We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Channel View Hotel
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Very welcoming and friendly”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel. Very friendly staff, who are helpful and chatty.

Lots of choice at breakfast with good service.

No fridge in the room, but they would happily provide milk for my little boys bottle at 7am.

Great location, close to the beach and coastal path, with stunning sea views.

The room was very warm, no fan/air con, which would have been nice during the very lovely weather.

Decent sized swimming pool, not too busy.

Evening entertainment provided, which wasn't to our taste, but plenty to do in Shanklin.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGino, Owner at The Channel View Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for reviewing the hotel you have made some lovely comments about the staff and hotel which is great.
It is good to hear you enjoyed the location, the pool and found plenty to do in Shanklin.
Hope to see you again Gill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    67
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
104
155
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Quite by chance, on an impulsive whim, we found ourselves on the Isle of Wight in Shanklin at 8 p.m. on Thursday night! We walked down the hill from the station and came across the Channel View Hotel. Maggie at reception was cool, calm and collected in the midst of multitasking with impeccable patience. She soon sorted our dinner for us and a room with a View and even organised a fan for our room. Dinner and breakfast had a sense of old-world charm that was absolutely delightful and the food was delicious. Neil Smith and his staff all came across professionally but with a personal touch, that made us feel very welcome.

This was a memorable little escape from reality. We will definitely make plans for a 'proper' visit next time - with luggage! We will be back!

Dee and Dave

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeidreFlowerLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGino, Owner at The Channel View Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
We are so glad you found us by chance on your impulsive visit to the Island, what a great story. Maggie is thrilled to be given a mention, luckily for us she loves her job as does Neil he runs the dining room as you said with a professional yet personal touch. We look forward to your return on a planned visit with luggage. Kind regards Gill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addlestone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This was our first stay at The Channel View Hotel and, I sincerely hope it won't be our last! My 13 year old son and I had an amazing week here. This is a family owned hotel, who are 'hands-on' in their presence every day, We found all of their staff to be incredibly polite, friendly and yet professional too. We had a 'premier' family room, which had a side view of the sea, and was of a good size, extremely clean and incredibly comfortable beds too. (If you want a sea view, they will do their absolute best to accommodate this, if you ask). In the height of the heat recently experienced, it was refreshing to be able to take a daily swim in their lovely indoor pool, mostly to ourselves! The hotel is situated within a 5 minute walk to the beach. Breakfasts here are as 'simple or as 'hearty' as you can manage and the evening meal choices were varied, sometimes pretty impossible to choose from - every meal we had was absolutely delicious, A tentative enquiry "to be seated at the window" (over-looking the sea) was answered! There is entertainment most evenings, singers, musicians etc., and it was a pleasure to watch many guests enjoying waltzes, foxtrots, a bit of line-dancing etc., - a refreshing change from venues who automatically think that bingo and discos are 'the norm'. I would have absolutely no hesitation, whatsoever, in recommending this hotel - thank you to everyone at The Channel View for making this one of our best holidays ever!

Room Tip: If you woulkd like a sea view - please ask! They will do their absolute best to accommodate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGino, Owner at The Channel View Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
What a great review thank you for all your brilliant words about so many aspects of the hotel, staff, food and location. Great to hear you will be recommending us and that you and your son had one the ‘best holidays ever’. Hope to see you again. Kind regards Gill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We have just returned from our holiday on the Isle of Wight, as usual everything was exceptional,
The staff, the food, the rooms, even the room maids made this a brilliant holiday. Nothing is too much trouble for anyone. We have already pre-booked for 2015 as did 3 other guests, so we will see them next year as well.This really is a great hotel,for singles, couples and families because it is so close to Shanklin seafront and many local attractions, (Love It).

Room Tip: If you can go a little extra it is worth paying for a Premier Plus room with fantastic views over th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGino, Owner at The Channel View Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for a very complimentary review your words and praise are much appreciatedto be called exceptional is amazing.

We are so pleased you choose to return year after year it is always a pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel and we look forward to seeing you both next year. All the best Gill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queanbeyan, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Beautiful location overlooking the Atlantic Ocean with fabulous weather.
Very nice hotel but we must have the worst room in the hotel. It's located out the backe on the ground floor overlooking the car park and we were advised to keep our window's closed whilst out of the room or sleeping for security reasons. With no airconditioning or a fan and with the summer high temperature and humidity the room is unbearable. On top of that the room is directly above the ballroom and we have to wait till the nightly entertainment is finished (normally) 2300.
On a positive note the staff, food and other ammenties are fantastic.

Room Tip: Get a room above ground level and a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter_Kalkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGino, Owner at The Channel View Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for reviewing the hotel we are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your room. This amazing summer we are experiencing has completely thrown us all, fans are on order but many suppliers we have tried have sadly sold out.

Sorry to hear you found the entertainment a nuisance but as you mentioned it does end at eleven. Great to know that everything else was fantastic, hope to see you again.

Kind regards
Gill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just back from a wonderful holiday at the Channel View Hotel. Really can't fault this hotel. Spotlessly clean, excellent food and friendly helpful staff. From the moment we walked in we realised that this was something special. The views from our room (no 62, right at the top!) were spectacular. We were blessed with beautiful weather for the whole week, sunshine all day, every day. We were even treated to a fantastic electrical storm on Thursday night which illuminated the Channel, the boats at anchor in Sandown Bay and the coastline. By Friday it was hot and sunny again.
Really impressed with the food, superbly cooked and fast friendly service. (I hate having to wait for ages between courses, not a problem at Channel View).
If I have one suggestion (perhaps because we had a really hot week) it would be to have a fridge in the room for cold drinks but other than that I can't think of any way this hotel could be any better. Will definitely come again. Thanks

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank uppo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGino, Owner at The Channel View Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Many, many thanks for your wonderful review it is great to be called 'special'.

Pleased to hear you enjoyed the food and service and the extra entertainment over the sea. 62 is a very popular room because of the wonderful views so the storm would have been amazing from there.

Thank you for your suggestion of a fridges in the rooms it is a great idea. This year we have actually had a summer so holidaying on the Island is as good as being anywhere long may the sun keep shining.

We look forward to you returning to Channel View, thank you kind regards Gill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The rooms could do with fans or air conditioning. The food has changed since we last stayed here the food used to be excellent now it is fancied up with sauces etc its not needed. There was only one member of staff that didn't make us feel welcome the rest were fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sumnerj2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGino, Owner at The Channel View Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for reviewing the hotel we are sorry to hear you did not enjoy the food as much on your latest visit as you have done in the past. We are always trying to ring the changes with our menus that said we will bare your comments in mind for the future. Fans are a very good idea for us to have available for our guest’s comfort. We are very sorry to hear that one of us did not make you feel welcome, especially as we pride ourselves on offering friendly service t all times ~ please accept our apologies.

It is great that you say we are a lovely hotel we hope you will return again. Kind regards Gill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.4 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
455 reviews
0.7 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
3.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Channel View Hotel
Channel View Hotel
#23 of 29 in Sandown
280 reviews
0.7 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
836 reviews
1.6 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Channel View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Channel View Hotel

Property: The Channel View Hotel
Address: 24 Hope Road, Shanklin PO37 6EH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#5 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Channel View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channel View is a highly respected family run 3 star hotel that prides itself in offering high quality customer care, exceptional service and excellent value for money. Situated on the cliff overlooking the bay, the hotel offers an unrivaled position within walking distance of both the seafront and the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Channel View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Channel View Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing