We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Chestnuts Private Hotel
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Have just returned from a short stay at The Chestnuts,and may I say what a great place to stay. We stayed in room No 8 with a sea view. The room was spotless with a small but adequate en-suite.Breakfast was great with everything you could have wanted. All in all a little gem. Will stay again. Debi & Trev

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trev a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2012

We have just returned from another weeks holiday at The Chestnuts, which some members of the family have been going to for over 20 years now, and have had another great week at this hotel. We have been returning to The Chestnuts as it is situated in an excellent position and is within a few minutes walk from the beach / train station / shops etc. We have found the rooms to have been very clean once again, with the food and service from Christine and the team being 1st class! Thanks again Christine and the team, and hopefully will see you sometime next year!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Me and 2 work colleages have been here now 8 weeks, working in Shanklin. This hotel was sooo perfect for us as we were working around the corner and we had breakfast at the time we wished we had dinner at the time we wanted! Christine was just lovley and made our stay fabulous, definatly a second home for us! Luke (Christines Son) didnt like doing the early morning breakfast for us but he did a very nice dinner! Throughout our stay we used all rooms in the Hotel and every room was perfect.. no problems at all! Anybody visiting the Isle of Wight for work or pleasure i guarentee this will make your stay even better!! Nowere on the Island is far from the Chestnuts!! Thanks Chris and Luke!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We had a weeks stay at Chestnuts in September, myself and partner and my 85 year old father. Dad had a single garden room (12) and we were in a front facing double on the first floor (10). I must admit to being a bit taken aback when we were shown Dads room as it's through the hotel and out the back door. It's a small single room but has a lovely small shower room/toilet and ample storage space, freeview telly, basin, bedside table and light along with supplementary heater and blanket. Dad was very comfortable there.
Our room was a comfortable double on the first floor with again small shower room/toilet, ample storage etc. Excellent shower with good pressure although Dads had to be run for a while to get the hot through.
The whole hotel was beautifully decorated in a light modern style with lots of prints and pictures on the walls. There's a small TV lounge and the dining room is open plan with the bar area and forms a nice communal space so you can chat with other guests easily if you wish.
Chris and her son Luke run the place and are so friendly and helpful. Lukes breakfasts are the best. There is such a choice and it's all very well cooked and presented. You can eat there in the evenings if you book ahead and the dinner menu has a large choice. We didn't but lots of the others did and the food looked and smelt lovely.
The hotel is located within easy walking distance of the seafront (if you're fit as it's a steep walk back up), there is a cliff lift which operates between 10am and 6pm. It's also handy for the town although again there are hills involved but the whole island is quite hilly. When booking this holiday I was torn between Shanklin and Ventnor and am so glad I picked Shanklin as Ventnor must have some of the steepest hills on the island.
All in all we loved the Chestnuts and Chris and Luke and would not hesitate to return there or recommend them to others. I would have rated it perfect but for the hill down to the beach.
Chris recommended a couple of eating places which we loved. The Pointer pub for Sunday lunch (booking recommended), Black Cat Thai restaurant in the old town, and the Chinese just 50 yds from the hotel (I've forgotten its name unfortunately). All had lovely food, reasonable prices and good friendly service.
Visit Waltzing Waters if you can for a fascinating show with a difference.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnsbint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We recently stayed at the Chestnut for a week, with my husband, two children aged 6 and 15 and my mother in law. The Hotel is in an excellent location for the beach and its only s short walk into the beautiful village of Shanklin. We walked on the sea front into Sandown which took about 45 minutes but the view was gorgeous so it didnt matter. Chris was very helpful with ideas for our visit. We had an excellent meal at Legends, booking advised. The breakfast was lovely and nothing was too much trouble, the waitress was a very pleasant young girl. We spent alot of time away from the hotel as we had a packed holiday but on our return it was always clean and tidy. The games for the children were brill on a quiet afternoon me and my children had fun with the scrabble and jacks house. A lovely hotel and a beautiful island well worth a visit.:)

Room Tip: We had number 5 which was part of the family suite, our children were with us but there was a door d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We have just enjoyed a lovely week here with friends and other friendly guests. Chris and son Luke provided excellent food and service . The bedrooms were small doubles but extremely clean. There is good off road parking and the Chestnuts is so well situated only minutes away from the beach one way and old Shanklin the other way. A place we would return to.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biker9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We stayed in 2 rooms my mum with one son and myself with my other son. I stayed in a lovely double bedroom on the 1st floor with ensuite and mum had a twin room at the back overlooking the garden. Both rooms spotless, the bathrooms too.
Fantastic breakfast - not greasy! Lovely atmosphere especially when having a little drink before bed!
Location wise - only down side is a very steep walk down to the esplanade but not the end of the world. Parking was handy and as we drove all around the island we found that it was very easy to navigate onto the main roads.
To sum up we would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a comfortable Cosy hotel during their short break.
We will be coming back :-)

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katy4485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.3 mi away
Palmerston Grange
Palmerston Grange
#22 of 51 in Shanklin
54 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rowborough Hotel
Rowborough Hotel
#1 of 51 in Shanklin
231 reviews
10.5 mi away
North House
North House
#1 of 5 in Cowes
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#4 of 51 in Shanklin
494 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
811 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chestnuts Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chestnuts Private Hotel

Address: 4 Hope Road, Shanklin PO37 6EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Shanklin
#20 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: £67 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chestnuts Private Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Chestnuts Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chestnuts Private Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing