unrivaled position within walking distance of both the seafront and the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Channel View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Channel View Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing