We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel and friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Channel View Hotel
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay for four days and we traveled from lewisham south London, we would like to say that your hotel is excellent and the service in the restaurant from Neil and the two lovely waitresses was great and the food was delicious, Maggie and the other people on the Reception were fantastic with their information, the rooms were very spotless and comfortable and we all enjoyed our stay, it went too fast, next year we will be back, Thankyou Gill and all your staff who do a great job.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGino, Owner at The Channel View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to give us such an excellent review, so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that the hotel was spotless and comfortable. All the staff are thrilled to get a mention for their service they like the family are proud of the place. It is great that you will be returning till then all the best Gill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

Spent four night (M-T) in mid may at the Channel View. The hotel is converted from 3 houses so has many levels which gives it an idiosyncratic appearance and nature. Desk staff were excellent and very helpful. Room was fine - clean, great sea view and pretty much what I anticipated it would be.
Breakfast was again what I anticipated - juice, cereals, full English or an alternative, toast - you get the picture. Serving staff were very good.
We stayed B&B so cannot comment on the evening meals, but can confirm that Shanklin has some good eateries.
During our stay the majority of the other guests were pretty elderly - for three nights my wife and I ( mid 50's) were by far the youngest here - but then I suspect that this is true for much of the IOW at this time.
The Channel View is well worth a visit. It's handy for trains, buses and the seafront and is right on the coast path. We'd happily go back

Room Tip: Sea view is well worth having.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGino, Owner at The Channel View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Many thanks for reviewing the hotel; our reception and the restaurant staff are delighted to get a mention for their good service. We are pleased to hear your room and breakfast was as you hoped it would be.

You mentioned that you would happily return which is wonderful hopefully when you do you will find that the hotel appeals to all ages for instance this bank holiday weekend it has been mostly young families, this week coming we have a group from Belgium, so we do have a good mixture. Having said that the Island has always appealed to all ages since thankfully Queen Victoria put it on the map.

Thank you and all the best till your next visit Gill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Just returned from 2 nights at the Channel View in Shanklin. Very happy with our stay, where we took 1 double room with front sea view and 1 single room with side sea view. Rooms were clean, spacious and well equipped. The large room with front seaview had exceptionally good views over Sandown Bay and Shanklin seafront.
The thing you notice here is the warmth and friendliness of the staff who do a really good job. In particular I'll mention our waitress for Breakfast/Dinner who was a lovely young lady who worked very hard and provided a great service.
The food was excellent throughout but would suggest that the portion size for starters can be a little too large for some.
Will visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N_Young47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGino, Owner at The Channel View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Very pleased to hear you had another excellent stay and that you found our staff were warm and friendly a great description. Thank you for mentioning your waitress she will be thrilled that her service has been noted on trip advisor. Thanks also for your compliments about the food as you say our portions sizes are generous.
Hopefully we will see you all again best regards Gill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Just returned from a weekend stay with family group. We took 2 family rooms and 3 doubles. Staff were exceptionally warm and helpful (with special thanks to Neil in the dining room). Housekeeping was immaculate. Highly recommended!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank MedussaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGino, Owner at The Channel View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Great review thank you thank for recommending us ~ we will tell Neil he has had a special mention. Kind regards Gill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Just returned from a 2 day break on IOW for the walking festival. I would find it virtually impossible to fault this hotel. Lovely bedding, the most helpful staff from start to finsh and the standards of cleanlimess that make want to take the toothbrush to my grouting when I get home. I can see why people return yeat after year,

Room Tip: Room 57 - lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGino, Owner at The Channel View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Great review, room 57 does have a lovely view, glad you both enjoyed your stay, thank you for the praise about the cleanliness and the bedding. Hopefully you will both be returners next year for the walking festival. All the best Gill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Staying at the Hotel this weekend with a group party I would like to say a big Thank You to the Hotel for a warm welcome and Staff for their excellent service.
The whole hotel was just lovely, beautiful sea views, comfortable lounges, and very good food.

Room Tip: All rooms very good if not just say.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BIFF11Kent_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGino, Owner at The Channel View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for a very complimentary review. We are really pleased to hear you had a good weekend and enjoyed all aspects of the hotel it is wonderful feedback. All in all a good weekend all round, thank you. All the best Gill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I have just returned from another wonderful visit to The Channel View Hotel in Shanklin. As usual it was clean, very welcoming and the Staff could not do enough for us. We only went for a weekend this time, but am looking to my next visit in October when we will be staying a little longer. I liked the new menu and there are so many choices I never no what to have. The Roast Beef is out of this world. Congratulations to the Chef. I am sorry we left before all the staff were in this morning, so would like to convey my since thanks to you all.

Room Tip: Front rooms face the sea as do most of the side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happytravellers2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGino, Owner at The Channel View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

A lovely review, really pleased you enjoyed the new menu and that everything was second to none. We look forward to seeing you in October. Take care till then and very best wishes Gill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.7 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
3.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
945 reviews
0.7 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rowborough Hotel
Rowborough Hotel
#1 of 51 in Shanklin
231 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#4 of 51 in Shanklin
494 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Channel View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Channel View Hotel

Address: 24 Hope Road, Shanklin PO37 6EH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#5 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: £89 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Channel View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channel View is a highly respected family run 3 star hotel that prides itself in offering high quality customer care, exceptional service and excellent value for money. Situated on the cliff overlooking the bay, the hotel offers an unrivaled position within walking distance of both the seafront and the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Channel View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Channel View Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing