We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Channel View Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Mayfair Hotel(Shanklin)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Suncliffe Hotel(Shanklin)
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eastmount Hall Hotel(Shanklin)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shanklin Hotel(Shanklin)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Langham Court(Shanklin)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (423)
Filter reviews
423 results
Traveller rating
333
72
12
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
333
72
12
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexcellent hotelisle of wightdance floorsea viewno hesitation in recommending this hotelswimming pooldining roomfamily run hotelhotel is spotlessly cleansea frontevening mealcoastal pathmany thankshalf boardshort breakcoach triptown centre
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
244 - 249 of 423 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We have been visiting the IOW since 2002 and have just returned from our 22nd visit to the Channel View in Shanklin. The service from Gill, Andrew and Paul cannot be faulted. The Hotel is like a second home , beautiful clean rooms, many with fabulous views over the Channel and a really nice sized indoor pool which is used by kids as well as us older kids. The food is excellent, so much so we stay for Dinner every day and Neil and his team in the restaurant are ready to indulge us with lots of choice and always loads of veg. In the evening there is entertainment most nights or just a relax at the well stocked bar after exploring all the Island offers.
I hope we will be returning at least another 22 times (In fact we have booked again for September.
Keep up the good work we love the Hotel

Room Tip: Try for a sea view always excellent.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paul h h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGino, Owner at The Channel View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

How amazing 22 visits and another one booked that says so much.

We can’t remember how you first found the hotel but we are very grateful you did. The success of the hotel is in great part down to guests like yourselves who help to make the atmosphere, who return and then recommend the hotel to others. The pair of you travel all over the world and to many places in Britain yet you choose to return once, twice or more times a year to our family run seaside hotel, long may that continue.

Thank you for your brilliant review.

Looking forward to seeing you in September

Best regards Gill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We have just returned from a long weekend break at Channel View, our third visit. We were not disappointed with the usual friendly and helpful owners and staff . Our room was clean and very comfortable and the food was varied and most enjoyable and the portion sizes generous. We thoroughly enjoyed the entertainment provided in the evening and being able to have a drink in the bar after dinner without the bother of venturing out and then having to drive or get a cab back to the hotel. We will definitely be returning just as soon as we get the chance. Geraldine and Chris Psaras

Room Tip: Stayed in 3 different rooms on each visit and found them all quiet, clean and very comfortable, Room 62 most recently now our favourite with the lovely views looking out over the channel
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geraldine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGino, Owner at The Channel View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Many thanks for your Blissful Break review wonderful to hear you have enjoyed the 3 different rooms you have tried and that they were all clean and comfortable. Thank you for mentioning you enjoyed the food and the entertainment we have changed elements of both this season which seems to of been well received.

We look forward to seeing you both return.

Kind regards Gill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

From the moment we arrived at Channel View hotel we knew we would enjoy our stay. The hotel has a lovely look to it and is very warm and inviting. The staff were extremely friendly and super helpful and greeted us by name throughout our stay, which was a lovely touch. Made us feel very at home. Our room was very well equipped (hot drink making facilities and biscuits, shower gels, soaps, hairdryers etc), comfortable, spacious (even with our 2girls :)) and the views amazing. The beach is very close by (down a hill right outside the hotel) and the there are lots of activities on the beach front, arcades, mini golf, etc. Great location :)
Our break was for our wedding anniversary and when we arrived in our room we found a card from all the staff wishing us a happy anniversary. Thank you again all, this was really lovely of you and we were very touched.
We had dinners and breakfasts at the hotel and the food was absolutely delicious and our children well catered for also. Eating out with kids (ours 1 and 3) can be quite stressful at times but the staff couldnt do enough for us, brought the girls meals early so they didnt get restless, were very chatty with them and patient. We amazingly managed the full courses including coffees at the end without feeling rushed or made to feel uncomfortable. Almost felt like we were eating in our home, almost in that the food at Channel view is far more tasty than we'd make at home!!
I can't write highly enough about this hotel, we have recommended to our friends and family since our return as we know they'd love it there too! The location great, the hotel fabulous and the staff superb. We hope to return very very soon. Thank you all at Channel View for making our wedding anniversary break special and memorable

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KJKelly2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGino, Owner at The Channel View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you so much for such a complimentary and comprehensive review full of praise for so many aspects of the hotel and staff.

We have been at Channel View for nearly 30 years and It is still really wonderful when guests tell us that they have enjoyed their stay. It is what makes our job so rewarding so your super review has given us all a warm glow.

Thank you for taking the time and trouble much appreciated.
We hope to see you in the future.
Kind regards Gill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We have just come back from a week in the Channel View Hotel and it just keeps getting better! After staying in the best room in the hotel on our mini moon last year we decided to stay there again only to find they have updated it with the most fantastic & comfy bed ever!! The room looks ten times bigger and the view is even more spectacular than before! My parents & in laws met up with us on the Monday and stayed until Saturday again they both had fantastic rooms. All rooms were spotlessly clean and comfy. We stayed for bed, breakfast & evening meal. Evening meals were perfect that had something for everyone and the staff were so friendly. We love returning to the channel view again and again, Gill, Maggie & all other front of house staff are so welcoming it's like meeting up with friends for a catch up! We love every part of the Channel View and can't wait to return. Together we have stayed in a few hotels on the Isle of Wight and nothing compares to the fantastic Channel View Hotel!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MrsSullivan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGino, Owner at The Channel View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Many, many thanks for your brilliant review, we are delighted to hear you all enjoyed the hotel and the new bed was a success. You told us that you keep coming to the island because of the weather, ‘it is like being abroad but everyone speaks English’, which is true.
The Island needs more young people to visit and you two are doing your best to promote this wonderful place. Now you have found a hotel that you enjoy returning to which is fantastic for us. It was a pleasure to look after you all hope to see you next year if not before.
Kind regards Gill.
PS Thank you for the chocolate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

This is a very pleasant place to stay, great views from the rooms, very friendly staff who can't do enough to help and the food, oh good lord the food!! The breakfasts were awesome, properly filling full English affairs with more toast than we could eat, and proper coffee!!

The evening meals were excellent as well, the steak and mushroom pie is perfect, a big slab of meat, wrapped in pastry with a very tasty gravy. Anybody who complains about the food must have had their taste buds removed!

If you want a relaxing, comfortable stay, and don't mind the waistline expanding a little, then you should check out Channel View.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Rikki816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGino, Manager at The Channel View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Many thanks for a great review really glad to hear you enjoyed our food chef will be pleased to read your comments. Pleasing also to hear our staff our friendly and helpful. Hope to see you return in the future. Kind regards Gill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews